SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:40 PM
dooferlad's Avatar
dooferlad dooferlad is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 165
Jumping in 6.3.10

Is anyone else experiencing Sage sort of fast forwarding for a fraction of a second while watching recordings? I can watch the same files in VLC with no issues at all, but for some strange reason Sage keeps skipping forward.

I have tried setting my heap size to 512b, the recordings are on a drive with 64k clusters and my machine is more than up to the task (Athlon 64 4000+ with 2Gb RAM and a Radeon 2400 Pro graphics card).

This started happening with the latest RC (I think - I may have skipped one).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2008, 09:27 AM
AzJazz's Avatar
AzJazz AzJazz is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 237
Yeah, I saw that, too.

That's why I retrograded back to the last official release (6.3.5). My wife already thinks I spend too much time at the computer (she's right), and I didn't want to fool around debugging 6.3.10.

Does anyone know if this has been submitted as a potential bug for 6.3.10 yet?

FWIW, I am running WinXP SP2, with an ATI TV Wonder HD-650 Combo USB tuner.

AzJazz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:04 AM
dooferlad's Avatar
dooferlad dooferlad is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 165
I guess the question then becomes has the database format changed? I don't really want to lose a couple of days of recordings (and indeed have to sift through them to find out which ones I need to manually delete).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2008, 12:30 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Please submit a bug report on this: http://sagetv.com/bugs.html
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:39 PM
AzJazz's Avatar
AzJazz AzJazz is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Please submit a bug report on this: http://sagetv.com/bugs.html
Done.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2008, 01:03 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by dooferlad View Post
Is anyone else experiencing Sage sort of fast forwarding for a fraction of a second while watching recordings?
I get this as well, maybe 0.5 of a second.

Regards,

Nick.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2008, 03:59 PM
dooferlad's Avatar
dooferlad dooferlad is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 165
reclock

If you install reclock (I am using 1.7 beta 4) the problem goes away (or at least it does for me). This implies the problem is shoddy clocking in my sound card. I don't know if this will help anyone else, but it may be worth a go.

Before installing reclock I would recommend backing up. I have had problems uninstalling it in the past. It looks like 1.7b4 does solve some of these problems, but it isn't being maintained so you are unlikely to get any help with it.

My other recommendation is turning the audio resampling quality up to at least "good". Medium can sound really bad. I am running it on "very good" and I can't hear any distortion.

For the record it would seem that when I changed sound card the problem started. I upgraded sage a day earlier, but didn't notice the skipping for a few days. We had guests over at the time and only watched a bit of a DVD in WinDVD, which didn't exhibit the problem. I have since noticed that Nero Showtime does the skipping thing without reclock installed, though oddly reclock doesn't seem to be active while using Showtime. Very strange, but at least I have a solution!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to avoid jumping to end of recording in progress? tmiranda SageTV Software 5 07-25-2006 04:45 PM
SageTV 4.1.3: live tv video is jumping up and down nelis SageTV Software 0 12-28-2005 03:47 PM
DVD playback jumping around etk29321 SageTV Software 0 06-10-2005 07:28 AM
Sage 2.1 RC5: Picture jumping up and down pseudorandom SageTV Beta Test Software 1 10-22-2004 10:23 PM
Jumping in Guide mode PeteInSF SageTV Beta Test Software 3 07-31-2003 08:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.