SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:10 AM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob View Post
\

As he stated above, they did not give caveats.
As stated above, they did not say it would play blu-ray.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:11 AM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob View Post
Is blu ray 1080p?
Yes, blu-ray is 1080p...but saying that all 1080p is blu-ray is ignorant.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:15 AM
Rob Rob is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Then I'm ignorant.

Of course all 1080p is not blu-ray. But blu ray is not greater than 1080p.

I'm glad all of you understood the limitations when they stated 1080p was supported. I did not.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:15 AM
Ryokurin's Avatar
Ryokurin Ryokurin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via ICQ to Ryokurin Send a message via AIM to Ryokurin Send a message via Yahoo to Ryokurin
Not all 1080p is Blu-Ray, just like digital does not always mean high def, although admittingly a lot of people feel that it does. For that matter, not all 1080p is h264. I have a few blu-ray discs that are 1080p mpeg-2, which likely will play fine on the 100. Either way the EM8620L does not support High profile which is required for blu-ray certification, and it was never implied that it did.

It's not like chipsets that could support high profile have been available for years, they are actually quite recent. Fact of the matter is, high profile was added after part 10 was ratified so it missed a bunch of chipset developers product line at that time. Its common with devices made in the 05-08 time frame, and in fact tripped up some blu-ray hardware companies but luckily sales were low so they either replaced hardware, or the devices were basically computers (specialized hardware running x86 processors) so they could add it in a firmware update.

So, its definitely not a case of someone doing something half-baked, unless you want to put, Apple, Archos, LG, Samsung and others who made devices with that chipset, unless you expected them all to wait until late last year when high profile chipsets were available...
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:20 AM
Rob Rob is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJake View Post
Yes, blu-ray is 1080p...but saying that all 1080p is blu-ray is ignorant.

When your done making arguments, its always best just to start name calling.

By the way, I never said all 1080p is blu-ray.

Last edited by Rob; 04-13-2009 at 08:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 04-13-2009, 10:40 AM
DFranch's Avatar
DFranch DFranch is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob View Post
When your done making arguments, its always best just to start name calling.

By the way, I never said all 1080p is blu-ray.
No, but you did imply that you were misled by the statement that it plays 1080p into thinking it also plays blu-ray. Which kind of infers that you think that anything which plays 1080p also plays blu-ray. I think that is where there is ignorance on your part. He was not saying you are an ignorant person, just that you were ignorant to the fact that 1080p compliant is not also blu-ray compliant. That is not name calling, very smart people can be ignorant to a great many things. Perhaps you should have done a bit more research before spending your money.
__________________
SERVER: Gigabyte EP45-UD3R | Intel Core 2 Duo 2.67 Ghz | Geforce 8500GT | 4 Gb Corsair DDR2 1066 |
2 Hauppauge HVR-2250 | Win 7 64-bit | Sage TV 6.6.2 | 1.6TB (4 Drives) |
Client: Sage TV STX-HD100 HD Extender
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 04-13-2009, 11:14 AM
rerooks rerooks is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 153
One of the original requests was a discount on the HD-200. Why not just put your HD-100 for sale? I am sure that you would be able to get $100 for it, which would be the same as a 50% discount on the HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 04-13-2009, 11:15 AM
Rob Rob is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFranch View Post
but you did imply that you were misled by the statement that it plays 1080p into thinking it also plays blu-ray.
True. I was.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DFranch View Post
just that you were ignorant to the fact that 1080p compliant is not also blu-ray compliant.
I'm just having trouble with the distinction between the two. BDInfo says the video is 1080p for my blu-ray disks. I realize now that there are various profile levels, but when I read 1080p I took it to mean it could play 1080p video. Now I realize it can only play some 1080p video. That is why I would have expected caveats in the advertising.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DFranch View Post
That is not name calling
I understand that I, like anyone, am ignorant of many things, but based on the tone of his post, I believe it was intended as name calling.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 04-13-2009, 11:48 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob View Post
True. I was.
Blu-ray also supports Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD and DTS-HD Master Audio, and it uses an m2ts file format, none of which were advertised or supported when the HD100 was for sale.

So the simple fact fo the matter is Blu-ray was never advertised to be supported in any way, shape or form, in order to get Blu-ray to work on the HD100, processing of some sort is required.

Quote:
I'm just having trouble with the distinction between the two. BDInfo says the video is 1080p for my blu-ray disks. I realize now that there are various profile levels, but when I read 1080p I took it to mean it could play 1080p video. Now I realize it can only play some 1080p video. That is why I would have expected caveats in the advertising.
Then most advertising must leave you expecting more than you get. Almost nobody lists off every caveat in their advertising.

A lot has changed since the HD100 came out. H.264 High Profile @ Level 4.1 was basically unheard of at that time. Blu-rays were almost exclusively MPEG-2 or VC-1. At the time there was no reason to both with caveats about what "1080p" means since the HD100 could play pretty much any 1080p you could get your hands on at that time. It's only been relatively recently that HP @ L4.1 H.264 content has become at all common.

