SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2007, 09:39 AM
showson1 showson1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 81
LOVE IT!!

Ok, first of all.. I used to be a big-time tweaker. Messing with Linux and all sorts of different hardware, spending hours messing with stuff.

As I've gotten older (and now a father) I've lost most of my interest in that and just want stuff to work now.. don't want to spend hours messing with it.. so I was kind of skeptical about the MVPs with SageTV.

---

First.. I ordered the MVP from PC Alchemy, paid for 3 day ground shipping and it was at my door the NEXT DAY!. I ordered it Wednesday about noon, it was on my porch when I got home from work on Thursday.

I got the wired one, even though I want to use it wireless, because I heard of problems with the wireless ones.

I put the Mac address in my router filter, hooked up my wireless bridge, hooked the cables to the TV.
I powered it on, waited about 2-3 minutes while it found my Sage machine and... boom.. the menu screen.
Tried Live TV, it worked.
Tried recorded shows with the commercial skip, worked
Tried music, worked
Tried Pictures, worked
Tried Video, worked.. even some divx and MP4 videos, just transcoded on the fly immediately.
Tried DVD ripped to hard drive, worked with menus and everything.

Everything just worked I didn't have to configure ONE SINGLE THING.

I was using my Xbox360 as an extender for MCE, but using the MVP with Sage is WAY faster than using the Xbox as the extender!

Talk about beautiful!
I may have to order another one for the bedroom!

Just my two cents.

Last edited by showson1; 03-16-2007 at 09:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:48 PM
oddjob's Avatar
oddjob oddjob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by showson1 View Post
Ok, first of all.. I used to be a big-time tweaker. Messing with Linux and all sorts of different hardware, spending hours messing with stuff.

As I've gotten older (and now a father) I've lost most of my interest in that and just want stuff to work now.. don't want to spend hours messing with it.. so I was kind of skeptical about the MVPs with SageTV.

---

First.. I ordered the MVP from PC Alchemy, paid for 3 day ground shipping and it was at my door the NEXT DAY!. I ordered it Wednesday about noon, it was on my porch when I got home from work on Thursday.

I got the wired one, even though I want to use it wireless, because I heard of problems with the wireless ones.

I put the Mac address in my router filter, hooked up my wireless bridge, hooked the cables to the TV.
I powered it on, waited about 2-3 minutes while it found my Sage machine and... boom.. the menu screen.
Tried Live TV, it worked.
Tried recorded shows with the commercial skip, worked
Tried music, worked
Tried Pictures, worked
Tried Video, worked.. even some divx and MP4 videos, just transcoded on the fly immediately.
Tried DVD ripped to hard drive, worked with menus and everything.

Everything just worked I didn't have to configure ONE SINGLE THING.

I was using my Xbox360 as an extender for MCE, but using the MVP with Sage is WAY faster than using the Xbox as the extender!

Talk about beautiful!
I may have to order another one for the bedroom!

Just my two cents.
I second it!

I just wanted to mention, that you might want to wait on purchasing a second extender. Sagetv is planning on releasing a new HDExtender product in the Second Quarter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:53 PM
showson1 showson1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by oddjob View Post
I just wanted to mention, that you might want to wait on purchasing a second extender. Sagetv is planning on releasing a new HDExtender product in the Second Quarter.
Cool, thanks for the info!
We just have an old school SD TV. Will the HD extenders work on an SD TV?

If so I'll get one of the HD extenders in case I get an HD TV in the near future..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2007, 02:54 PM
AngelofDeth AngelofDeth is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 359
I agree with you about the MVPs and Sage but the HD extenders will work with SDTVs. But if you don't play a lot of material that needs to be transcoded to the MVP, the HD extender probably won't gain you much, but if you are planning on getting HDTV anytime soon, it might still be a good idea to wait for HD extender.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2007, 06:27 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelofDeth View Post
I agree with you about the MVPs and Sage but the HD extenders will work with SDTVs. But if you don't play a lot of material that needs to be transcoded to the MVP, the HD extender probably won't gain you much, but if you are planning on getting HDTV anytime soon, it might still be a good idea to wait for HD extender.
I am thinking of getting HD extenders to replace my MVPs just for the transcoding. I await the day I can have the movies in avi for size without worrying about killing the server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2007, 04:44 PM
naln's Avatar
naln naln is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: KY
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjenkins View Post
I await the day I can have the movies in avi for size without worrying about killing the server
Second that!!

I am sort of partial to using the Xbox-XBMC when I want to watch some .avi files...just to ease the load on my sage server....
__________________
Sage Server: Antec Solo, Seasonic S12 430W, AM2 3800, Gigabyte GA-M61P-S3 Mobo, XFX 7600GS 512MB, 2GB DDR2 800, 3 TB SATA, Hauppauge HVR1600, HDHR, indoor antenna, Win 7 Ultimate, MCE05 remote.
Sage Client: Foxconn NT330i Intel Atom Dual Core, 1 GB DDR2 667 RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2007, 10:35 AM
FidgetyRat's Avatar
FidgetyRat FidgetyRat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
I love my MVP. The #1 thing that I love the most is the complete silence and low power consumption.

I have a client box in my bedroom at the moment that is like a jet engine. Unfortunately I can't afford a second TV (or extender) at the moment, so the old CRT monitor was put to the task. Man I could sure use the extender.


My second fav. part is never having to worry about sage or system updates. No external remote software or config. I like you used to tweak constantly but just don't have the time anymore. I don't mind tweaking the server, but all the clients is overkill.

I just PRAY they never charge more for client licenses. If that happens its bye bye sage sadly..

I hate being poor.

Only thing I horribly miss is the web radio plugin functionality. I live in a lead box and can't get OTA radio
__________________
Server: 2.6Ghz Pentium Dual Core, 2GB RAM. 3x PVR-150, 1.5TB HDD. Geforce 7300GS, Sage 7.0.15
Client: Jetway ION-Top - Dual core ATOM 1.6 & NVIDIA ION
NAS: QNAP TS-419P 3.7TB Raid-5

Special thanks to tmiranda for making my 24h time format dream a reality. See here for more details.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3.0.7 + A180 + Win2k = No Love? Yorick SageTV Beta Test Software 3 09-14-2005 12:02 AM
SageTV - The program I hate to love wexsmith SageTV Software 6 06-22-2005 12:18 PM
Love the UI Overscan Adjustment JasonJoel SageTV Beta Test Software 2 01-24-2004 11:59 AM
I'd love to see Sage Client on this! cord General Discussion 5 10-04-2003 08:59 AM
Love the new features! Jim S. SageTV Beta Test Software 4 05-08-2003 01:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.