SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v9 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 9 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 9 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2017, 12:47 PM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 321
DIRECTV NOW

I am unsure if this is the Forum to ask nor exactly how to ask the question. But... How do I/Can I receive DIRECTV NOW (DirectTV's streaming service) through SageTV? (v9)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2017, 01:57 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
I am unsure if this is the Forum to ask nor exactly how to ask the question. But... How do I/Can I receive DIRECTV NOW (DirectTV's streaming service) through SageTV? (v9)
There's a PlayOn plugin for Sage, so:

"PlayOn + DIRECTV NOW – A Streamer’s Dream Come True."
https://www.playon.tv/blog/playon-and-directv-now
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2017, 12:35 PM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 321
It turns out that I had purchased a "Lifetime" subscription to PlayOn back in April. It didn't prove very useful to me back then but... that was then and this is now!

Anyway, I had tried to use the PlayOn SageTV Plugin but couldn't get it to work with DIRECTV NOW. This was after I had spent two days playing with DN with Roku and the native App where it worked as expected. It seems that something happened at or around the same time as I tried it with SageTV because, after writing the above post, DN no longer worked with Roku or the provided PC App either. (Some coincidence, huh?) Anyway, I "Chatted" with DNs Help Desk and they could not find the problem and escalated it to a higher authority. They said it would take about 24 hours. 24 hours later, I contacted them again and was told they were working on it but needed another 24 hours. Surprise, surprise! About six hours later, I had a moment to spare and tried it. PlayOn SageTV Plugin opened and played all of the DN programming. (FWIW, I knew it was a problem at DN because Amazon Prime and HBO worked as expected in the SageTV PlayOn plugin.)

I have now had a couple days to work with DN and the PlayOn STV plugin. Very impressive!

Nevertheless, I do have two complaints and am unsure if this is the place I should mention them.

1. In SageTV Setup>Video Recording Directories there is no option to include sub-directories. PlayOn puts recorded video into separate sub-directories. (A good idea, I suppose, but incompatible with SageTV.) This requires one to manually move the files into the main directory.

2. I don't know how to make ComSkip work on the PlayOn recorded files. The commercials are, however, skipped if played back through the PlayOn Media Player.

If this should be placed into a different Forum or posted as a new thread, please advise.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2017, 02:57 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
1. In SageTV Setup>Video Recording Directories there is no option to include sub-directories. PlayOn puts recorded video into separate sub-directories. (A good idea, I suppose, but incompatible with SageTV.) This requires one to manually move the files into the main directory.
PlayOn isn't incompatible with Sage. Simply add PlayOn's recording directory to the list of Sage's Import directories, and that content will show up under Sage's Videos menu(s). No need to move any files.

Content listed in Recordings requires metadata that's added to the recording by Sage itself (when it records a program).

On the other hand, to cause imported content to show up in Recordings requires another tool (such as the Batch Metadata Tools plugin, which can run automatically) to create that metadata. Going this route still doesn't require moving any files.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2017, 11:19 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 321
Just, first let me thank you for taking the time to work with me. I really appreciate it.

Back in early 2009, when I started with SageTV, I ripped a couple DVDs but never played them nor had I looked in the "Video" tab of STV Since. I am astonished at the clutter that is in there -- all of which are duplicates of files (some but not all) found in the "TV" tab.

A couple housekeeping notes: My Playon Server is not on the same computer as the SageTV Server. They are both on the same network, however. The mp4 files (and attendant data files) are stored on external drives (6). STV Server is a Windows Vista machine and the PlayOn Server is a Windows 10 machine. And in case it is relevant, there are 4 HDHomeRun devices (8 tuners) attached to the STV Server.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
PlayOn isn't incompatible with Sage. Simply add PlayOn's recording directory to the list of Sage's Import directories, and that content will show up under Sage's Videos menu(s). No need to move any files.

Content listed in Recordings requires metadata that's added to the recording by Sage itself (when it records a program).
I am struggling to figure out exactly how this works.

First, I opened PlayOn. (I realize this was wrong but bear with me.) I, then, just grabbed a file blindly (SyFy>Wynnona Earp>s02e01 - Steel Bars and Stone Walls) and recorded it to the default directory (W:/PlayOn). This created directories PlayOn/Wynonna Earp/Season 2 and recorded "Wynonna Earp - s02e01 - Steel Bars and Stone Walls.mp4."

