SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #561  
Old 06-24-2015, 12:14 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
I personally would love to see the shield tv as I client. I already own one and an using it for Netflix, kodi and as a client for npvr. It's working great. It has been rock solid and works with my Logitech remote. Hopefully, if nvidia nvidia sees enough demand for thethe shield as a media device they will consider offering it without the controller.
Reply With Quote
  #562  
Old 06-24-2015, 10:58 AM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by coppit View Post
I work for NVIDIA, on the streaming gaming part of the Shield. It already has a Plex app, and maybe I could help facilitate a SageTV app. e.g. Get a device donated to a SageTV dev.
Firstly, kudos to you and everyone else at Nvidia working on Shield. It's a great device and the Nvidia software/services make me giddy (e.g. Gamestream, GRID).

A SageTV client for Android TV needs to happen. One thing that you could do to help facilitate that eventuality is to push for more supported infrared remote codes on Shield. I haven't got a chance to try a universal remote with it yet, but it's my understanding that the "Harmony remote" support doesn't have things like the number pad mapped. Ideally, the remote profile would support any Android KeyEvents relevant to Sage that would be necessary to mimic controlling an HD300.

While you could map Sage commands to the keyboard and use Flirc, it'd be a shame if it didn't "just work" out of the box since Nvidia went to the trouble of including an ir receiver.
Reply With Quote
  #563  
Old 06-24-2015, 11:40 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
I'd be very interested in a SHIELD/Android TV app, so long as it supported all (or at least most) of the features of the HD300. The $200 price tag doesn't bother me much, and wouldn't really bother me at all if it meant I didn't need to have a Roku box at each TV to get Netflix, HBO Go and Amazon Instant Video (or at least the first two).
Reply With Quote
  #564  
Old 06-24-2015, 01:32 PM
stlbearboy stlbearboy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by coppit View Post
Here's another crazy idea... If the Raspberry Pi is a bit underpowered, I bet the NVIDIA Shield wouldn't be. http://shield.nvidia.com/

I work for NVIDIA, on the streaming gaming part of the Shield. It already has a Plex app, and maybe I could help facilitate a SageTV app. e.g. Get a device donated to a SageTV dev.

At first I was going to propose that we start up a "reference design for extender hardware", but it seems better to use off-the-shelf hardware and focus on the software to utilize it.
The concern with the Shield is that NVIDIA did not license the Mpeg2 Codec for hardware acceleration/de-interlacing. In the reviews I have read local file playback of interlaced content was not very good.
__________________
Server AMD 9600 AMD 780G ATX Motherboard Vista Ultimate Edition 4GB Ram 3 Hauppauge HD PVR, 1 Hauppauge 1600, 2 Avermedia A180, 2 Hauppauge 1250, 1 Avermedia a188 duo
Reply With Quote
  #565  
Old 06-24-2015, 02:00 PM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by stlbearboy View Post
The concern with the Shield is that NVIDIA did not license the Mpeg2 Codec for hardware acceleration/de-interlacing.
MPEG2 was enabled in hardware last week in the 1.2 update.
Reply With Quote
  #566  
Old 06-25-2015, 10:50 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
If Shield can be made to have a fully-functional remote (as mentioned above), it might be close to the "all sources in one box" idea that was discussed earlier (I think in this very thread)... where you wouldn't have to switch inputs on your TV, you would just use the menu within the device to switch between Sage (presumably for DVR content and for access to your personal media collection of movies, videos, music, photos), and streaming inputs like netflix. And you'd get gaming thrown in as a bonus!

I still have a bunch of extenders that are working fine. My kids are small but before I know it, they'll be using the TV themselves and eventually will want to play video games as well (I suspect). This would be a great all-in-one device that I could put at one TV (where the kids would be gaming) and leave Sage extenders at the other TVs. From that respect, a $200 price tag wouldn't bother me at all... an extra $50 above the HD300 original price to get a device that has native gaming, Google Play Store access for apps, and even 4K capability? Sounds darn good to me.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #567  
Old 06-25-2015, 11:10 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Doing an android port for a media extender client shouldn't be all that bad to do if it supports the proper media formats. The placeshifter client is written in Java, so that would be a great starting point.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #568  
Old 06-25-2015, 08:09 PM
Tomahawk51's Avatar
Tomahawk51 Tomahawk51 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 320
There is something elegant, or even appropriate, about Sage being OSed by Google and the future of extenders involving (Google) Android.

I'd go for the Shield @ $200 without much hesitation for the record as well. It would be great to get a few extra uses out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #569  
Old 06-26-2015, 11:38 AM
Eckwell's Avatar
Eckwell Eckwell is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 289
Me Too!
__________________
Eckwell / Chicago, IL
SERVER: AMD Phenom III 8750 Black / 4 GB / XP Pro / JV1.6.24 / V7 / 2 PVR-HD (DirectTV) & HDHR (2xATSC)
STORAGE: WD Raptor36GB boot / 11TB in 2 eSATA enclosure
DEFAULT STV
Comskip triggered by DirMON2 --- HD100 / HD200 /HD300
BMI fanart
Reply With Quote
  #570  
Old 06-26-2015, 01:40 PM
pdermody pdermody is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
Is android still limited on what it can pass on the audio side (ie bitstreaming truehd/dts-hd/etc) ? Or did they resolve that? Just wondering out loud since I see folks discussing an android port is all... That and I would be curious if android would allow for native output resolution. In the meanwhile I did buy a couple hd300's as spares...

