SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2016, 06:33 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
UPnP (PlayOn) Browser

Here is the first rough draft of a new PlayOn plugin I've been working on. It has minimal functionality right now and the videos must be downloaded before they can be played.

Unzip and then copy the attached manifest to the install directory of your SageTV server then look for a UI Mod plugin called "UPnP (PlayOn) Browser". After installation go to Online -> UPnP Browser. Your PlayOn server will show up there.

As you will see, it's a generic UPnP (Universal Plug and Play) browser. I will focus on PlayOn but I may also dabble getting it to work with some other UPnP devices.

This should be considered an alpha release.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SageTVPluginsDev.zip (864 Bytes, 131 views)
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2016, 10:38 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,504
I am so glad to see someone working on this. I've been working with Cling a lot in OpenDCT and had plans to eventually get around to a new UPnP plugin for SageTV that is based on Cling so it will run on Linux too. I think this was my last real hangup on switching over to Linux.

I love the speed of browsing with your version. I know this is alpha and it even allowed me to browse my Prime tuner, but was unable to play anything. I know that's not a focus, but I just thought it was neat that it worked at all.

With actual PlayOn content I noticed that it downloaded the entire video. I just want to make sure that's expected or if it was supposed to stream live instead.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2016, 06:24 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Thanks.

Right now you do need to download the entire video. I still haven't figured out how to do progressive playback. I should work, but doesn't

I'm not sure how far I'll get on other devices. UPnP is all very new to me and the documentation is crappy. I get the impression that UPnP is a "general guideline" for developers and not a standard

If you want to help on the plugin I am more than willing.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2016, 10:55 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,504
You'll find a few situations in the Cling source code where they accommodate a particular vendor. That's one reason why they have so many factory methods to keep things flexible. The factory method defaults are strict. I had to make my own to correctly get a particular value from Ceton tuners. Hopefully you don't find yourself in a similar situation.

I really would love to help, but I still have a very large amount of work left to do with OpenDCT. We seem to have a developer shortage. One of my hopes with the project was to bring some network encoder projects under one robust project, but it needs to get to a certain level before that can be a reality, so I'll just keep coding until it gets there.

I will certainly be a tester, but at least for now I won't be able to be much more.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2016, 06:17 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Version 0.02

New version can be installed using the attached manifest. This version adds the ability to record from PlayOn.

It still can't do progressive playback but at least you can set things to record and then watch them later.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SageTVPluginsDev.zip (943 Bytes, 98 views)
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2016, 06:39 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,504
Perhaps I'm missing something everyone else knows about recording online content. I tried Ctrl-Y, Ctrl-I and Esc. I can't figure out how to tell it to record. When I hit enter, it just goes straight into downloading.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2016, 07:37 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
New version can be installed using the attached manifest. This version adds the ability to record from PlayOn.

It still can't do progressive playback but at least you can set things to record and then watch them later.
Is this using PlayLater, or is it recording via something similar to the Podcast Recorder plugin?

Also, (if it were doing PlayLater it would), if your answer to above is the latter, is it able to do HD (like Fuzzy's v9 trick)?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-2016, 01:30 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Right now you do need to download the entire video. I still haven't figured out how to do progressive playback. I should work, but doesn't
Finally found a solution to this problem. In case anybody is ever experiencing this; in order for the file downloader to do progressive playback the extension of the growing file must be .flv or the downloader will not detect its complete size. If you are trying to do progressive playback on .mpg files simply ensure the growing file has a .flv extension.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-09-2016, 06:20 PM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 500
How would I check this or where is this setting?
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 3.5 terrabyte storage, Windows 8 Pro on sage 9.09 system . Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 6000 8 useable gig ram on win 7 32 bit media server.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2016, 06:06 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnadeau View Post
How would I check this or where is this setting?
It's not a setting, it's in the code.

I'll try to get a new version out in the next couple of days. I'm working out a few more kinks.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.

Last edited by tmiranda; 04-10-2016 at 06:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-09-2016, 08:13 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Finally found a solution to this problem. In case anybody is ever experiencing this; in order for the file downloader to do progressive playback the extension of the growing file must be .flv or the downloader will not detect its complete size. If you are trying to do progressive playback on .mpg files simply ensure the growing file has a .flv extension.
Thanks for the tip. That sure seems counter-intuitive, considering SageTV is very much used to the idea of .mpg files growing. Does the underlying file need to actually be using a .flv container or does it just need to have .flv for an extension?
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-10-2016, 06:13 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Thanks for the tip. That sure seems counter-intuitive, considering SageTV is very much used to the idea of .mpg files growing. Does the underlying file need to actually be using a .flv container or does it just need to have .flv for an extension?
I can't say for sure, I'd have to look at the code in the core. There is an API, StartFileDownload() that takes several parameters including source file and destination file. In my case the source file is http://....../name.mpg. If you specify xxxx.mpg as the destination file progressive playback fails. If you specify xxx.flv progressive playback works. I'm not sure what the core does to the stream as it's downloading.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPnP Browser: The Video List is Downloading mogrinz SageTV v7 Customizations 16 08-20-2015 07:15 PM
UPnP Browser Error! Unable to find UPnP Device (PlayON), select this to try a longer hawkmoon SageTV v7 Customizations 8 01-22-2014 08:54 AM
Online Services Plugin :: UPnP Browser evilpenguin SageTV v7 Customizations 82 06-07-2010 02:14 PM
UPnP Browser showing no videos found jpaddock3000 SageTV v7 Customizations 1 05-20-2010 01:29 PM
UPNP Playon stutters like crazy dinki SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 6 10-02-2009 05:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.