SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations > Batch Metadata Tools

Notices

Batch Metadata Tools This forums is for discussing the user-created Batch Metadata Tools for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2401  
Old 07-12-2010, 01:59 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsean View Post
I guess I should have said the "Preserve Metadata" setting is unchecked i guess. . .

Ok I'll let you know what happens next. I just started doing the updates again.
One thing that I'd like to ask for though is that Disc number should be allowed to have N of N (e.g. 1 of 4), and Episode Number the same, since there aren't specific tools for DVDs of a series.
Yeah, I have an open issue for DVD TV series.
Reply With Quote
  #2402  
Old 07-13-2010, 11:46 AM
soulprops77's Avatar
soulprops77 soulprops77 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 186
I was wondering if anyone is using BMT in conjunction with My Movies.

I've been experimenting with MM and I like it, but it doesn't handle TV shows at all. . .

I would ideally like to use BMT for TV and MM for movies. Is anyone doing this?

Thanks,
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2403  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:55 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Since you've posted this in the 3.1 area... i'm assuming your are, in fact, running the 3.1 version. I think that even in 3.1 (although I can't really recall), you can configure BMT to work on TV or Movies, or both. If not, then in the 4.x releases you can actually tell BMT to only scan TV files.
Reply With Quote
  #2404  
Old 08-04-2010, 01:07 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Sean,

What's the last version of BMT you support in Sage 6.6? I'm at 3.1. BMT on my server has suddenly decided that whether by plugin or the browser interface, when you do a find Metadata on a movie or TV show and save it, it refuses to write the found backgrounds and posters to the fanart folder even though I have made no permission changes.... It will write to disk the first poster it finds on IMDB and nothing else. If I specify MovieDB only in the search and find backgrounds and posters, it won't write them to the fanart directory. The UI coughs up no errors. It's configured to write to mailcheck.log for logging, but I see no mention of BMT anywhere in that file...

Tnx

-Steve
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1

Last edited by SteveW; 08-04-2010 at 01:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2405  
Old 08-06-2010, 06:02 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Ok, so I have dug deeper. I can still pull fanart for TV Shows, whether they are movies or not, automatically.

However, my DVDs and BluRays... When I do a "Find" on the metatdata in the UI, everytime it finds 1 poster and no backgrounds from IMDB, and a bunch of posters and backgrounds from themoviedb. But when I click on save, it will ONLY save what is found at IMDB - the one poster. This has only become a problem in the last few days....
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #2406  
Old 08-09-2010, 09:29 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveW View Post
Ok, so I have dug deeper. I can still pull fanart for TV Shows, whether they are movies or not, automatically.

However, my DVDs and BluRays... When I do a "Find" on the metatdata in the UI, everytime it finds 1 poster and no backgrounds from IMDB, and a bunch of posters and backgrounds from themoviedb. But when I click on save, it will ONLY save what is found at IMDB - the one poster. This has only become a problem in the last few days....
Steve, I'm not sure why it would only write the imdb poster, and my only thought is that perhaps the download links from the themoviedb is wrong. I think themoviedb upgraded it's xml protocol a few months back, and I've put those changes in the 4.x (sage 7) release.
Reply With Quote
  #2407  
Old 08-09-2010, 01:55 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Steve, I'm not sure why it would only write the imdb poster, and my only thought is that perhaps the download links from the themoviedb is wrong. I think themoviedb upgraded it's xml protocol a few months back, and I've put those changes in the 4.x (sage 7) release.
No problem then. I'll just sit tight until 7 becomes available non-beta and I can switch to BMT 4. I'll do it the old fashioned way in the meantime...
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #2408  
Old 01-14-2011, 10:36 AM
n9cqs n9cqs is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 68
New to this thread: question

Greetings. I have been using SageTV since version 6 and love it. I am currently using SageTV7 with SageMC. The reason I am looking at this plug-in is I regularly download videos from websites, or scrape them from podcasts, and would like to be able to insert them into the SageTV listing of recorded TV shows. The shows are somewhat non-standard and would probably not be in the on-line databases available. Is there a way to provide for a custom database (like on a local LAN webserver) or run the program from the command line after the import to specifically "inject" the program information? (I use webfeedencoder - and love it - when these things are available in streams).

