SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 06-25-2011, 03:39 PM
david1234 david1234 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by brainbone View Post
I think an HTML5 interface is a good idea, though there could/would be issues with codecs, etc.
I don't think this would be all that difficult to modify the web-interface to handle. I've been playing around a little bit with the <video> element of HTML 5, and it seems to work pretty well.

You would have to convert the mpeg2 recordings to something that's HTML5 friendly (mp4, ogg, or webm), but you could always configure your server to just automatically convert to the one you know you'll use, and serve that up. The biggest problem I've seen is that the conversion to these other formats can be slow.

Last edited by david1234; 06-25-2011 at 07:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 06-25-2011, 11:53 PM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
Just discovered tonight that the encore wireless usb stick sold by Sage works fine with the WD Live Plus. If anybody's interested in that.

Bobby
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 06-26-2011, 12:36 AM
DrP DrP is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 26
HORM

what i did recently was following.

I took a mini PC having a DVD-ROM and capable of playing full HD and installed a clean XP. To install all necessary codecs i use the 'zpic.exe' which is a part of Zoomplayer. Just install once on any pc, find the file and keep it before deinstalling Zoomplay - it will run on its own on any other system.

Now i installed the EWF-Option which is used on embedded windows installations. This will enable HORM:

Hibernate Once Resume Many

Energy management was set to hibernate once Start/Stop Button is pressed - press on Remote Shutdown button will shut down.

After installing SageTV Client and having made all setting for standard use i run Sagetv in full screen mode then press shutdown button so the a hibernate file is beeing created which i will start from every time the PC turned on.

When everything worked out properly i imaged the harddisk and restored it to a cheap 8GB SSD drive (Transcend TS8GSSD25H-M).

Booting and shutting down - both is quite fast.

Differences to my HD200:
i can't start it with my remote
it takes a very little more time for starting
it takes a very little more time for shutting down
but
i can play DVDs
it probably take less power when down
i can use a wireless keybord/mouse on my couch for browsing the internet

Maybe this is an alternative to the HD extenders for somebody who has client licenses in spare.

regards Franz
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 06-26-2011, 05:54 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Except in no way would I recommend xp over w7 for the client. W7 is recommended for the w7 decoder alone.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 06-26-2011, 09:35 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Except in no way would I recommend xp over w7 for the client. W7 is recommended for the w7 decoder alone.
The only reason I'm guessing he's using XP is to get HORM support. I dont' believe anyone's gotten win7 hacked up to support it yet. I did toy around with the idea of using win embedded 7 for my cilent, so that I can use EWF and HORM (makes it much more appliance like), but licensing is a strange beast with embedded windows versions.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 06-26-2011, 11:02 AM
Flash69 Flash69 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrP View Post
what i did recently was following.

I took a mini PC having a DVD-ROM and capable of playing full HD and installed a clean XP. To install all necessary codecs i use the 'zpic.exe' which is a part of Zoomplayer. Just install once on any pc, find the file and keep it before deinstalling Zoomplay - it will run on its own on any other system.

Now i installed the EWF-Option which is used on embedded windows installations. This will enable HORM:

Hibernate Once Resume Many

Energy management was set to hibernate once Start/Stop Button is pressed - press on Remote Shutdown button will shut down.

After installing SageTV Client and having made all setting for standard use i run Sagetv in full screen mode then press shutdown button so the a hibernate file is beeing created which i will start from every time the PC turned on.

When everything worked out properly i imaged the harddisk and restored it to a cheap 8GB SSD drive (Transcend TS8GSSD25H-M).

Booting and shutting down - both is quite fast.

Differences to my HD200:
i can't start it with my remote
it takes a very little more time for starting
it takes a very little more time for shutting down
but
i can play DVDs
it probably take less power when down
i can use a wireless keybord/mouse on my couch for browsing the internet

Maybe this is an alternative to the HD extenders for somebody who has client licenses in spare.

regards Franz
Can you give us details as to the hardware you used for the PC?
__________________
Flash
Sage Server: Gigabyte P35-DS3L, Core2Duo E6300 v1, 4GB, XP Pro SP2, Radeon X1550, Sage 6.6.2, 2 HD-PVR, 2 HDHR 4xOTA, Hauppauge HVR-1600 1xOTA and 2xDish ViP211 Receiver, USB-UIRT, 3x640GB WD6400AAKS, headless
Sage Client: 1xSage HD200 HD Extender
Sage Client: 2xSage STX-HD100 HD Extender
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 06-27-2011, 07:52 AM
Jason's Avatar
Jason Jason is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobrew View Post
I really need an extender,
How about using XBMC with the pleXBMC/plex addon to sync the SageTV media?

fonceur's post about Plex got me thinking here and as an added benefit, you can stream to your phone (iOS/Android)!

-Jason
__________________
True standalone tuner functionality with the --> HAVA Channel Changer<--
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 06-28-2011, 03:17 PM
Yalbik Yalbik is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by brainbone View Post
I think an HTML5 interface is a good idea, though there could/would be issues with codecs, etc.
Does anyone have experience with the Viewsonic VMP75?

The nice thing about it (over say the WD Live) is that it has a built-in web browser. Host a custom web interface on the sage server, point the VMP75 at it.... voila, instant extender, no client licensing required.

I'd much prefer an HD300, but I'm thinking this might work until something else catches up with where Sage was....

Are there better similarly priced devices ($100 USD) with built-in browsers?
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 07-08-2011, 09:11 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Just saw this review.
ASRock Core HT HTPC Sandybridge
Everything you need except the OS. Includes a nice remote.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 07-08-2011, 09:18 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
Just saw this review.
ASRock Core HT HTPC Sandybridge
Everything you need except the OS. Includes a nice remote.