-pd
Reply With Quote
  #571  
Old 06-27-2015, 04:15 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
I don't mind the $200 for one or two extenders but I have nine (HD300s and HD300s). I don't want to be paying $1800 to replace them all. I think I even have three spare HD200s that I acquired in case my existing he started to die. It turns out I was overly cautious as these will very likely be unnecessary in the near future.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #572  
Old 06-27-2015, 08:02 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Why would you replace them all? It's unlikely new extenders will provide additional functionality, at least not for a long time. They probably won't even quite measure up (no Native Resolution Swtiching, etc) for a while, if ever.
Reply With Quote
  #573  
Old 06-27-2015, 12:34 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Why would you replace them all? It's unlikely new extenders will provide additional functionality, at least not for a long time. They probably won't even quite measure up (no Native Resolution Swtiching, etc) for a while, if ever.
Hopefully I won't have to replace them all but is possible that new functionality may mean that OS Sage 8 will not be backwards compatible with old extenders.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #574  
Old 06-27-2015, 01:14 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Hopefully I won't have to replace them all but is possible that new functionality may mean that OS Sage 8 will not be backwards compatible with old extenders.
I can't forsee anything that might break backward compatibility with the existing extenders. I know nothing has been discussed that would.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #575  
Old 06-27-2015, 02:12 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,578
I hope ypu're right but I guess files using new codecs like H.265 won't be backward compatible, at least not without transcoding, but that is something that I can control by not using files of that type.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #576  
Old 06-28-2015, 02:06 AM
Eternal Eternal is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 67
Is it possible to make captions work with non sage decoders?
Reply With Quote
  #577  
Old 06-28-2015, 03:25 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Hopefully I won't have to replace them all but is possible that new functionality may mean that OS Sage 8 will not be backwards compatible with old extenders.
Unless the community does something stupid, backward compatibility won't be broken.

To be completely honest, I expect a lot of people are going to be (very) disappointed with the Open Source development. I think development/advances will be a lot slower than a lot of folks are expecting. I expect, for a long time, the only thing that will come out of OS-ing Sage will be the ability to do new installs without needing a license. New extenders? I wouldn't get my hopes up to see anything inside a year. Android, maybe that will be easier.

Last edited by stanger89; 06-28-2015 at 03:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #578  
Old 06-28-2015, 05:20 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Unless the community does something stupid, backward compatibility won't be broken.

To be completely honest, I expect a lot of people are going to be (very) disappointed with the Open Source development. I think development/advances will be a lot slower than a lot of folks are expecting. I expect, for a long time, the only thing that will come out of OS-ing Sage will be the ability to do new installs without needing a license. New extenders? I wouldn't get my hopes up to see anything inside a year. Android, maybe that will be easier.
I totally agree with you and I also do not see licensed users jumping to the OS anytime soon.... at least until EPG data is addressed in OS version.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-28-2015 at 05:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #579  
Old 06-28-2015, 07:00 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
To be completely honest, I expect a lot of people are going to be (very) disappointed with the Open Source development. I think development/advances will be a lot slower than a lot of folks are expecting. I expect, for a long time, the only thing that will come out of OS-ing Sage will be the ability to do new installs without needing a license. New extenders? I wouldn't get my hopes up to see anything inside a year. Android, maybe that will be easier.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I totally agree with you and I also do not see licensed users jumping to the OS anytime soon.... at least until EPG data is addressed in OS version.
So true. It's exactly what I'm thinking (both quotes).

I think it's really going to come down to how much new blood joins the party. Speaking for myself, as part of the "old guard" of developers, SageTV 7.1.9 and how I currently have it deployed in my house does everything I need it to do. I have no incentive/desire to move to the OS version. The only thing that would do immediately is add a lot of work to get me back to where I am today. As I've discussed else where, my Schedules Direct plugin won't work with the OS version of Sage as is. So to move to the OS version, I have to fix/rewrite my epg plugin or move back to the Sage epg (and lose features of my plugin I've come to take for granted). I'm more than happy to stay right where I am. Not sure about anyone else, but I feel like a lot of the existing devs are probably feeling the same way (to some degree).

I will definitely read the source and probably even tinker with it on my own fork, but updating & supporting plugins in the plugin repo ecosystem? I don't think I'm heading back down that road and unless that new killer feature comes to be, I really don't expect to ever update my current production server away from 7.1.9 that's happily sitting in my basement.

