SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2009, 02:08 PM
Big Jeff Big Jeff is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 52
A good HD PVR experience.

I picked up an HDPVR from dell at a killer 165 bux and my experience of setting it up with windows 7, sage .16 beta, has been pleasant to say the least. I thought I was in for more of a fight. Which is a good thing as I faithfully read these forums, and there are a lot of peeps struggling with getting it to work right. I consider myself lucky in that respect.

I DO have some quirks, and they are entirely livable with, but I am curious if anyone else has had and if they are fixable.

- Slow hauppauge remote control through the front panel of the HD PVR, blaster seems fine. Basically it doesn't register some of the button presses if I press to fast. Just seems real sluggish comparing it to my cable box guide. IS there a setting I can Would an MCE remote work better? If it does, can I use an MCE remote with the HD PVR's built in ir blaster.

-1/2 hour channel change (To the same channel) makes for an interesting time. I understand the channel change will be slow, but the looping sound I here is rather annoying through the 5 or so second change. Wife is not very fond of it either. Any way to improve this?

Outside of these couple things I finally, after many years of experimentation with various cards and versions of Sage, have an almost near perfect PVR setup. I am completely happy about that since I barely watch any Standard Def tv programs anymore. I limit myself to those channels that are HD. To me Std Def tv doesn't look right on my 52" LCD. Weird I know. If the cable company had an HD only option I would pick it and loose all my other channels. The only real station now I want to go to HD is Cartoon Network.
__________________
My HD HTPC: Antech Fusion Black w/VHD, GA-MA78GPM-DS2H MB, Integrated ATI Radeon HD3200 HDMI out w/HDCP, HD audio, 4 gigs DDR2 1066 ram, AMD Phenom II x4 940. HD-PVR. Samsung 52" LCD.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2009, 09:15 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Jeff View Post
- Slow hauppauge remote control through the front panel of the HD PVR, blaster seems fine. Basically it doesn't register some of the button presses if I press to fast. Just seems real sluggish comparing it to my cable box guide. IS there a setting I can Would an MCE remote work better? If it does, can I use an MCE remote with the HD PVR's built in ir blaster.
if you're refferring to using the HDPVR to drive the STB.... i would skip that and set up firewire channel changing... my channel changes are rocksolid and never miss a beat.... there's a thread somewhere on here that details the steps.... took me a couple hours but well worth it

Quote:
-1/2 hour channel change (To the same channel) makes for an interesting time. I understand the channel change will be slow, but the looping sound I here is rather annoying through the 5 or so second change. Wife is not very fond of it either. Any way to improve this?
no idea... sorry...dont know if ive ever experienced that although cant say ive gone looking for it either...

Quote:
I am completely happy about that since I barely watch any Standard Def tv programs anymore. I limit myself to those channels that are HD. To me Std Def tv doesn't look right on my 52" LCD. Weird I know. If the cable company had an HD only option I would pick it and loose all my other channels. The only real station now I want to go to HD is Cartoon Network.
totally 100% agree. and not weird at all sd looks like @*!&$# on my 50" plasma

on a side note i too have very few problems with my HDPVR... it needs to be rebooted about once a month and i record in 5.1 spdif fixed 1080i from the stb but other than the rebooting its been rock solid... just upgraded to the latest drivers (1.5.6.0)... lets hope voodooo juice keeps flowing
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2009, 11:40 PM
Big Jeff Big Jeff is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
if you're refferring to using the HDPVR to drive the STB.... i would skip that and set up firewire channel changing... my channel changes are rocksolid and never miss a beat.... there's a thread somewhere on here that details the steps.... took me a couple hours but well worth it

no idea... sorry...dont know if ive ever experienced that although cant say ive gone looking for it either...

totally 100% agree. and not weird at all sd looks like @*!&$# on my 50" plasma

on a side note i too have very few problems with my HDPVR... it needs to be rebooted about once a month and i record in 5.1 spdif fixed 1080i from the stb but other than the rebooting its been rock solid... just upgraded to the latest drivers (1.5.6.0)... lets hope voodooo juice keeps flowing
firewire channel changing on Win7 x64 is a no go. Driver that are out for the STB's won't work with it. Anyone know of any STB x64 drivers?

Blaster seems to work fine. Its in a channel change where the video kinda stops and loops while its changing the channel. Its weird. It goes back to normal after the channel change. Anyone else see this?
__________________
My HD HTPC: Antech Fusion Black w/VHD, GA-MA78GPM-DS2H MB, Integrated ATI Radeon HD3200 HDMI out w/HDCP, HD audio, 4 gigs DDR2 1066 ram, AMD Phenom II x4 940. HD-PVR. Samsung 52" LCD.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:40 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
ahhh... didnt realize you were x64... i thought i read somewhere on here or over at avs... that someone is working x64 stb drivers
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2009, 07:12 AM
gibsonpa gibsonpa is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: STL, Mo
Posts: 202
I bought mine about 2-3 weeks ago from dell. It was rev D2.

Vista found the drivers and installed (1.0.5.301), and Sage found it no problem.

Was expecting lots of issues...but it has been recording 6-10 hours a day for the last 5-6 weeks with no lockups. Has been rock solid. Quite surprised actually.

I did not attempt to fiber audio, using RCA jacks. Also taped the ir sensor, plugged into USB on motherboard (no hub).

I was hoping to get the E revision...but after seeing how stable the D2 is for me, no big deal.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVR-350 Good TV Out? kaudley Hardware Support 5 02-13-2006 04:42 PM
Good Results from PVR-350 TV-Out with SageTV 3.05 mayamaniac Hardware Support 7 08-18-2005 11:04 AM
Anyone has experience with this PVR program? shhas General Discussion 9 01-20-2005 03:23 PM
PVR-350 or PVR-250/250MCE and good video card? Brent94Z Hardware Support 37 09-08-2004 10:20 AM
n00b experience in PVR land elneckio SageTV Software 7 11-14-2003 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.