SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2016, 12:23 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,372
Question USB TV Tuner for DVB T/T2

Does anyone know of a USB TV tuner able to receive DVB T/T2 standard that definitely works with STV v7 please? I just need it for testing so has to be cheap.

Thanks
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2016, 03:04 PM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Hi Eddy try this

Which is this card I believe.

And just DVB-T only https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...7&postcount=10
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners

Last edited by starfire; 11-13-2016 at 03:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2016, 06:00 AM
Stu Gare Stu Gare is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 49
Hi, I have one of these going spare.
TBS PCI-E DVB-T2 Quad TV Tuner Card High Definition Digital Free to Air Tuner (DVB-T/DVB-T2)

Has been used for a couple of years, but my new case didn't include an additional PCIE power connector so I can no longer use this and replaced with a couple of HD HomeRuns.

Not USB, but perhaps could serve you for more than just testing.

Let me know if interested, I'd sell for a reasonable offer.

Regards
Stuart
__________________
1 SageTV Server (v9) ,
3 HD300,
2HD200,
HD-HOMERUN CONNECT(2xDVB-T2)x2,
1 HD-PVR2 (Gaming Edition)/SKY HD,
QNAP NAS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2016, 01:32 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by starfire View Post
Hi Eddy try this

Which is this card I believe.

And just DVB-T only https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...7&postcount=10
Thank you very much for the links, the Maplin was maybe right, but T only and discontinued .

I was more thinking about THIS to be honest, with the aerial included, considering that after testing it will be probably back to eBay at half price

Unfortunately it's a gamble because it all depends on the chipset being used to be natively supported by STV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Gare View Post
Hi, I have one of these going spare.
TBS PCI-E DVB-T2 Quad TV Tuner Card High Definition Digital Free to Air Tuner (DVB-T/DVB-T2)

Has been used for a couple of years, but my new case didn't include an additional PCIE power connector so I can no longer use this and replaced with a couple of HD HomeRuns.

Not USB, but perhaps could serve you for more than just testing.

Let me know if interested, I'd sell for a reasonable offer.

Regards
Stuart
Thanks for the kind offer, but it has to be USB because my development machine hasn't got any PCI-E slot left and after testing it will not have much use anyway.

Cheers
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2016, 12:50 AM
deanm deanm is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North East, UK
Posts: 293
Hi Eddy

I have 2 PCTV NanoSticks that are DVB-T2. They work well with STV

You can borrow/have one as at the minute they are not in use.

Dean
__________________
Darkside: DVB-C x4 DVB-T2 x2 HD-300 x4
Lightside: DVB-C x2 DVB-T2 x4 HD-300 x3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2016, 02:33 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanm View Post
Hi Eddy

I have 2 PCTV NanoSticks that are DVB-T2. They work well with STV

You can borrow/have one as at the minute they are not in use.

Dean
Thanks Dean, eventually I bought one of THOSE last night, I like the fact that an active aerial is included as I don't have one on the roof. If the dongle doesn't work with STV I will borrow one of your PCTV NanoStick for few days if you don't mind.

Cheers
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2016, 12:46 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
If the dongle doesn't work with STV I will borrow one of your PCTV NanoStick for few days if you don't mind.
Well, guess what? This USB tuner works with any DVB player I've tried, but no luck with STV

This tuner it's a truly BDA compliant device and STV should work well with BDA devices, however the tuner side of STV has never being its strong point. Maybe this is finally the time for the OS community to tackle this aspect.

Cheers
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-21-2016, 12:44 PM
deanm deanm is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North East, UK
Posts: 293
Hi Eddy

Sent you an email

Dean
__________________
Darkside: DVB-C x4 DVB-T2 x2 HD-300 x4
Lightside: DVB-C x2 DVB-T2 x4 HD-300 x3
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD TV Tuner USB and Soon a Quad Tuner PCIe SHS Hardware Support 12 10-02-2016 11:07 AM
New Hauppauge CableCard Tuner for pre-order, shipping this month! $129 for dual tuner jptheripper Hardware Support 6 08-07-2011 12:15 PM
enabling channels on analog tuner also enables them on digital tuner LaoChe SageTV EPG Service 2 02-02-2011 08:09 PM
Added 2nd tuner (Hauppauge HVR-1600), no audio on analog, no digital tuner jtimmes SageTV Linux 4 02-02-2010 10:22 PM
HDTV Built-In tuner (Samsung 50" DLP) VS. Vbox 150 Tuner in PC? Generalg Hardware Support 3 07-17-2006 10:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.