SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2016, 01:52 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Open Source Windows Installer

Latest release available for testing (Release Candidate Installer).

Windows Files

Linux Files

Notes:
  • The Release Candidate version type refers to the installer and not the contents/exe in the installer
  • If upgrading from the same version level - 9.0.4.xxx to 9.0.4.xxx you will need to run the installer a 2nd time and select repair to insure ALL files get installed


I have started a Indiegogo campaign for my work on SageTV OS - Windows Installer and Gemstone 2 - see here if you would like to contribute

Last edited by jusjoken; 02-26-2016 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2016, 02:05 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Currently: I have a virtual environment created and have completed clean installs of Server, Client and Placeshifter. Server and Client were also completed with the PVR and Provideo options to capture the differences. Each install was done with install monitoring software to identify files, services and registry changes made during the installs. Java was aborted in every case as that will be handled differently.

Approach:
- discover file system changes from each install - complete
- fork SageTV repo and download and build VS2015 environment - complete
- discover registry changes from each install - in progress
- install WIX toolset - complete
- learn the WIX toolset - in progress
- determine installers to build - in progress (likely a combined Server/Client install and a separate Placeshift install)

Java
- incorporate a Java 32 bit 1.7 install IF Java 32 1.7 or greater is not already installed

Scope/Removal
- I plan to NOT include the SageTV3 STVs folder
- I likely will remove the Provideo and PVR 150/...etc options.
  • Provideo - this installs 1 driver and 16 parameter files. Not difficult to include if there is a need.
  • PVR 150 etc - this installs a single "irremote.ini" file in the windows folder. Again, simple to include - not sure if it's used often

Comments and suggestions welcome

k
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2016, 11:28 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,576
Awesome - thanks a million for doing this!
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2016, 05:20 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Nice work...I've been hoping someone would take this on.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2016, 03:51 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Regarding Placeshifter: An installer might not even be 'required', as it's a pretty portable program. Might just need a zip file (which would help out people using it from work anyway).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2016, 03:56 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Might just need a zip file (which would help out people using it from work anyway).
Can we make it work over port 80? I can install software at work but almost all ports are locked down.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2016, 07:23 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Regarding Placeshifter: An installer might not even be 'required', as it's a pretty portable program. Might just need a zip file (which would help out people using it from work anyway).
I am open either way. A Placeshifter MSI likely is very simple however I started with the complex Server/Client one first to learn WIX.

Someone could also test out a zip clean install and see if that is enough without the need to register any DLL's or set registry settings (I have not reviewed Placeshifter registry yet).

Placeshifter installs Java as well as the following files...

Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\EULAplaceshifter.txt
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\ImageLoader.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\Microsoft.VC80.CRT.manifest
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\MiniClient.jar
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\msvcm80.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\msvcp80.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\msvcr71.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\msvcr80.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\pthreadGC2.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\SageTVDX93D.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\SageTVInfraredReceive.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\SageTVPlaceshifter.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\SageTVPlayer.exe
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\SageTVWin32.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\swscale.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\ThirdPartyLicense.txt
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\Win32ShellHook.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\WinKeyboardHook.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Placeshifter\WinRawInput.dll
In theory if there are variable settings we want to collect during an MSI type install we should be able to have the installer ask for those and write them out....in theory . Still learning this !

k
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2016, 06:18 PM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 500
Installed on sagetv 7.1.9.256. Install failed. I included log file. On both of these installs I added the registration code for program guide but I'm using schedules direct plugin. I don't know if this makes a difference.
Attached Files
File Type: txt SageTV_20160129191530.txt (9.4 KB, 59 views)
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 3.5 terrabyte storage, Windows 8 Pro on sage 9.09 system . Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 6000 8 useable gig ram on win 7 32 bit media server.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2016, 06:43 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnadeau View Post
Installed on sagetv 7.1.9.256. Install failed. I included log file. On both of these installs I added the registration code for program guide but I'm using schedules direct plugin. I don't know if this makes a difference.
I just tried to repeat your install and it did NOT fail so something else is different. Unfortunately the log is mostly useless without forcing the detailed log.

Please run from a command prompt...

SageTVSetup_9.0.4.224_beta0.003.exe /log .\log.txt

This will create a similar log as you provided PLUS another more detailed one. Please send me the more detailed log to see what happened.

Thanks
k
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2016, 04:41 PM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Latest release available for testing (BETA).

So where do I get the latest windows beta installer? when I follow that link I see a jar file, two debian files, and 2 tars ... nothing looks very windows installer-ish.

Where should I be looking?

