SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2008, 07:38 AM
OverClock OverClock is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 61
Angry How do you get rid of video preview thumbnails?

I have previously asked how to get rid of them and the steps offered did remove them when Sage is not running in service mode, but in service mode they are still there. Also with the latest version of Sage the icons that replace the thumbnails animate and scroll if there are several videos in the library folder. Is it possible to have no icons or thumbnails and to stop the scrolling of said icons and thumbnails when there are multiple video files in the folder?

Video thumbnails are pointless. All they show is commercials or credits or some other randomly useless image that conveys zero information. They constantly slow menus and cause stalls and stutters as Sage searches through dozens or hundreds of video files to find and extract the images for them. Also, with the default setting, thousands of jpg thumbnail files are generated and continuously build up adding to drive load, wasted space and drive fragmentation. I love Sage, couldn't live without it, but even a great product can have a bad idea. There is no point to thumbnails other than to look nifty and they are a constant drain on system resources.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2008, 08:38 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Why not just disable all the animations?

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2008, 11:25 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverClock View Post
I have previously asked how to get rid of them and the steps offered did remove them when Sage is not running in service mode, but in service mode they are still there.
Did you repeat those steps on SageClient.properties after enabling service mode?

Personally I like the thumbnails. They don't bog down my system, and it's not hard to adjust the video_thumbnail_extraction_time_offset_sec property to get useful images. As for fragmentation and wasted disk space, a thousand thumbnails add up to a few megabytes; that's peanuts compared to, say, my web browser cache, which contains tens of thousands of files and hundreds of megabytes.

But if you don't like thumbnails, feel free to disable them; that's why they're optional.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2008, 11:30 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
If you disabled them in non-service mode, then do the same for service mode, but using sageclient.properties.

If you don't want the animations, there are some settings in Detailed Setup -> General -> Animation Options. Among them is one to turn off thumbnail transitions. (Those options used to be in the Customizations section & moved as of v6.3.8.) They now use the core animations system, so the animations should use much less cpu time, unless you have 3D Acceleration disabled.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2008, 01:36 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverClock View Post
Video thumbnails are pointless. All they show is commercials or credits or some other randomly useless image that conveys zero information. They constantly slow menus and cause stalls and stutters as Sage searches through dozens or hundreds of video files to find and extract the images for them. Also, with the default setting, thousands of jpg thumbnail files are generated and continuously build up adding to drive load, wasted space and drive fragmentation. I love Sage, couldn't live without it, but even a great product can have a bad idea. There is no point to thumbnails other than to look nifty and they are a constant drain on system resources.
NOTE: you can use my VideoEdit plugin to select the exact frame you want for the thumbnail without needing to edit the property file it doesn't use that property to generate the thumbnail.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV: SageMC 16x9 Version 6.x (latest dev build) dflachbart SageMC Custom Interface 6112 04-04-2008 11:16 PM
Media Center Video Thumbnails Karen0302 SageTV Software 1 10-05-2007 04:14 AM
2nd problem I can't get to work. Imported Video thumbnails... mrrrl SageTV Beta Test Software 10 10-12-2006 08:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.