SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-23-2011, 06:00 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadrunner777 View Post
Now, I will say my final words: Ask yourself why Google would buy SageTV. Pretty clearly, they are buying the intellectual property (patents) and maybe talent (people). There really is no other practical explanation. Google has the datacenters, dark fiber, and now the skills and patents do something revolutionary. It would not surprise me greatly if Google bought Tivo before the end of the year, and I may buy stock in Tivo based on that very theory.
It doesn't look like Sage has any patents. So, Google seems to mostly buying Jeff and the SageTV source code.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-23-2011, 07:23 PM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
It would be very helpful to still sell client licenses, perhaps to existing customers. People with HD extenders would like to buy client licenses as insurance if their extenders break. The client licenses would be a way to extend the life of the system, even if the SageTV software becomes stagnated after several years. If the Google/SageTV solution is superior, then many users would move to it. But the SageTV users need a way to have confidence that their systems will function until a better replacement is available. The SageTV users have become addicted to SageTV can't simply go back to TV without it or switch to a crude DVR solution.


Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-23-2011, 07:28 PM
topperdude topperdude is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleonard View Post
They do have to keep the extenders for one year so that they can do warranty replacements. After that the plans are probably to trash them but maybe we can get them to auction the lot of them as discontinued hardware instead of products. Some of us could combine finances and purchase the lot and them resell them amongst our community at cost.

S
+1

Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
It would be very helpful to still sell client licenses, perhaps to existing customers. People with HD extenders would like to buy client licenses as insurance if their extenders break. The client licenses would be a way to extend the life of the system, even if the SageTV software becomes stagnated after several years. If the Google/SageTV solution is superior, then many users would move to it. But the SageTV users need a way to have confidence that their systems will function until a better replacement is available. The SageTV users have become addicted to SageTV can't simply go back to TV without it or switch to a crude DVR solution.

Dave
+1
__________________
Athlon XP 2200+ in A7N8X rev 2.0 with IOgear GUC220 Combo Firewire + USB card (using NEC chipset for USB), 2GB RAM, 40GB OS HDD and 200GB Recordings HDD (to be formatted with 64K clusters).
OS: WinXP MCE (Disabled MCE Receiver and Scheduler)
Tuners: HVR-1600, DCX3200 cable box w/ HD-PVR (encrypted channels) & Firewire (unencrypted channels)
Client(s): HD200

Last edited by topperdude; 06-23-2011 at 07:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-27-2011, 11:06 AM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
It would be very helpful to still sell client licenses, perhaps to existing customers. People with HD extenders would like to buy client licenses as insurance if their extenders break. The client licenses would be a way to extend the life of the system, even if the SageTV software becomes stagnated after several years. If the Google/SageTV solution is superior, then many users would move to it. But the SageTV users need a way to have confidence that their systems will function until a better replacement is available. The SageTV users have become addicted to SageTV can't simply go back to TV without it or switch to a crude DVR solution.
+1

Wayne
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-27-2011, 11:09 AM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by davephan View Post
It would be very helpful to still sell client licenses, perhaps to existing customers. People with HD extenders would like to buy client licenses as insurance if their extenders break. The client licenses would be a way to extend the life of the system, even if the SageTV software becomes stagnated after several years. If the Google/SageTV solution is superior, then many users would move to it. But the SageTV users need a way to have confidence that their systems will function until a better replacement is available. The SageTV users have become addicted to SageTV can't simply go back to TV without it or switch to a crude DVR solution.


Dave
AMEN to that brother! +2
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:10 PM
blewis blewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 13
Guide Data??

Correct me if I am wrong, but when I purchased SageTV, I was under the impression that SageTV would provide lifetime guide data?
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:25 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by blewis View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but when I purchased SageTV, I was under the impression that SageTV would provide lifetime guide data?
While Replay-TV, TiVo and a few others sold lifetime subscriptions for a few hundreds dollars, there was never anything like that for SageTV... Not charging for the data isn't the same as promising free lifetime data...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:45 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonceur View Post
While Replay-TV, TiVo and a few others sold lifetime subscriptions for a few hundreds dollars, there was never anything like that for SageTV... Not charging for the data isn't the same as promising free lifetime data...
I recall seeing something in the FAQs when I purchased (many years ago - version 2 or 3) to the effect of guide data is currently free for customers in North America and we have no plans to charge for it, but this could change at some point in the future.