Gerry
Is this the price:
Quote:
UK pricing is competitive, with the version we tested today on sale at £599.99 inc vat.
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 07-08-2011, 09:19 AM
emotionnotion emotionnotion is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 238
Maybe this is where sage-google could go.

http://www.theandroidbox.com/?gclid=...FUdMpgodlmt_Yg

The AndroidBox M6.

With SageTV as an App/UI?

Heres hoping as it says it plays all content
__________________
Server: Tranquil T7 Intel Atom D330, 2GB RAM, Windows Home Server, Sage TV 7.1.9 (Last version ever ), 2 HDHomeruns tuning 4 OTA channels, Sony 32EX490 Bravia LCD

Clients: 3 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 PS3
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 07-08-2011, 09:43 AM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 935
Quote:
Originally Posted by emotionnotion View Post
Maybe this is where sage-google could go.

http://www.theandroidbox.com/?gclid=...FUdMpgodlmt_Yg

The AndroidBox M6.

With SageTV as an App/UI?

Heres hoping as it says it plays all content
boo local storage USB only (no network). Looks like it has potential!
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 07-08-2011, 09:48 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by jptheripper View Post
boo local storage USB only (no network). Looks like it has potential!
Quote:
Specification:
CPU
Amlogic Cortex-A9 800MHz

Operating system
Android 2.2

DDR RAM
512MB

Nand Flash
2GB

Storage device
Support External Storages via USB host
Support External Storage via.SD/MMC card

Network device
Bult-in WIFI , Ethernet LAN cable

Internet application
support Flash 10, support online video, music, internet chat, view pictures

Video
Video Decoding:Mpeg1/2/4、H.264、VC-1、Divx、Xvid、RM8/9/10、VP6
Video Formats: MKV,TS,TP,M2TS,RM/RMVB,BD-ISO,AVI,MPG,VOB,DAT,ASF,TRP,FLV etc

Video Output
1920*1080P,720P,576P,480P

Picture Formats
JPG、BMP、GIF、TIFF、PNG.

Interfaces
Video: HDMI1.3, CVBS,YPbPr port
Audio: A/V port, YPbPr port, Optical port.
Ethernet : RJ45 LAN 10/100M port, Bult-in WIFI N module
Storage: 2 USB-HOST ports, SD/MMC

Subtitile supported
SRT,SUB,IDX,SSA,SMI

Languages
Chinese, English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Dutch, Russian, others can be developed.

Accessories
A/V cable, HDMI cable , AC adapter, Remote-control, User Manual

Power Adapter
External adapter,5V/2A
Now slap TaSage on it and you may have something.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.

Last edited by gplasky; 07-08-2011 at 09:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 07-08-2011, 10:16 AM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
Now slap TaSage on it and you may have something.
Being an Android 2.2 device, it might limit the streaming capabilities... I wonder if I could simply "play files through the network" instead of having to stream...

EDIT: Looking around, there seems to be a bunch of those "Android TV box", just like there was a bunch of cheap Android tablets from China before the big guys woke up...
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad

Last edited by Fonceur; 07-08-2011 at 11:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 07-08-2011, 09:06 PM
farfromuman farfromuman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 124
I just tried the WD Live Plus, everything works except for bluray iso playback through network. It seems to work for about a minute and then the audio and video drops out. I did some searching and it seems to be the norm. Does the Boxee box do any better?

I did some more testing and was able to play a bluray ISO by connecting an external hard drive but only 1 out of 4 movies work. I guess I did not realize how good the HD300 is, I just cant justify spending $400 on a used one.
__________________
Server: Sage 9; 8TB, i5 4690k 16GB DDR3 2XHDHR3, Windows 10 PRO 64BIT

Client 1: HD300; Panasonic TC-P65S64;
Client 2: HD300; Samsung 46" LCD;
Client 3: HD300; 60" LCD;

Last edited by farfromuman; 07-10-2011 at 08:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 07-17-2011, 10:37 AM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
My Sony Bravia with the Bravia 3 engine plays back all my Sage recordings via Windows Media Player on the Sage server. I can't schedule recordings, but as a dumb playback terminal, the Bravia does it without needing any external box. Internet hookup is either wired or wireless (with optional dongle), so it's pretty much plug and play.
Can it handle high bitrate videos? (like Bluerays)
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 07-21-2011, 01:28 PM
ybrew ybrew is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 633
I've got two client licenses.
I've been thinking about maybe getting a boxee or WDLive Hub, but now I'm wondering if a PC client might be better.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 07-21-2011, 01:36 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybrew View Post
I've got two client licenses.
I've been thinking about maybe getting a boxee or WDLive Hub, but now I'm wondering if a PC client might be better.
The PC client will cost you more but you know it will work with Sage...
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 07-21-2011, 02:29 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
The PC client will cost you more but you know it will work with Sage...
and anything else....
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 07-21-2011, 05:15 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Except u canbuy client licenses anymore..

Check out the boxee extender thread... It's a promising alternative.

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56535
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVDShrink Alternatives? wrems The SageTV Community 15 11-23-2010 01:07 PM
No more SelecTV - alternatives? klacker SageTV Australia/New Zealand 0 09-15-2010 05:51 AM
alternatives to USB-UIRT yet? pat_smith1969 Hardware Support 10 08-01-2010 03:55 PM
Alternatives to IR Blaster with HD-PVR? david zero Hardware Support 6 11-11-2009 09:20 PM
Alternatives to taskkill.exe? obrian93 SageTV Software 1 11-01-2007 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.