SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2016, 01:31 PM
plotter plotter is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Comskip – Linux Server, Windows Client

Looking for some guidance on my path setup. I’m running v9 server on linux, client on windows and recording to a NAS. All works-watching, recording, playing. Comskip triggers, spits out edl, etc.

The issue is that my client can’t see the edl. As I understand, the client needs access to the same path as the server. But how do I create a cross-platform path that resolves to my NAS on both linux and windows?

Any help is appreciated – this is the last step for my migration!
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2016, 02:14 PM
plotter plotter is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
I have tried various smb configs but [my] linux doesn't understand \\server\dir and [my] windows doesn't understand //server/dir

Do you have a package or config that's working for you?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2016, 02:24 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by plotter View Post
I have tried various smb configs but [my] linux doesn't understand \\server\dir and [my] windows doesn't understand //server/dir

Do you have a package or config that's working for you?
Sounds like Sage.jar needs to be written to be cross platform compatible.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2016, 02:33 PM
plotter plotter is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
I believe the sage.jar is cross-platform - i'm running the same code on windows (that i'm trying to move away from) and linux. My guess is that the plug-in could be reworked but short of that, i'm looking for anything...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2016, 05:42 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by plotter View Post
I believe the sage.jar is cross-platform - i'm running the same code on windows (that i'm trying to move away from) and linux. My guess is that the plug-in could be reworked but short of that, i'm looking for anything...
Yeah, this is completely an issue with the Comskip playback plugin, and really has nothing to do with sage.jar. There have been many ways discussed/floated over the years for this issue to get resolved, but for most people, it's not been an issue, and the original plugin developers are long gone, and it's just been tweaked with minor changes/fixes for the last 6+ years.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2016, 05:44 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
Use mklink on Windows to create the paths. This also works for dvd rips too
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2016, 03:04 PM
plotter plotter is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Thanks - we were on the same track. I got it to work last night but it is only a partial solution - works on laptop where i can manipulate the directory structure to mimic my linux structure but won't work on my HD3000. Also won't work over VPN (I VPN in often) because of name resolutions issues.

Looks like my move to linux-hosted sage is on hold for now...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2016, 06:11 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
Comskip does work with the HD300. Over a VPN with a HD300 would work too and your client just needs to replicate the same as the server
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2016, 04:54 PM
plotter plotter is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Let me make sure we are on the same page - do you have a HD3000 pointed at a Sage instance on Linux that is reading .EDLs?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2016, 05:24 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by plotter View Post
Let me make sure we are on the same page - do you have a HD3000 pointed at a Sage instance on Linux that is reading .EDLs?
I do... The HD300 (like the ANdroid MiniClient) is running on the server, so the EDL files just work. It's different with a full client, since the full client needs to use the same path as the server.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-20-2016, 08:43 PM
plotter plotter is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
stuckless - I've seen your posts on the miniclient so I think I know where you're coming from.

When I referenced HD300, I'm talking about a separate piece of self-contained hardware running Sage client software. Apple and orange I think...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-20-2016, 09:23 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by plotter View Post
stuckless - I've seen your posts on the miniclient so I think I know where you're coming from.

When I referenced HD300, I'm talking about a separate piece of self-contained hardware running Sage client software. Apple and orange I think...
I have several HD300 units. These are sagetv stand-alone units, but they are not full clients. They are Extenders. So, my point being, is that for things like HD100,HD200, HD300, Android MiniClient, and placeshifter, is that they all run a session on the server, so for things like comskip, it will just work, because they are on the same filesystem (the server).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-30-2016, 05:27 AM
lanmat lanmat is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 14
So, was there a resolution/workaround to this? I tried mklink, but get "cannot find the path specified" when trying:
Code:
mklink /d "//server/dir" \\server\dir
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-30-2016, 07:47 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
You need to recreate the same folder path. If things are /var/media/tv then you should use mklink to map to \var\media\tv on the PC
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-30-2016, 09:16 PM
ranger ranger is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 256
The following worked for me
Note: the target folder on Linux is /var/media/tv and the Linux server IP Address for this example is 192.168.10.10. Obviously, you'll need to substitute your own IP Address.

Linux Server
Share target folder "tv" in the path /var/media/tv

Windows SageTV client PC
mkdir c:\var\media
cd c:\var\media
mklink /D tv \\192.168.10.10\tv
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
comskip, linux, open source, windows


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PlaybackException - Linux Server, Windows Client talvey SageTV Linux 7 03-14-2009 10:07 AM
SageTV Windows client to linux server issue sgraves66 SageTV Linux 3 12-09-2007 01:48 PM
Linux Server Windows Client DVD Playback harrijay SageTV Linux 2 05-11-2007 08:49 AM
V5 Linux as a Client to Windows Server? plawlor SageTV Linux 6 05-24-2006 05:30 PM
Linux server & Windows client: comskip kn4ppst3r SageTV Customizations 0 02-09-2006 04:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.