SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV HD Theater - Media Player

Notices

SageTV HD Theater - Media Player Discussion related to using the SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player, i.e.: in use while not connected to a SageTV server. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to using a SageTV HD Theater as a Media Player should be posted here. Use the SageTV Media Extender forum for issues related to using it while connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2011, 02:22 PM
jjstok jjstok is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 92
HD300 running very hot

Has anyone noticed the temp on their HD300? Mine is 100 degrees on or off. I've been unplugging it when not it use. That seems very very hot for a small electrical device.
__________________
Dell PE 2800 - Dual Xeon - 2gb RAM - Windows 2003 sp2 - 2 Video Cards: Hauppauge WINTV HVR 1600 digital
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2011, 04:55 PM
pjwerdna pjwerdna is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: UK, Slough
Posts: 395
Seems about normal to me. Mines at 109F

Seem to remember lots of people commented on this when the HD300 was first released.
__________________
SageTV Server : Akasa Inifiiti Case, Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3 MB, 8600GT, Core2 Duo (E6850 3GHz), 4GB RAM, ~6TB Filestore , Nova-TD500, TBS 6280, SageTV 7.1.9
New Client 2 :MSI P67A-GD53, i5 2500K Quad core (3.3GHz), 12GB, Windows 10 Pro (and test SageTV 9 Install)
Sage Client 1 : HD300, Logitech Harmony One
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2011, 11:42 AM
farfromuman farfromuman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 124
I just noticed this on mine, it is almost too hot to touch and hold comfortably. In addition when it is this hot it starts dropping audio via HDMI. I wonder if there is something in the software that keeps the cpu at full load all the time.

Actually my receiver might be the problem with the audio
__________________
Server: Sage 9; 8TB, i5 4690k 16GB DDR3 2XHDHR3, Windows 10 PRO 64BIT

Client 1: HD300; Panasonic TC-P65S64;
Client 2: HD300; Samsung 46" LCD;
Client 3: HD300; 60" LCD;

Last edited by farfromuman; 07-31-2011 at 11:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2011, 07:50 AM
jjstok jjstok is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 92
I was told it's normal and that the case is the unit's hot sink. I think anyone knows how damaging excessive heat is to any kind of electronics' lifespan. Given there is no transformer on the cord it's obviously inside the case which is most likely why it gets so hot. This was a bad move considering there is no fan in the case. I'm going to find a way to cool it.
__________________
Dell PE 2800 - Dual Xeon - 2gb RAM - Windows 2003 sp2 - 2 Video Cards: Hauppauge WINTV HVR 1600 digital
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MyMovies Videos Running on HD300 PLUCKYHD Sage My Movies 20 09-05-2010 12:46 PM
Running STV Server on Two PCs? bits SageTV Software 23 01-30-2010 06:35 PM
Anyone running an i7? bcjenkins Hardware Support 11 09-17-2009 09:30 PM
HDHR Running CPU at 100% IanJohnson Hardware Support 1 08-08-2008 04:36 PM
SageTV 2.0 running at 100% CPU... metropole SageTV Software 11 03-11-2005 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.