I can accomplish this with with the Neilm webserver interface on a manual basis, but was looking for some way to do it automatically.

Thanks in advance for any information.

Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #2409  
Old 01-14-2011, 01:38 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by n9cqs View Post
Greetings. I have been using SageTV since version 6 and love it. I am currently using SageTV7 with SageMC. The reason I am looking at this plug-in is I regularly download videos from websites, or scrape them from podcasts, and would like to be able to insert them into the SageTV listing of recorded TV shows. The shows are somewhat non-standard and would probably not be in the on-line databases available. Is there a way to provide for a custom database (like on a local LAN webserver) or run the program from the command line after the import to specifically "inject" the program information? (I use webfeedencoder - and love it - when these things are available in streams).

I can accomplish this with with the Neilm webserver interface on a manual basis, but was looking for some way to do it automatically.

Thanks in advance for any information.

Jeff
Well, unfortunately, there isn't an easy way to do this, since you'd need to have some java experience and write a plugin for bmt that adds a new metadata provider.
Reply With Quote
  #2410  
Old 09-05-2011, 10:26 AM
BKeadle BKeadle is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 175
Do I understand correctly that by simply changing the Date/Time stamp of a media file is enough for SageTV to re-read metadata information and update it's database? Is chaning the time stamp by only 1 second enough to effect a change, or would it take a full minute? I'm working on a utility that will enable me to "bump" the time stamp of a media file in order to effect a "Sage media information update"

...TIME PASSES...

I see I kinda re-created the wheel here, as you have a command line ability to do this, but my solution is at least GUI based and a SendTo extension so I can point to file/folders and bump the time of the media file by only 1 minutes (instead of current time) so as to reasonably preserve the time of the recording by file timestamp.

However, I'd like to incorporate a refresh, and I can't seem to get it to work. Here's what I did at the command line:
Code:
java -jar MetadataTool.jar --touch V:\Videos\Drobo2\Recordings\_TVShows\Fringe
Batch MetaData Tools (3.1)
Touched File(s)
And I confirm that the file timestamp was updated to current time.

But then I issue:
Code:
MetaDataRefresh.cmd V:\Videos\Drobo2\Recordings\_TVShows\Fringe
Batch MetaData Tools (3.1)


MetaData Stats...
Auto Updated: 0; Auto Failed: 0; Manual Updated:0; Manual Skipped: 0;
And it would appear that nothing was done.

Thoughts?

Last edited by BKeadle; 09-05-2011 at 03:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2411  
Old 09-05-2011, 03:53 PM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
The BMT UI has a update metadaata ability that causes the SageTV to refresh meta data.
Reply With Quote
  #2412  
Old 09-05-2011, 03:56 PM
BKeadle BKeadle is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 175
Yes, it does, but I'm trying to be more granular, selective by folder - particularly for development, as a rescan of my entire library is a long process, and to be able to work against a single folder would be most helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #2413  
Old 09-05-2011, 04:04 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
If you have an existing imported sageTV media file, changing time/date stamp wont do anything if you keep the same media file name. You have to change the name. Even if you change the name, that wont trigger an automatic sageTV media file scan.

I currently have my sageTV setup to automatically do a sageTV media file scan when a file is added to renamed in my sageTV media folders. I did this by installing a directory scan tool. My favorite directory scan tool is directoryWatch. I just tell it to execute the below sageTV webserver interface command to do a media file scan using wget:

C:\PROGRA~1\COMMAN~1\wget.exe --tries=3 --directory-prefix="C:\Program Files\Command line" --no-check-certificate "https://usernameassword@mysageTVserver:8090/sage/GlobalCommand?command=UpdateMediaLibrary"

It works perfectly. As soon as a rename or add a media file to my sageTV media folder(s), sageTV does a scan and respectively downloads/updates fanart/metadata.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKeadle View Post
Do I understand correctly that by simply changing the Date/Time stamp of a media file is enough for SageTV to re-read metadata information and update it's database? Is chaning the time stamp by only 1 second enough to effect a change, or would it take a full minute? I'm working on a utility that will enable me to "bump" the time stamp of a media file in order to effect a "Sage media information update"

...TIME PASSES...

I see I kinda re-created the wheel here, as you have a command line ability to do this, but my solution is at least GUI based and a SendTo extension so I can point to file/folders and bump the time of the media file by only 1 minutes (instead of current time) so as to reasonably preserve the time of the recording by file timestamp.