Running Setup>Scan Imported Media, STV failed to find the file. It was discovered only by moving it to W:/PlayOn. Running Metadata/Fanart Options imported the metadata.

Then, I realized I should have opened PlayOn within SageTV. Going through the above process within STV, I find the following differences (other than I recorded Episode 2):

1. I had to wait until the complete program played before I could record it. That is (very) inconvenient.

2. It recorded to C:/<User>/Desktop/DVD Dubbing/Browse PlayOn. I can find no way to change the target directory.

3. It recorded to a .flv file type. (s02e02-ShedYourSkin.flv) I can find no way to change the file type.

3. "Scan Imported Media" did find the file but labeled it simply as "Shed Your Skin" which was near impossible to find in all the clutter under "Video."

3. There was, perhaps, some Metadata import but, if so, was very abbreviated.

What am I missing? And how do I change those Defaults?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2017, 04:36 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
A couple housekeeping notes: My Playon Server is not on the same computer as the SageTV Server. They are both on the same network, however. The mp4 files (and attendant data files) are stored on external drives (6). STV Server is a Windows Vista machine and the PlayOn Server is a Windows 10 machine.
Suggestion: it's probably going to make life easier to install Playon on the same box as Sage. This makes it easier to point Sage to the Playon recording folder(s) and avoids a bunch of issues with Windows permissions. It also avoids the need to have 2 separate computers always up and running.
Overall, makes for a more reliable environment. This recommendation assumes that the Sage box isn't already maxed-out, CPU or memory-wise.

Regardless which PC PlayOn is installed on, it's always accessible via a web browser from any PC on the LAN.

Quote:
I am struggling to figure out exactly how this works.
Have a look at Playon's FAQ and Forums. Searching the Sage forums will also provide useful info. May need to search for both PlayOn and PlayLater, although the PlayLater functionality is now integral to PlayOn.

Quote:
First, I opened PlayOn. (I realize this was wrong but bear with me.) I, then, just grabbed a file blindly (SyFy>Wynnona Earp>s02e01 - Steel Bars and Stone Walls) and recorded it to the default directory (W:/PlayOn). This created directories PlayOn/Wynonna Earp/Season 2 and recorded "Wynonna Earp - s02e01 - Steel Bars and Stone Walls.mp4."

Running Setup>Scan Imported Media, STV failed to find the file. It was discovered only by moving it to W:/PlayOn. Running Metadata/Fanart Options imported the metadata.
No need to manually move files. Just add another video Import directory to Sage, pointing it to the PlayOn recordings folder. Remember, Sage doesn't automatically import new media immediately, but you can configure the frequency which Sage will scan for new media.

Quote:
Then, I realized I should have opened PlayOn within SageTV. Going through the above process within STV, I find the following differences (other than I recorded Episode 2):

1. I had to wait until the complete program played before I could record it. That is (very) inconvenient.
That's going to be true of **any** Video imports. Sage's recordings are the only thing that are able to be watched before the recording process has completed.

Quote:
2. It recorded to C:/<User>/Desktop/DVD Dubbing/Browse PlayOn. I can find no way to change the target directory.
The Playon desktop application can be used to change settings. Not sure which version you're running, but this setting used to be on the General tab, lower left corner.

Quote:
3. It recorded to a .flv file type. (s02e02-ShedYourSkin.flv) I can find no way to change the file type.

3. "Scan Imported Media" did find the file but labeled it simply as "Shed Your Skin" which was near impossible to find in all the clutter under "Video."
Looking under Videos -> Folders -> (your PlayOn recordings folder name) is another way to reduce the clutter somewhat.

Quote:
3. There was, perhaps, some Metadata import but, if so, was very abbreviated.
Sage's 'Batch Metadata Tools' plugin is probably the best means to automatically import the metadata. Searching the Sage Forums will give lots of info about this.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DirecTV D12-300 STB Help markdm Hardware Support 2 07-25-2008 11:27 AM
DirecTV on your PC Jesse General Discussion 41 02-15-2008 09:53 AM
directv rubenspencer Hardware Support 2 03-11-2005 12:41 PM
help in Directv box RAKY0311 Hardware Support 4 02-19-2005 04:33 PM
Directv justlearnin SageTV Recorder Software 1 03-25-2003 05:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.