Now, some new devs come along with some new ideas and add something to the OS version that I can't live without, well then maybe I upgrade and bite the bullet on having to update my existing plugins, etc. But I think it's going to take some new blood to join in to spark some excitement/momentum for open source.

And a year for something significant? I'd even suggest that's best case scenario. Let's assume Narflex has been working at prepping the code base for release since his announcement. That's a few months and no sign of an imminent release coming so he's still working on it. How long does it take the community OS devs to read and comprehend this code base before it can start to be modified meaningfully? And yes, he's definitely not working on it full time, but that's also a very important point. No OS devs are going to be working on features full time either. A feature that takes 3 weeks to implement, might take that person 6 months to complete if they can only work on it a few hours a week. That's going to be the reality of the OS version. So I'd agree a year after the code is available seems like a minimum for "major" new features unless there's an major influx of new devs wanting to join in, which hopefully there will be.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #580  
Old 06-28-2015, 10:47 PM
Monedeath Monedeath is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eternal View Post
Is it possible to make captions work with non sage decoders?
That is a decoder issue. If the program has captioning, it already is embedded/encoded in the content stream, the decoder just has to be able to recognize it and be setup to make use of it. Talk to developers for those other decoders.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Unless the community does something stupid, backward compatibility won't be broken.
Well, an update to support h265 on the server side would cause a problem for the extenders unless there is a way to update them as well, as already mentioned. But the solution for that is easy, don't record/transcode to h265 if you want to have native playback on the older extenders.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
To be completely honest, I expect a lot of people are going to be (very) disappointed with the Open Source development. I think development/advances will be a lot slower than a lot of folks are expecting. I expect, for a long time, the only thing that will come out of OS-ing Sage will be the ability to do new installs without needing a license. New extenders? I wouldn't get my hopes up to see anything inside a year. Android, maybe that will be easier.
I'm hoping that the splitting off of the extenders from the server's JVM heap that was mentioned in Google's SageTV8 implementation finds its way over to the OS version, but we'll have to wait and see on that front.

Support for the newer FFMPEG would be nice, considering most of that stuff would need to be swapped out anyhow from what others have said. But again, will have to wait and see.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
And a year for something significant? I'd even suggest that's best case scenario. Let's assume Narflex has been working at prepping the code base for release since his announcement. That's a few months and no sign of an imminent release coming so he's still working on it. How long does it take the community OS devs to read and comprehend this code base before it can start to be modified meaningfully? And yes, he's definitely not working on it full time, but that's also a very important point. No OS devs are going to be working on features full time either. A feature that takes 3 weeks to implement, might take that person 6 months to complete if they can only work on it a few hours a week. That's going to be the reality of the OS version. So I'd agree a year after the code is available seems like a minimum for "major" new features unless there's an major influx of new devs wanting to join in, which hopefully there will be.
I suspect he was working on some of the codebase before the announcement, and as he's been sticking to and reiterating his earlier comment about the OS release being "months not years" away. The coming change to the Sage EPG server license key policy over the 4th of July holiday has me wondering if it is coming sooner rather than later...

Not much need to lock down the EPG server unless it has either been getting flooded with people using 2 week trial keys for some reason(I guess it is possible, I don't consider it very probable, even with the recent problems it went through), or he is expecting that the EPG server would otherwise be getting flooded with prospective (new) users sometime shortly after that date for some reason that totally escapes me at this time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
I still use SageTV at home...version 8.something. It's basically the same as the last v7 we put out; but with an updated STV and Sage.jar file that have new features that I wanted.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
My current plan for this is to take all the relevant changes we've made in the past 3+ years at Google and merge them into the codebase from when we were acquired. (I've already done most of that work, I'm leaving out all the Google Fiber specific stuff since that's not relevant and just clogs up the codebase for y'all) I'll then run that version myself for awhile to ensure it's solid and then that'll be what we open source. The only code we've changed since acquisition that'll be released is basically the Java code. We didn't touch the native windows/linux code much here at all (w/ the exception that we wrote a whole new thing that did the recording/playback portion, i.e. network encoder/streamer, but that piece won't be open sourced as it wouldn't really be of use to you all)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Well....I'll be available to help as needed. But as it was already a very solid product; it's not like much needs to be done with it to make it useable again (main thing is new installers, and recompiling it with all the licensing code removed...most of which is already disabled)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
It's going to happen. And I stick by my original timeline.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
open source


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV Setup "Video Source Capture" Problem Mandingo609 Hardware Support 6 01-04-2011 08:05 AM
"Backdrops" "SageTV" "Covers" folders - what's creating them mp328 Sage My Movies 4 09-20-2010 05:31 PM
Can I use "Send To..." to open a file with another player? horseflesh SageMC Custom Interface 0 12-23-2008 04:23 PM
Any plan adding a ""unsupported" Closed Caption on the HD-100 in future update? TechBill SageTV Media Extender 5 08-16-2008 08:58 AM
Open "Browse - Video Menu" First lambda379 SageTV Studio 2 09-02-2007 12:37 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.