SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2008, 09:21 AM
bmac.to bmac.to is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 125
Zalman remote or Hauppauge remote

Everyone,

I have a Zalman case (160XT) that came with a remote and some remote software and a nice integrated IR receiver. My tuner is the HVR-2250 which also came with a remote and an external IR receiver. I am running Vista Ultimate 64-bit. The Zalman manual states the remote is MCE-compatible and in MCE, it appears to work fine without setting anything up.

In SageTV, I select MCE-remote and the Zalman remote does not work well at all - several buttons do nothing, a couple of buttons do work, and a couple of them start MCE.

I have avoided installing the Hauppauge remote as I would much rather use the integrated IR receiver.

If the Zalman remote is indeed MCE-compatible, shouldn't it work perfectly with Sage? Has anyone got the Zalman remote to work with Sage? Should I just switch over to the Hauppauge remote?

Thanks.
________
CHRYSLER UCONNECT

Last edited by bmac.to; 03-21-2011 at 05:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2008, 05:56 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmac.to View Post
Everyone,

I have a Zalman case (160XT) that came with a remote and some remote software and a nice integrated IR receiver. My tuner is the HVR-2250 which also came with a remote and an external IR receiver. I am running Vista Ultimate 64-bit. The Zalman manual states the remote is MCE-compatible and in MCE, it appears to work fine without setting anything up.

In SageTV, I select MCE-remote and the Zalman remote does not work well at all - several buttons do nothing, a couple of buttons do work, and a couple of them start MCE.

I have avoided installing the Hauppauge remote as I would much rather use the integrated IR receiver.

If the Zalman remote is indeed MCE-compatible, shouldn't it work perfectly with Sage? Has anyone got the Zalman remote to work with Sage? Should I just switch over to the Hauppauge remote?

Thanks.
Not necessarily. I believe the IR receiver needs to show up in device manager as an ehome receiver. If it shows up as another receiver or needs it own set of drivers it won't necessarily work as a MCE remote in Sage.
Also take a look at New MCE remote softwarethis may or may not work for you. Also check out EventGhost, HIP, Girder and other 3rd party remote control software that may work with the Zalman. I believe it actually uses the iMon software and drivers to be MCE-compatible so it may not actually be detected as a MCE remote.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2008, 06:43 AM
bmac.to bmac.to is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 125
You are correct - I do not believe the Zalman remote was functioning as a MCE remote within Sage.

I figured out some aspects of the Zalman software last night (the manual seems to be a direct Korean to English translation and as such is a bit hard to follow). I can load different remote-control settings for whatever program is run and since nothing was setup for Sage, who knows what it was trying to do.

I have begun setting up a "remote setting" for Sage and it is working well. Since it is entirely manual for each remote button, I'll finish the setup tonight.

Thanks.
________
Healthy Relationship Advice Advice

Last edited by bmac.to; 03-21-2011 at 05:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2008, 12:26 PM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 273
Late to this thread but is any of the iMon configuration in a format that can be shared?
I am in the process of changing my SageTV computer - removing the Microsoft Remote Dongle and attempting to use the iMon in my Silverstone case as the replacement.
So any help that can be offered would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks ...
Dwight
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2008, 12:41 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
If you're using iMon I'm pretty sure you need a 3rd party software. Something like Girder or Eventghost. I think Girder may of had an iMon plugin. Eventghost doesn't. You may want to think about plugging the Micorsoft receiver back in.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hauppauge 45 button remote. Some buttons not working. John@TunerUK Hardware Support 1 12-10-2007 10:59 AM
Linux and Hauppauge PVR 150 Remote gossman SageTV Placeshifter 0 06-08-2007 07:25 PM
Bought new Hauppauge remote, now having problems supernoob Hardware Support 1 02-26-2006 01:10 PM
Hauppauge remote with an Irman receiver? dnlmln Hardware Support 2 02-25-2006 10:54 PM
Hauppauge remote - same key, different results Ken C Hardware Support 3 12-13-2005 10:29 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.