SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-01-2007, 08:41 PM
btrcp2000 btrcp2000 is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 858
that's a great find! why didn't i think of that?? maybe can become a workable plan b via an HDhomerunwhen they throw my 5c switch. I can't bring myself to experiment with it though, as I have have a stable sage setup for the first time since... ever, including 2 firewire tuners.
__________________
[size=1]Current Server:V9 UNRAID Docker, SuperMicro x9dri-LNF4+, 32 GB ECC, 2x Xeon e5-2660v2, storage array 6TB, 2 Dish r5000HD tuners, 1 HDHomerun Quatro, 1 HDHomerun Extend
4 Nvidia Shield TVs with Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-01-2007, 09:57 PM
mohanman mohanman is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 268
Ummm guys.. This works. I just tried it out on my macbook pro, a elgato hybrid tv tuner (usb) and a comcast DCT 3416 box. I hooked it up as it stated in the the directions with rf output. The picture looks pretty good, I can't exactly tell if it is HD or not, I think it is. Anyway, the only thing is you do need to change channels manually or with IR blaster, but this is a good alternative. Just need confirmation this is indeed HD?
Thanks
Mo
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:22 PM
mohanman mohanman is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 268
But then you would also have the issue of how to get IR blaster support for the tv tuner select in sagetv and how would the guide "know" what you are doing also with channel changes. Otherwise I think this is great.
Mo
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:43 PM
mohanman mohanman is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 268
Nevermind. I tried it again. I can't get an HD signal, it only is at 720x480.
Back to the drawing board.
Mo
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-02-2007, 11:20 AM
m1abrams's Avatar
m1abrams m1abrams is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 445
I tested this with my SA 4250HD which also has an RF output. I connected the output to my TV since my TV has a builtin QAM tuner. This is an easier test than using the HDHomerun.

What I got was the output modulated on channel 3. However as what the above poster noted the output is the downconverted HD signal and is an Analog signal. This is what I suspect the blog writer actually found. I currently have been using this method to record my TV anyhow except using the S-video outputs of the STB.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-02-2007, 01:17 PM
GbrNole GbrNole is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by m1abrams View Post
I tested this with my SA 4250HD which also has an RF output. I connected the output to my TV since my TV has a builtin QAM tuner. This is an easier test than using the HDHomerun.

What I got was the output modulated on channel 3. However as what the above poster noted the output is the downconverted HD signal and is an Analog signal. This is what I suspect the blog writer actually found. I currently have been using this method to record my TV anyhow except using the S-video outputs of the STB.
how good is the quality of the hd recordings using svideo into sage? iis it comparable to dvd quality or does the cable box do a lousy job of downconverting?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-02-2007, 01:52 PM
m1abrams's Avatar
m1abrams m1abrams is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by GbrNole View Post
how good is the quality of the hd recordings using svideo into sage? iis it comparable to dvd quality or does the cable box do a lousy job of downconverting?
It is better than the analog version, and some shows are in letterbox format and by tweaking one of the aspect ratios I can fill my 16:9 TV panel without having bars.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:23 PM
dlandrum dlandrum is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 72
Encrypted SD -> SD Receiver -> HDHR = usable stream?

I stumbled onto this thread when searching for something else.

Summary: Tune to a channel on a SD receiver, the RF out coax feed is 480i QAM of that channel.
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?p=249428

Let's say this works with my cablebox ... I am at work and have not tried it.

I have 4xHDHR tuners and 2xPCI SD MPEG hardware encoders.
It seems this is a great find as one could remove thier PCI cards and get digitial recordings of all SD channels. Although it is not HD, it should be a better picture than the analog version we have today.

I can not think of a way to make this work without some Sage development.

We would need a way to:
1) IR blast the channel change even though this is a QAM tuner
2) Always tune to QAM channel "3" to get the stream


Query: When tuning to an HD channel, does the 5.1 sound get included with the downgraded 480i video?

* merged *
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lots of new HD content - but not in Sage! bialio General Discussion 23 10-17-2007 01:30 PM
HAVA content - 16:9 content is letter and pillar boxed by sage dwalton22 SageTV Software 14 10-16-2007 08:57 AM
Mad Props to Sage for HD on MediaMVP paulbeers SageTV Media Extender 28 05-24-2007 08:35 AM
Codec help for viewing HD content on MVP waynedunham SageTV Media Extender 17 04-30-2007 08:12 AM
How To: In-place recompression of Sage Recordings nielm SageTV Customizations 39 02-18-2006 11:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.