SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:21 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Recording in Divx?

Is there a way, other then the plextor, to record in Divx or xVid formats? I realize that most, if not all capure cards, are mpg2 hardware endcoding. I am hoping for an unattended software option. Thanks.
-Skybolt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:53 PM
MrApollinax's Avatar
MrApollinax MrApollinax is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Send a message via ICQ to MrApollinax Send a message via AIM to MrApollinax
I bought the Plextor wanting t use the DivX option. After about a week of that I went back to the mpeg2 recording in DVD quality. The DivX encoding was only single pass and the space saving was so minimal that it wasn't worth the extra cycles to encode in DivX. There is a plugin that does the encoding on the fly as well but for me if you truly are going to use SageTV as a DVR solution you will be deleting the shows after sometime or keeping very specific shows for later. In that case you can do a thourough job of encoding to save space.
__________________
SageTV Server: Windows XP Pro SP2, 3 GHz DC processor, 2 GB RAM, 256MB GeForce 6800, Plextor ConvertX PX-TV402U, Hauppauge 150MCE
SageTV Extender: Hauppauge MediaMVP
SageTV: 5.0, Comskip STVi, Standard Interface
Router: Dlink DGL-4300

Using Wireshark to Troubleshoot Network Issues with your SageTV Setup
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2006, 07:09 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrApollinax
... There is a plugin that does the encoding... but for me if you truly are going to use SageTV as a DVR solution you will be deleting the shows after sometime or keeping very specific shows for later...
Any Idea where the Plug-In might be? I scowered the downloads section and could not locate it.

Wanting to use Divx is not a space concern really(Just a Perk) I use MCE as my primary HTPC in my media room. I have gotten Divx to look much nicer than MPG's when recorded from cable, by using ffDShow. Currently I need to convert them into Divx and it is not really worth the effort. The recordings from SageTv give have given me a little trouble playing them and have crashed MCE a few times.

-Skybolt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2006, 08:35 AM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
You might look at this .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2006, 11:26 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade
You might look at this .
Ahh - Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.