SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2008, 12:15 AM
markdm markdm is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
DirecTV D12-300 STB Help

Hi,
I'm new here, and this is my first post. I did a search and couldn't seem to find the info I need.

My problem is this: I just got direcTV installed, I have the D12-300 STB, I can watch TV, but can't change the channel unless I use the remote for the DTV STB, which then makes the guide useless and I can't record anything except the channel I left the STB on.

Is there a way to control the channels with my wintv PVR1800 & sageTV 6.3.10? or one of the beta's??

If there are links on how to do this, that would be great as well. I'm very new to the PVR/DVR setup on my computer, so please explain if you can.

Thank you...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2008, 03:33 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
Buy one of these: http://www.patersontech.com/products...ranslator.aspx
If you need a serial port and have a free USB port, I would buy a Bafo BF-810. It uses the same driver as the PatersonTech Device.

After installing this, you will be able to change the channels via serial tuning.

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-25-2008, 11:27 AM
markdm markdm is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjenkins View Post
Buy one of these: http://www.patersontech.com/products...ranslator.aspx
If you need a serial port and have a free USB port, I would buy a Bafo BF-810. It uses the same driver as the PatersonTech Device.

After installing this, you will be able to change the channels via serial tuning.

B
Thank You bcjenkins,
Thats exactly what I was looking for, something simple and easy to plug in. Funny thing is, I called DirecTV and asked them about the USB connection on the back of my D12-300 and they told me it was for future use, wasn't hooked up yet, and had no other info on it at this time.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STB and Cabling to maximize SageTV Media Extender Experience johnwmreed Hardware Support 3 06-17-2008 03:19 PM
HIP 1600 Remote/Changing Channels on DirecTV STB txcde Hardware Support 1 10-17-2007 04:31 PM
Controlling a STB?? jefnert Hardware Support 3 10-06-2007 08:29 PM
Directv D12 Receiver and Direct dll compatible??? wags119 Hardware Support 0 06-05-2007 08:07 PM
STB not changing channels? Steve52 Hardware Support 0 03-31-2006 05:46 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.