SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #481  
Old 09-21-2011, 06:55 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by toricred View Post
I must be stupid, but I can't figure out where to set up the guide for directv.
If you are talking about Media Portal it is not you it is over the top complicated. Even setting up a OTA tuner with a external EPG is complicated. You will need to manually setup or have a file that imports all the channels first. You can not use the tvguide.xml created by mc2xml. (Different format)

It was clearly designed for our European friends with a DVB card and the EPG internal to the stream.
__________________

Retired SageTV in favor of Plex\Emby and YouTubeTV.
Reply With Quote
  #482  
Old 09-21-2011, 07:59 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
As I under stand it that it best to just opted to pay the $20/yr for Schedules Direct and use the Schedules Direct plug-in.
Quote:
It was clearly designed for our European friends with a DVB card and the EPG internal to the stream
ATSC tuner also have EPG internal to the stream as well we frist had this in SageTV but the biggest problem is min US channel didn't even have EPG internal and only work 40% of the time rigth.
Reply With Quote
  #483  
Old 09-21-2011, 09:47 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I was mostly joking when asking about mediaportal's dvr capabilities, because frankly they are FAR inferior to sage, making it pretty much off topic in a thread regarding alternatives to sage.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #484  
Old 09-21-2011, 04:50 PM
mlewis mlewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
It's kinda nuts how all over the place this thread is in terms of finding an alternative. Nothing seems to compare. Is that really the case?
Reply With Quote
  #485  
Old 09-21-2011, 05:03 PM
PhilH's Avatar
PhilH PhilH is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edinburg, TX (Deep South Texas)
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlewis View Post
It's kinda nuts how all over the place this thread is in terms of finding an alternative. Nothing seems to compare. Is that really the case?
I haven't found anything yet that compares. If you only have 1 TV then WMC would work. For multiple TV's and multiple rooms then Sage is still the best. In my opinion..
__________________
SageTV v7.1.9 Gemstone WHS + 3 HD200's, 1 Client & 1 Placeshifter
WHS - Dual Xeon 2.8ghz - 3gig ECC Ram - 25 Drives - 30 Terabytes
Blu-ray Titles 498
HD-DVD Titles 166
DVD Titles - Too Many To Count..
Reply With Quote
  #486  
Old 09-21-2011, 05:10 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
WMC would be OK for multiple rooms if you don't need/want non-TV media playback in locations other than the main TV.
Reply With Quote
  #487  
Old 09-21-2011, 05:16 PM
mlewis mlewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
I personally don't need anything multi room. Multi room is easily handled with more hardware. I just want a feature filled dvr that isn't a single purpose piece of hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #488  
Old 09-21-2011, 05:31 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlewis View Post
I personally don't need anything multi room. Multi room is easily handled with more hardware.
If you're talking matrix switches, that's not really true IMO. Sure that allows you to feed multiple rooms, but it doesn't allow you watch different things in different rooms.

With Sage, you can have the same experience and same media playback capabilities in as many rooms as you want to buy extenders or build HTPCs for. And each one is independent.

No other solution does this. WMC does for TVs with Xboxen as extenders, but you're SOL if you want to watch a BD library through WMC in multiple rooms, unless you're willing to give up multi-room DVR and have a separate PC in each room.

Quote:
I just want a feature filled dvr that isn't a single purpose piece of hardware.
WMC would probably do that for you then. For a single room/display, with a single source (or something+OTA) WMC is pretty good.
Reply With Quote
  #489  
Old 09-21-2011, 05:43 PM
mlewis mlewis is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
>If you're talking matrix switches, that's not really true IMO. Sure that >allows you to feed multiple rooms, but it doesn't allow you watch
>different things in different rooms.

I don't need the same sources in multiple rooms. I just need multiple sources in different rooms which I have .

>With Sage, you can have the same experience and same media playback >capabilities in as many rooms as you want to buy extenders or build HTPCs >for. And each one is independent.