Thanks



*** nevermind *** found it in this thread: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...source+windows
__________________
(current) SageServer: SageTV Open Source V9 - Virtual Ubuntu on Win10 HyperV MSI 970A-G46, AMD FX-8370 , SD Prime via OpenDCT, Donater ComSkip
Clients: HD-200, Nexus Player w/ Android miniclient
Storage: "nas" 16 drive Win10 w/ DrivePool running Plex, Emby, & SD PVR
Retired - Hava, MediaMVP, HD-100, HD-PVR, HVR-2250, Ceton InfiniTV4, Original (white) HDHomeRun Died - HD-100, HD-300

Last edited by ThePaladinTech; 02-23-2016 at 04:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-23-2016, 06:42 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePaladinTech View Post
So where do I get the latest windows beta installer? when I follow that link I see a jar file, two debian files, and 2 tars ... nothing looks very windows installer-ish.

Where should I be looking?

Thanks



*** nevermind *** found it in this thread: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...source+windows
I am hoping to catch up and release another version this weekend if time permits. The main change will be that the client and server exe will not force needing admin to launch as well as a few small installer changes but no functionality changes.

k
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-28-2016, 09:10 AM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 451
shouldn't this post be at least pinned? and maybe pinned and moved to the downloads subforum? Or a new topic that links to the installer downloads be made in the downloads area? as it stands the downloads area *does* have a pinned topic that links to windows executables.
__________________
(current) SageServer: SageTV Open Source V9 - Virtual Ubuntu on Win10 HyperV MSI 970A-G46, AMD FX-8370 , SD Prime via OpenDCT, Donater ComSkip
Clients: HD-200, Nexus Player w/ Android miniclient
Storage: "nas" 16 drive Win10 w/ DrivePool running Plex, Emby, & SD PVR
Retired - Hava, MediaMVP, HD-100, HD-PVR, HVR-2250, Ceton InfiniTV4, Original (white) HDHomeRun Died - HD-100, HD-300

Last edited by ThePaladinTech; 02-28-2016 at 09:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-02-2016, 01:59 AM
trallyus trallyus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
Latest release available for testing (Release Candidate Installer).

Windows Files

Linux Files

Notes:
  • The Release Candidate version type refers to the installer and not the contents/exe in the installer
  • If upgrading from the same version level - 9.0.4.xxx to 9.0.4.xxx you will need to run the installer a 2nd time and select repair to insure ALL files get installed


I have started a Indiegogo campaign for my work on SageTV OS - Windows Installer and Gemstone 2 - see here if you would like to contribute

Almost missed the Indiegogo Campaign jusjoken - Checking it out now. Thanks by the way for making it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-02-2016, 06:35 PM
mitchcecg mitchcecg is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Installer problems

I will start by saying I have not been following the latest developments and just started reading.

I have a windows 10 pro system
running ver 7

I just tried to install ver 9

it could not register a number of the dll and a few other files.

I am in the process of rolling back to 7 but I thought you would like the input about registration problems

THANX
MITCH
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-02-2016, 07:36 PM
daminc daminc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchcecg View Post
I will start by saying I have not been following the latest developments and just started reading.

I have a windows 10 pro system
running ver 7

I just tried to install ver 9

it could not register a number of the dll and a few other files.

I am in the process of rolling back to 7 but I thought you would like the input about registration problems

THANX
MITCH
Today I just installed a new copy of win7 on a new drive, and had the same problem with the install. ended up installing ver7, and did a manual upgrade to 9
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-02-2016, 07:59 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by daminc View Post
Today I just installed a new copy of win7 on a new drive, and had the same problem with the install. ended up installing ver7, and did a manual upgrade to 9
I would need more info to determine the issue as many people have successfully installed with the installer. If you can, please re-run the installer from an elevated command prompt and add /log .\log.txt and ipload the log for me to review.

thanks
k
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-03-2016, 01:42 PM
mitchcecg mitchcecg is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
I would need more info to determine the issue as many people have successfully installed with the installer. If you can, please re-run the installer from an elevated command prompt and add /log .\log.txt and ipload the log for me to review.

thanks
k
Please find attached the log files they are zipped I ignored the errors so you could see all files that do not register
Attached Files
File Type: zip logs.zip (168.9 KB, 59 views)

Last edited by mitchcecg; 04-03-2016 at 01:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-04-2016, 04:56 PM
daminc daminc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
I would need more info to determine the issue as many people have successfully installed with the installer. If you can, please re-run the installer from an elevated command prompt and add /log .\log.txt and ipload the log for me to review.

thanks
k
My sage server is all setup and running, but I can try a new install on my laptop,and see if I have the same problems
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-03-2016, 12:49 PM
mitchcecg mitchcecg is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by daminc View Post
Today I just installed a new copy of win7 on a new drive, and had the same problem with the install. ended up installing ver7, and did a manual upgrade to 9
how did you do the manual upgrade ??
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows installer and running as a service Opus4 SageTV Github Development 13 01-01-2016 07:33 AM
SageTV Open Source FAQ Opus4 SageTV Software 5 11-11-2015 02:57 PM
Any news on the Windows installer? Damstas SageTV Github Development 2 09-03-2015 10:09 AM
Web Interface - where is the Windows installer ckewinjones SageTV Customizations 2 01-09-2011 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.