However, I'd like to incorporate a refresh, and I can't seem to get it to work. Here's what I did at the command line:
Code:
java -jar MetadataTool.jar --touch V:\Videos\Drobo2\Recordings\_TVShows\Fringe
Batch MetaData Tools (3.1)
Touched File(s)
And I confirm that the file timestamp was updated to current time.

But then I issue:
Code:
MetaDataRefresh.cmd V:\Videos\Drobo2\Recordings\_TVShows\Fringe
Batch MetaData Tools (3.1)


MetaData Stats...
Auto Updated: 0; Auto Failed: 0; Manual Updated:0; Manual Skipped: 0;
And it would appear that nothing was done.

Thoughts?
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #2414  
Old 09-05-2011, 04:12 PM
BKeadle BKeadle is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 175
Are you sure about that? My preliminary testing suggests that bumping the time stamp by one minute effects a new read of the metadata. I only "know" to do this based on this thread:
Quote:
If the metadata in the properties file changes, you'll need to update the time stamp on its media file so SageTV sees that the media file is newer & reimports it during the next library import directory scan.
I do like/appreciate the wget command you provided. That could be useful. However, I don't know that I'd want to do a entire media scan for a single rename event - what if 5 files get renamed in a particular session - will that kick off 5 rescans for each renamed file? I'd really only need to rescan once for the 5 files renamed.

Last edited by BKeadle; 09-05-2011 at 04:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2415  
Old 09-05-2011, 05:48 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
Changing the time/date stamp doesnt work for me no matter what I do; it never has. All I do currently is delete the respective properties file and rename the media file. Doing an "entire" media scan only takes a few seconds for me. I haven't been motivated to look for another way since the method I use works so well. I'm curious to know how you get it to work with just a timestamp change; keeping the same file name. Good luck!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKeadle View Post
Are you sure about that? My preliminary testing suggests that bumping the time stamp by one minute effects a new read of the metadata. I only "know" to do this based on this thread:


I do like/appreciate the wget command you provided. That could be useful. However, I don't know that I'd want to do a entire media scan for a single rename event - what if 5 files get renamed in a particular session - will that kick off 5 rescans for each renamed file? I'd really only need to rescan once for the 5 files renamed.
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #2416  
Old 09-06-2011, 07:44 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKeadle View Post
Yes, it does, but I'm trying to be more granular, selective by folder - particularly for development, as a rescan of my entire library is a long process, and to be able to work against a single folder would be most helpful.
Just to be clear... when you use the Tools -> Refresh menu in BMT (or the wget url that mkanet posted), sagetv does doesn't do a full re-scan... what it does is look for new media that has been added/changed, and then process those files. On my system, invoking that command when nothing has changed, takes a couple of seconds on my system. There is a way to have sagetv re-process ALL files, but that requires two steps. I just wanted you to be clear that a "re-scan" in this sense is really just an diff scan.

@mkanet - if you change the filestamp on a mediafile (even by a few seconds) and then tell sagetv to re-scan, it will determine that that files has changed, and reload any new .properties that with the mediafile.
Reply With Quote
  #2417  
Old 09-20-2011, 08:03 PM
toedrag toedrag is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
I realize I'm a bit late to the metadata party, but I'm just now getting around to playing with this. The download link (http://customsagetv.googlecode.com/f...pdater-3.1.zip) appears to be dead, and I'm having trouble locating the zip file elsewhere. Can someone repost it? TIA. And apologies if this is a n00bish request. I spent time trying to find it and came up empty.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV Import: Read & Write Metadata files for Default STV 5/6 (v2.2.9 18/Feb./2010) JREkiwi SageTV Customizations 251 10-09-2019 11:11 AM
Automated VideoRedo (DOS batch files) grauchy SageTV Customizations 3 09-08-2011 10:01 PM
Simple utility to control multiple USB or Serial HD DirecTV STBs jchiso Hardware Support 15 02-19-2009 06:27 PM
DVB-S setup with Digiguide EPG Grabber & XMLTV importer MCE-Refugee SageTV United Kingdom 27 09-08-2008 09:10 AM
Keeping custom metadata for imports via AddShow() Opus4 SageTV Studio 9 02-20-2008 06:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.