Also note that it's quite possible still today to make 1080p videos that the HD200, PS3, Xbox360, PC video cards (hardware decode) can't play due to the profile/settings used. None of them list off any of the caveats about that. It's way too far down in the weeds of technical mumbo-jumbo for most people to understand.

Oh, and have you submitted a bug report/support request about the 1080p videos that won't play?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 04-13-2009, 12:11 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Then most advertising must leave you expecting more than you get.
Not usually.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Oh, and have you submitted a bug report/support request about the 1080p videos that won't play?
Yes. They got plenty of examples last Spring and Early Summer. I think they tried pretty hard to get blue ray to work on the HD100 and could not get it to be consistently reliable.

I also asked if the HD100 would get the ability to pass the core of the HD audio tracks and they said they did not know when or if they would do it. I was hoping it would help with playback.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 04-13-2009, 12:24 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
We are beating a dead horse. I know where you all are coming from and you know where I'm coming from. I'm glad you all got what you expected from the HD100.

I have bought one HD200, but not before confirming here that it does what I'm thinking it will. I'd like a second one, but not till I've put the first one through its paces really well. I'm also having trouble getting the wife to want to upgrade (I kind of bought the HD200 without talking to her about it first). I sold her on the HD100's last year and now the money has been spent. She sees it as wasted money (either the $ last year for HD100's or the $ this year for HD200's not both).
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 04-13-2009, 12:33 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,806
Bear in mind that a new standard could come out next week that is 1080P (maybe it would be called "green-ray") and there is no guarantee that the HD100 or HD200 could play it.

1080p just specifies the number of pixels in the display and the refresh rate.

By the same token, my car stereo advertises that it can play back CD's and output stereo sound. However, that does not mean I can record a bunch of MP3's on a CD and expect it to play (some car stereos can, but mine can't).

It's disappointing when you buy a product and a newer one comes out a short time later that can do things you wish yours could, but unfortunately that's life on the cutting edge of technology...
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04-13-2009, 01:08 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Rob,
I'd try to sell the HD100 on MissingRemote or AVSForums. You should be able to get at least $100 out of it if not more.

I've been thinking of buying one more HD200 and replacing my last HTPC client PC, but will probably wait until December to see what else comes around since I already have 2 HD200s, a MediaMVP, a HTPC ClientPC and the server PC.

The HD100 is still a darn good device, but I understand you had hoped to get blu-ray rip playback out of it. Many, many people would see that HD100 as a good buy even without br playback though so when you are ready to sell it you will get some $ out of it at least.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04-14-2009, 05:14 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob View Post
Is blu ray 1080p?
Yes, but not all 1080p is Blu Ray.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 04-30-2009, 10:57 PM
JREkiwi's Avatar
JREkiwi JREkiwi is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 2,059
Thought this was as good a thread as any to post my thanks to SageTV.

The latest HD100 firmware update was the final piece in the puzzle, and I can now watch my DVB-T recordings on my PC, HD200, HD100 and MVP.

To paraphrase George Gershwin "I got PC's, I got HD's, I got MVP's, Who could ask for anything more?".
Thanks Guys
John
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 05-01-2009, 07:40 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by starfire View Post
So we have bluray playback and now subtitle support on the HD200 only as far as I understand.

Is there any reason why HD100 users cannot have these, is there a hardware limitation someone or have you just abandoned future development on the HD100?

Would appreciate a Sage response as I'm considering getting another extender soon.
It's on the HD100 now too apparently, in case anyone didn't notice.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 05-03-2009, 03:06 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Maybe the people watching this thread will know the answer to this question. Apparently the HD100 isn't getting the username/password caching that lets you auto-login when using the extender in Placeshifter mode.

Any ideas why? Does the HD100 not have any non-volatile memory, while the HD200 does? Or, is Sage somehow trying to piggy back on whatever automatic extender licensing system is in the HD200?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:18 AM
xred's Avatar
xred xred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
It's on the HD100 now too apparently, in case anyone didn't notice.
Has anyone actually confirmed this? Last time I checked the HD100 could not accurately playback anything that was over 1000 lines in height (ie. true 1920 x 1080). It matters because some files labelled 1080p are not in fact not over 1000 lines.... sometimes thats just the way they were encoded or they are super widescreen like 2.35:1 (e.g 1920 x 816) movies.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:37 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I'm sure I playe 1920x1080 files on my HD100, but it's not hooked up any more.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05-05-2009, 01:51 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
It has nothing to do with the resolution of the video but the bitrate. The HD100 can play any 1920x1080 video as long as it falls beneath a specific bitrate. Anything over that and you'll get stuttery playback.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV STX-HD100 HD Extender Information Updates (Notifications only) Opus4 Announcements 26 11-18-2010 09:41 PM
Please stop posting Store inventory to the " STX-HD100 Firmware Updates" thread Destro SageTV Media Extender 2 05-15-2008 06:58 PM
SageLinux updates? laurenglenn SageTV Linux 4 04-13-2006 03:05 PM
So what updates do I need? ry12a General Discussion 7 01-22-2004 08:51 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.