Terrible timing too because I tore apart my mythtv server to move over to a PC based solution after saying I'd never use MS again. I installed WMC and the first piece of software that gave me confidence was Sage. I tried it, still have some issues but fell in love with it.

Now I can't freaking buy it <sigh>

Someone mentioned contacting someone in the forums, which I did, but received no reply so am guessing that's that. It is the end of sage other than if google offers it again.
Reply With Quote
  #490  
Old 09-30-2011, 10:00 AM
saulin saulin is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 11
I'm looking for a SageTV alternative. Here is my question. I have a FTA satellite receiver. Right now with SageTV I can use the LM Remote KeyMap channel change plugin for SageTV to change channels, since LM Remote KeyMap allows me to learn codes from my remote using the IR Blaster.

How can I use my WMC remote to change channels on my STB in Windows Media Center?

I also have a Dish Network STB, How is the EPG for Dish Network in WMC?

Does Windows Media Center use the same windows built in video/audio decoders that SageTV uses for the HD-PVR, because that's what I use for my HD-PVR and SageTV and it looks sweet.
Reply With Quote
  #491  
Old 10-04-2011, 09:05 PM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
Just saw this and thought I'd drop it in to the Sage alternatives. It's a DVR that does OTA and VUDO streaming. If it did Netflix and played locally stored media it might gain some traction with OTA folks...

http://www.channelmasterstore.com/HD...n_p/cm7400.htm
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.

Last edited by BobbyDing; 10-04-2011 at 10:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #492  
Old 10-05-2011, 05:41 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by saulin View Post
I'm looking for a SageTV alternative. Here is my question. I have a FTA satellite receiver. Right now with SageTV I can use the LM Remote KeyMap channel change plugin for SageTV to change channels, since LM Remote KeyMap allows me to learn codes from my remote using the IR Blaster.

How can I use my WMC remote to change channels on my STB in Windows Media Center?

I also have a Dish Network STB, How is the EPG for Dish Network in WMC?

Does Windows Media Center use the same windows built in video/audio decoders that SageTV uses for the HD-PVR, because that's what I use for my HD-PVR and SageTV and it looks sweet.
I am assuming you have a Windows Media Center Remote and Receiver. If so, Windows Media Center will control your set top box through that receiver. There should be two headphone looking jacks on the back, which you would plug IR blasters into. This would allow you to control up to two set top boxes.

Dish Network guide data will be available when you set up Media Center. Just go through the prompts of setting up your TV signal etc... and when you put in your ZIP code, it will give you the options of your area's providers in a list.

Media Center uses the Codecs built into Windows to decode HDPVR recordings (We're talking about Windows 7 right?) and they look fine.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #493  
Old 10-05-2011, 07:41 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyDing View Post
Just saw this and thought I'd drop it in to the Sage alternatives. It's a DVR that does OTA and VUDO streaming. If it did Netflix and played locally stored media it might gain some traction with OTA folks...

http://www.channelmasterstore.com/HD...n_p/cm7400.htm
if its anything like the older channel master OTA dvr, its garbage. money would be better spent on a tivo with subscription for guide data.
Reply With Quote
  #494  
Old 10-05-2011, 04:37 PM
drvnbysound drvnbysound is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: US
Posts: 116
I am late to the show, but have been following the threads since about a week after Google purchased Sage. It was about that time that I was ready to pull the trigger and make the purchase. As others have expressed, I have mixed emotions regarding the purchase... I wish I would have been able to make the purchase as I would have a working media setup, but am glad that I dont have to deal with the future possibilities of what may happen.

With that being said, I really hadnt looked at any other alternatives in quite some time. I tried to read through most of this tread, but wasnt able to find answers...

Other than the lack of a small-form factor extender that allows direct control to the UI, are there other features that either MediaPortal or NextPVR are lacking that Sage had?

I have W7 now, so I could use 7MC, but I dont want to use Xbox's as extenders, primarily due to their size.