I think there was a similar statement made at the time about upgrades being free. They later changed that by charging upgrade fees for versions 6 and 7.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:53 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by blewis View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but when I purchased SageTV, I was under the impression that SageTV would provide lifetime guide data?
If it did it was Sage's life time and that time is over.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-28-2011, 03:43 PM
Bandit Bandit is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
If it did it was Sage's life time and that time is over.

Gerry
HAHA, that made me giggle!
__________________
Server:Intel X6700 Dual Core CPU - 4GB Ram - 80GB SATA OS Drive - 500GB LiveTV - 4.5 TB Drobo S for storage
Tuners:1 Hauppauge PVR250 / 1 NVidia DualTV / 2 HDHR Using OTA / 1 WinTV PVR2 USB / 2 HDPVR using FW for channel changes
Clients:2 STP-HD200 / 2 STX-HD100 / MediaMVP via Wireless Access Point in shed...came in handy when I was soldering the HD100
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 06-28-2011, 06:44 PM
robogeek robogeek is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI USA
Posts: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by blewis View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, but when I purchased SageTV, I was under the impression that SageTV would provide lifetime guide data?
We all read the End User Licensing Agreement (EULA) before we installed SageTV, right? Me neither

Section 9 of the EULA:
Quote:
Originally Posted by SageTV EULA
9. Optional Equipment / EPG Service. SageTV may provide Licensee with a capture card or other hardware enabling Licensee to use the Product (the "Optional Equipment"). If Licensee received Optional Equipment, Licensee agrees to pay SageTV for the Optional Equipment. Licensee will be responsible for all shipping, handling and taxes related to the sale of the Optional Equipment. Title to the Optional Equipment will pass from SageTV to Licensee upon payment in full from Licensee to SageTV of all amounts related to the Optional Equipment. LICENSEE ACKNOWLEDGES AND AGREES THAT THE OPTIONAL EQUIPMENT IS PROVIDED TO LICENSEE BY SAGETV AS A CONVENIENCE, "AS IS" AND SUBJECT ONLY TO ANY WARRANTY OFFERED BY THE ORIGINAL MANUFACTURER OF THE OPTIONAL EQUIPMENT. Currently, SageTV provides electronic programming guide service (the "EPG Service") to End Users in the United States of America and Canada at no charge. End User acknowledges that SageTV reserves the right to discontinue provision of the EPG Services and to separately charge End Users for provision of the EPG Service.
That clearly states the free EPG service could be discontinued at any time which would mean that it is not a guaranteed service payed for as part of the cost of the purchased software. The fact that they're giving us a year of free EPG service beyond the acquisition date is a very nice gesture, considering Google or SageTV LLC would have been well within their rights to completely shut it off without notice, warning, or explanation on the day the acquisition was finalized.
__________________
--Jason

Server Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R, Intel Q9550 CPU 3.2GHz, 11GB RAM, 1xHDHR, 1xHVR1600, 1xHVR2250
29TB Server Storage: 1TB SSD (OS), 1TB (data), 2x6TB+2x10TB (22TB FlexRaid storage pool), 2x2TB (recordings), 1x750GB (VMs).
Server Software: Win10 Pro x64 OS, SageTV 64bit v9.2.0.441, Java 1.8 u201, PlayOn, Comskip (Donator) v0.82.003, WampServer v2.5.
Clients: 3xHD300s, 2xHD100, 2xPlaceshifters
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-29-2011, 06:03 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Sorry for the gaps in communication; but as you may guess, I can't just tell you anything you want to know due to NDAs with Google.
Jeff, please don't let the FUD continue. Can you at least tell us when we might know something definitive? Or if there is NO chance (zero, zip, nada) of opening the Sage store again to sell anything, let us know that too. At least it would stop half of these damn emails I get constantly when threads are updated.
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-29-2011, 01:25 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Most NDA's cover just about everything. So, even a timeline would likely be forbidden. Given what Jeff HAS said already, if he COULD say something--anything--to stem the FUD, I'm quite certain he would. Now, leave poor Jeff alone to bask in his newly found riches. While I'm sure this is great for him and he's excited (as we've seen), I'm sure there's still quite a bit of uncertainty on a much more personal level for him. For all we know, he's in the middle of moving.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD Info viperdiablo SageTV Customizations 0 05-30-2008 05:59 PM
Video Info in SageMC 16x9, where did the info go...? mrrrl SageMC Custom Interface 1 12-22-2006 10:51 AM
Info please on MVP garyellis SageTV Media Extender 5 05-12-2006 11:50 AM
More EPG info! ukmgranger SageTV EPG Service 9 05-28-2004 04:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.