SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2010, 10:39 PM
Truxton Truxton is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 23
Send a message via ICQ to Truxton Send a message via AIM to Truxton Send a message via MSN to Truxton Send a message via Yahoo to Truxton
HD-PVR causing SageTV to Crash or sage.playbackexception:error (-4,0x80040217)

This is driving me batty, and I am not sure what to do to make this thing work. I am attempting to add a Hauppage HD-PVR to my Sage system but am confounded on why it will not work.

The HD-PVR is installed and the driver has no problems, if I use the included Software, Arcsoft TotalMedia Extreme, the device plays properly.

However as soon as I add the device to SageTV I have problems. SageTV does detect the device but as soon as I try to preview the device I get a "sage.playbackexception:error (-4,0x80040217)" message. I searched the forums and I found mention that changing the Video Renderer from VMR to default would correct the problem. I did this and on preview SageTV now crashes.

I had problems using the default setting in the past as the display was not as smooth and often disappeared completely.

Below is the System Information I think is most useful. Any help would be appriciated.


SageTV Version: SageTV V6.6.2.218
Java Version: 1.6.0_17
Video Renderer: VMR9
DirectX: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
Display Adapter: ATI Radeon HD 4550 - Driver 8.702.0.0 2/2/2010
Tuners: Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (8891) - Driver 7.6.27.27223 8/11/2009
Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1600 NTSC/ATSC/QAM Combo(x2) - Driver 1.62.72148.0 5/28/2009
Hauppauge WinTV HD PVR (1212) - Driver 1.5.6.1 5/1/2009
OS: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.091208-2036)
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X3 710 Processor, MMX, 3DNow (3 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2010, 07:30 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
If you are trying to set this up from a client install the Arcsoft TME software on it so you have a decoder that supports the video format. Install and set the decoder for Arcsoft and then reboot. Then go and try to set it up again.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2010, 07:58 AM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
You need to make sure that the correct video decoders are used.

If the decoders do not show up in detail setup, then you have to add them to Sageproperties file manually.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2010, 12:53 PM
Truxton Truxton is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 23
Send a message via ICQ to Truxton Send a message via AIM to Truxton Send a message via MSN to Truxton Send a message via Yahoo to Truxton
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryt View Post
If the decoders do not show up in detail setup, then you have to add them to Sageproperties file manually.
Does someone have the settings that would need to be added to the sage.properties file? Since this is a new install of a HD-PVR I don't have anything from a previous install to refer to.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2010, 03:27 PM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
The setting depend on what video decoder you have installed that work with h264 files
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2010, 03:37 PM
Truxton Truxton is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 23
Send a message via ICQ to Truxton Send a message via AIM to Truxton Send a message via MSN to Truxton Send a message via Yahoo to Truxton
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryt View Post
The setting depend on what video decoder you have installed that work with h264 files
In my earlier message I included the following...

Quote:
The HD-PVR is installed and the driver has no problems, if I use the included Software, Arcsoft TotalMedia Extreme, the device plays properly.
And asked for the settings due to a response from jerryt...

Quote:
If the decoders do not show up in detail setup, then you have to add them to Sageproperties file manually.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2010, 06:33 PM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
Stop sage
Open Sageproperties by draging on top of notepad icon
make the edits below and save
then verify in detailed setup that the correct decoders are selected.

edit these lines
videoframe/additional_audio_filters=Arcsoft audio decoder
videoframe/additional_video_filters=Arcsoft video decoder
videoframe/audio_decoder_filter=Arcsoft audio decoder
videoframe/video_decoder_filter=Arcsoft video decoder

add this line;
videoframe/h264_video_decoder_filter=Arcsoft video decoder

Verify that "Arcsoft video decoder" and "Arcsoft audio decoder" are the correctly spelled friendly names for these decoders. Sorry I do not use these so I can not check. Directshow Filter Manager can be used to see the friendly name of all your installed decoders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PlaybackException ERROR(-4,0x80040217) hucker SageTV Software 9 12-10-2009 09:15 AM
sage.playbackexception:error (-4,0x80040217) mkwiatk SageTV Software 8 09-28-2009 07:29 PM
Imported Video causing Sage to Crash Ron SageTV Software 5 08-15-2009 06:52 AM
Playback Error (-4,0x80040217) SAGE 6 Error dealsdyker SageTV Software 5 01-02-2007 08:02 AM
PlaybackException: ERROR (-4,0x80040217) (multiple video cards) jkoutrouba Hardware Support 7 08-05-2005 12:54 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.