SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2009, 05:28 PM
vividweb vividweb is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 399
HD playback with ATI 4670

I have an ATI 4670 in my main desktop and want to start using it for SageTV. I have only the Arcsoft software installed on the machine and it plays back HD-PVR recordings perfectly. However I cannot get good playback of H.264 content recorded with my Genpix DVB card. The files will playback perfectly using the arcsoft player (software that came with the HD-PVR) and using Windows Media Player, but stutter and are un-watchable in SageTV.

I have added the following lines into the properties file on the client machine:

videoframe/h264_video_decoder_filter=ArcSoft Video Decoder
videoframe/ac3_audio_decoder_filter=AC3Filter
videoframe/audio_decoder_filter=ArcSoft Audio Decoder HD
videoframe/audio_render_filter=Default DirectSound Device
videoframe/video_decoder_filter=ArcSoft Video Decoder

always_use_dshow_player=true

The drivers are using DXVA (with windows XP) as I"m getting very little CPU utilization when the files are playing. The file will play for a 30 seconds or so, then will stutter, then play fine again for a while. The CPU does not change when the stuttering starts. Anyone have any suggestions?
__________________

Sage Server: i5-2500K 8 GB DDR, 6000gb HDD, 4xHD-PVR < 4xBell 6141, Win7 x64
Client 1: HD-200, Panasonic 42PX75
Client 2: HD-300, Samsung LCD
Client 3: HD-300, Samsung PN50C550
Client 4: MS Surface Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2009, 06:59 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
Have you tried setting this to false?
always_use_dshow_player=false
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2009, 11:24 PM
vividweb vividweb is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 399
yep. makes no difference at all.
__________________

Sage Server: i5-2500K 8 GB DDR, 6000gb HDD, 4xHD-PVR < 4xBell 6141, Win7 x64
Client 1: HD-200, Panasonic 42PX75
Client 2: HD-300, Samsung LCD
Client 3: HD-300, Samsung PN50C550
Client 4: MS Surface Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2009, 07:24 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
Are you sure the DVB card is creating h.264 files? You can use something like tsMuxer to check it. If it is mpeg2 HD then you are playing with the wrong settings.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2009, 08:39 AM
vividweb vividweb is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 399
I am sure it is an h.264 file. Sage identifies it as MPEG2-TS[H.264 1080i].

Media info gives the following result:
Format : MPEG-TS at 7 647 Kbps
Length : 5 GiB for 1h 29mn 44s 156ms
Video #0 : AVC at 6 732 Kbps
Aspect : 1440 x 1080 (1.778) at 29.970 fps
Audio #0 : AC-3 at 384 Kbps
Infos : 6 channels, 48.0 KHz
__________________

Sage Server: i5-2500K 8 GB DDR, 6000gb HDD, 4xHD-PVR < 4xBell 6141, Win7 x64
Client 1: HD-200, Panasonic 42PX75
Client 2: HD-300, Samsung LCD
Client 3: HD-300, Samsung PN50C550
Client 4: MS Surface Pro

Last edited by vividweb; 04-05-2009 at 08:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:26 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 227
have you used graphedit to see exactly which audio/video decoders your system is using to playback the files when not using Sage?

What version of Sage are you using? There is an updated mpeg demuxer in the last few beta versions that solved some playback problems for me (my issues were related to time sync when skipping through recordings). It may be worth trying the latest beta if you aren't already on it.

-Striker-
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
4670, playback


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with 1080i playback (Ati 4550 & Cyberlink decoder). Deinterlacing issue? Spartan SageTV Software 11 04-02-2009 07:06 AM
settings & decoder for ATI 4670 card xj-boonie SageTV Software 4 12-02-2008 01:37 AM
ATI to Offer HD Playback with Linux bjterry62 Hardware Support 0 09-02-2008 01:56 PM
Which ATI Card for HD Sage Playback djseto Hardware Support 1 03-09-2008 07:38 PM
Success in Playback with ATI AIW???? davedelite General Discussion 5 04-02-2003 08:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.