SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2007, 12:40 PM
ging ging is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
6.2.4 Browse By catagory totally borked

On 6.2.4 under Schedule Recordings the Browse By catagory page is totally borked, just an outline of a square comes up no text or anything else.

On MVP standard settings 16:9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2007, 01:35 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Are you using any customizations at all? If so, try the default STV w/o anything else loaded. I tried it & the menu was displayed normally, so I wasn't able to reproduce it yet.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2007, 02:00 PM
ging ging is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Are you using any customizations at all? If so, try the default STV w/o anything else loaded. I tried it & the menu was displayed normally, so I wasn't able to reproduce it yet.

- Andy

I'm a newbiew woudnt even know where to start with customisations

Its not just my MVP its the same on the host server, not sure what else I can tell you ?

I've (attempted) to upload a screen shot...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg browse.JPG (30.9 KB, 176 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2007, 03:35 PM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Works for me too ... How's your EPG? ... Thinking if you have a feed problem you'll have a Browse by Category problem ...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2007, 12:16 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Did the Browse By Category screen work for you in previous versions? If your EPG data has no categories, then I suppose there would be nothing to display. I'm not sure what else would cause that screen to be blank.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2007, 11:55 AM
ging ging is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Did the Browse By Category screen work for you in previous versions? If your EPG data has no categories, then I suppose there would be nothing to display. I'm not sure what else would cause that screen to be blank.

- Andy
Everything else works OK, I've switched from XMLTV to DVB Broadcast EPG as its now 7 Days which is fantastic There is one issue I had with the channel discovery though in that it could not find channels that are not transmitting which we have in the UK so BBC4 and CBeebies switch over at 7 pm, the upshot of this is that I had to do a channel scan in the moring and another one in the evening which is a bug IMO (I'm getting to the point honest) and I now have 2 channel 2's and 2 channel 23's on the first 23 I have CBeebies and on the second I have BBC FOUR could this upset the search/browse pages and you imply its EPG sensitive?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg guide.JPG (93.4 KB, 120 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2007, 12:42 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
When you use Info to view any airing's detailed Program Information screen, does it include any category/genre info?

If you go to the Favorites Manager & select New by Category, does it list anything to choose from?

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2007, 02:17 PM
ging ging is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
When you use Info to view any airing's detailed Program Information screen, does it include any category/genre info?

If you go to the Favorites Manager & select New by Category, does it list anything to choose from?

- Andy

The select catogory page works (select.jpg), but theres no catagory info for airing programs(programinfo.jpg), does the new DVB EPG have this info?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg select.JPG (46.5 KB, 114 views)
File Type: jpg programinfo.JPG (76.9 KB, 123 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2007, 02:35 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
It looks like the EPG data doesn't have category info.The screen for adding a new Fav by category lists all categories it has in the database (including past airings), while the Browse by Category screen only lists future airings for each category.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2007, 02:38 PM
ging ging is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
It looks like the EPG data doesn't have category info.The screen for adding a new Fav by category lists all categories it has in the database (including past airings), while the Browse by Category screen only lists future airings for each category.

- Andy
I'm using the inbuilt DVBT EPG now, I wasent before as it was only now and next and I used XMLTV which I was glad to dump.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-06-2007, 01:45 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by ging View Post
I'm using the inbuilt DVBT EPG now, I wasent before as it was only now and next and I used XMLTV which I was glad to dump.
Obviously that's your choice, but I'm sure you've seen that the OTA DVB-T EPG is, uh, basic to say the least. No categories, limited descriptions, will not flag first runs/repeats, will not use the same episode Ids as other sources if you use them...

I'm sure many like me retain XMLTV, which from RT is quite detailed, and once set up is very low maintenance. And allows you to have the same Ep Ids over multiple sources/lineups.
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.6.6, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-07-2007, 01:25 AM
ging ging is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Did the Browse By Category screen work for you in previous versions? If your EPG data has no categories, then I suppose there would be nothing to display. I'm not sure what else would cause that screen to be blank.

- Andy
I've gone back to XMLTV and everything works again, it did take a while to sort out the channel info again as this release changed all the channel numbers as its lost a few channels for some reason (probably some encrypted channels) none that I care about.

I don't see SageTV being acceptable mainstream if XMLTV is a must have, I can't see non techies spending the effort to make this work its gotta just work of of the box like M$ Media Center (which is a good product BTW).

I love SageTV though with MVP's its the best thing out there
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media MVP 6.2.4 sainswor99 SageTV Beta Test Software 19 07-08-2007 06:22 AM
6.2.4 AC3 and player/transcoder versions twieder SageTV Beta Test Software 11 07-02-2007 06:30 PM
6.2.4 Couple Things Razillian SageTV Beta Test Software 1 06-30-2007 02:06 AM
Unable to browse network drives unkyjoe SageTV Software 10 03-28-2007 03:25 PM
Moved PC, now totally black screens amj SageTV Software 1 12-03-2005 10:31 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.