SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2009, 11:08 AM
DFranch's Avatar
DFranch DFranch is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 332
How Is the Hauppauge HVR-2250?

I'm thinking of getting a 2250 to replace an old PVR-150 which is acting up. I see several complaints, have they been addressed? Also, since the tuners can be HD or Analog, does Sage deal with that or do I have to pick either analog or ATSC when I set it up? Thanks for any info!!
__________________
SERVER: Gigabyte EP45-UD3R | Intel Core 2 Duo 2.67 Ghz | Geforce 8500GT | 4 Gb Corsair DDR2 1066 |
2 Hauppauge HVR-2250 | Win 7 64-bit | Sage TV 6.6.2 | 1.6TB (4 Drives) |
Client: Sage TV STX-HD100 HD Extender
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2009, 11:12 AM
aflat aflat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 302
I just put in a 2250 to replace the PVR500, and it works great. I don't get any analog channels on FIOS, but the digital ones work just fine. No issues, no crashes, no nothing. It just works. It also looks a ton better then anything the PVR500 ever recorded.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2009, 11:44 AM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
I added a 2250 to 2 of the systems I support (see sig) and they both work great. I did have the record 2 analog problem, but after upgrading to a beta (can't remember what one) that was fixed and they work great. (you could look me up in post for the 2250, and see what I said, and when to get a idea)

You have to add them twice. Once as analog, and once as digital, I think. (maybe 4 times??? again, it was 6 months ago!) If you are replacing another of their tuners, make sure you run the hwclear (name?) software to clear all the old drivers out.

BTW, I had planned ahead, and had a 8 way amp inline, so there wasn't any signal strength issues.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2009, 12:22 PM
heatvent's Avatar
heatvent heatvent is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 258
Awesome!
__________________
SageTV 7.0.0.23, P5Q-EM Motherboard, 2.5Ghz Quad Core, Windows 7 x64, HVR-2250, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD, 2 HD-200 Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2009, 03:23 PM
DFranch's Avatar
DFranch DFranch is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
BTW, I had planned ahead, and had a 8 way amp inline, so there wasn't any signal strength issues.
Yeah, I just ordered a Channel Master 8 way distribution amp earlier today here. It replaces the crappy RCA one I've been using.

So Sage knows that if I am recording 2 hd shows using the 2250 it should not try to use the SD tuners in the 2250?
__________________
SERVER: Gigabyte EP45-UD3R | Intel Core 2 Duo 2.67 Ghz | Geforce 8500GT | 4 Gb Corsair DDR2 1066 |
2 Hauppauge HVR-2250 | Win 7 64-bit | Sage TV 6.6.2 | 1.6TB (4 Drives) |
Client: Sage TV STX-HD100 HD Extender

Last edited by DFranch; 07-14-2009 at 11:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 John.Kelly Hardware Support 7 12-23-2008 05:08 PM
Hauppauge 2250 HVR Issues joshabts Hardware Support 5 11-21-2008 07:09 AM
Using HVR-2250 with Other Hauppauge Tuners? mskitty666 Hardware Support 6 11-11-2008 11:47 AM
Hauppauge HVR-2250 MC Kit Problem Rafiki2085 Hardware Support 0 11-08-2008 12:33 PM
HDHomeRun or Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 scat Hardware Support 3 09-23-2008 04:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.