I am thinking of using either MP or NPVR in the near term, possibly with WD TV extenders, realizing that I will have to access the interface from a PC. What else am I missing?

Also, with regards to MP and NPVR, how do they compare?
Reply With Quote
  #495  
Old 10-06-2011, 01:29 PM
saulin saulin is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
I am assuming you have a Windows Media Center Remote and Receiver. If so, Windows Media Center will control your set top box through that receiver. There should be two headphone looking jacks on the back, which you would plug IR blasters into. This would allow you to control up to two set top boxes.

Dish Network guide data will be available when you set up Media Center. Just go through the prompts of setting up your TV signal etc... and when you put in your ZIP code, it will give you the options of your area's providers in a list.

Media Center uses the Codecs built into Windows to decode HDPVR recordings (We're talking about Windows 7 right?) and they look fine.
Yes I have Windows 7 and yes I have a Windows Media Center Control, with a IR Blaster and yes I can plug in IR emitters on the back of the IR Blaster, that's exactly what I use for SageTV with LM Remote KeyMap and I'm able to control any STB since I can learn the 0-9 and ok keys with LM Remote KeyMap and use them in SageTV with a a plugin.

So are you saying that Windows Media Center is able to do this without using LM Remote KeyMap or any plugin?

If so that's awesome. Also where does Windows Media Center get their Dish Network Guide From? Zap2it? or another source? Do we need to pay for the guide?

Also according to you WMC uses the same codecs so it should technically look the same as it does in SaveTV?

I never used Windows Media Center as a PVR but if it can do this and if the compatibility with the HD-PVR is great. I think this is the SageTV replacement I will be using after the Guide stops working in SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #496  
Old 10-06-2011, 05:34 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
No lmremote needed. Media Center has all the IR functionality built in. It even knows the codes for cable and satellite boxes.
Yes, the Media Center guide is free. Don't know for sure where they get their data, but probably Zap2it like everybody else
Codecs will look good.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #497  
Old 10-06-2011, 10:27 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
should one balk at going with WMC because it appears to be another abandoned microsoft product?
Reply With Quote
  #498  
Old 10-07-2011, 08:42 AM
ybrew ybrew is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 633
The DirecTV HR34 could end up being a really nice alternative.
http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?t=197609

A Single box can record 5 shows at once. DirecTV will also provide small, silent RVUs (basically boxes that stream from the HR34 - a single HR34 will support 3 RVU clients, and some TVs will include an RVU client built in). Two HR34s would basically offer 10 simultaneous recordings and support up to 8 rooms (if the HR34s were used in viewing rooms as well).

The only question for me is would an RVU client be able to stream from a PC (to view all my ripped moves, play my music collection), be able to connect to HuluPlus (or a PlayOn Server), etc. If an RVU client could do all that, this could be a great option.

One thing I forgot to add - each HR34 only requires a single coax cable for the 5 tuners.

Last edited by ybrew; 10-07-2011 at 08:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #499  
Old 10-07-2011, 08:51 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevech View Post
should one balk at going with WMC because it appears to be another abandoned microsoft product?
Why would you think this is abandoned? It's included in the OS and it is in Windows 8.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #500  
Old 10-07-2011, 09:30 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
Why would you think this is abandoned? It's included in the OS and it is in Windows 8.

Gerry
The WMC community was panicking because one of the early leaks of windows 8 didn't have it included.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
today's alternatives snoopy SageMC Custom Interface 6 03-12-2010 06:43 PM
Curious... Why SageTV over Mediaportal (or other alternatives)?? grooves12 General Discussion 96 08-11-2009 09:01 PM
Zap2It & SageTV: Built-in data not affected; Alternatives for EPG data not included? Opus4 SageTV EPG Service 20 08-21-2008 06:31 PM
WARNING - Dont buy an Antec Fusion V2 case if you expect to run SageTV PJL Hardware Support 1 07-11-2007 02:27 PM
SAGETV command line parameters case sensitive JasonJoel SageTV Beta Test Software 2 05-20-2003 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.