SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2010, 01:03 PM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Play File option from SageMC?

Anybody out there planning on adding the option that SageMC had in the video section to play a video file from a drive letter/folder other than the import section? We used that quite often to play videos either downloaded but not in our movies folder, or to play videos from my camera (without having to import, since our sd reader is on my desktop, not the server PC).

It was under options once you went under Videos, Play Other File I think it was...
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2010, 01:19 PM
PAF PAF is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 48
+1 to this option
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2010, 02:38 PM
skyeclad skyeclad is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NY DMA
Posts: 441
It's there, off the Main menu, under SEARCH.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2010, 02:41 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
That function got moved into the options menu in the video library, but it's definitely still there.

Aloha,
Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2010, 02:46 PM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
Then it's extremely well hidden. I was looking for that yesterday as well, but couldn't find it (trying to right click on all kind of controls, but no success...)

Anyhow, the Search item sounds more logical to me for this. Would be nice, if it got moved there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2010, 03:00 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
The function was available in the default stv in v6. It's still available in v7. Go to search on the main menu, press right and then select browse file system. Not exactly hidden.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2010, 03:17 PM
calbaby calbaby is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pacifica
Posts: 25
I've noticed that if you try to open files this way it is way slower than if you added files via the "import" function. Does anyone else have similar experience?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2010, 08:12 PM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Cool, will check it out when I get home from this server upgrade job. Didn't know it was available in the default 6.x.x STV either..
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2010, 10:35 PM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade View Post
The function was available in the default stv in v6. It's still available in v7. Go to search on the main menu, press right and then select browse file system. Not exactly hidden.
I don't know anything about the default stv, never used it. But I found the option now, though unfortunately there's no option to specify a path via typing (as in SageMC), unless I missed this also. Browsing the file system is kind of slow...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2010, 06:18 AM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
For everyone that says it's slow are you guys using a PC client or extender? I just tried it for the first time in v7 on my HD200 and it was as fast as if I was sitting at the server browsing them locally.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-22-2010, 09:56 AM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
I use a PC (which is not low end). Once I click on the browse local file system button the circle starts for ~2 seconds.

Again I don't mind that too much, but having an option to enter a full path would be nice.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dont have option to play all music bug still present bastafidli SageTV Beta Test Software 4 05-20-2010 11:54 PM
Browse and Play Other Video File - Option Missing glparker4 SageMC Custom Interface 2 04-26-2009 10:41 AM
Where is the mp4 option in SageMC ? squeed SageMC Custom Interface 0 08-16-2008 01:04 PM
Is there a file explorer option anywhere? ChuckSchick SageTV Customizations 1 11-06-2007 12:23 PM
Lost Play Video Option GlennPT SageTV Customizations 0 08-08-2006 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.