SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2010, 04:05 PM
BitBass BitBass is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 84
Multiple DirecTV STB's through HDPVRs?

I'm about to pull the trigger on going with this configuration and in looking through other's success with this I've found very little. Is anyone doing this? There seem to be some issues with multiple IR blasters but that's ok as I'd rather use USB anyway. However, the USB control for DirecTV also seems to be a bit challenging.

So, is anyone actually doing this and if you are can you share specifics of how you got things setup and working?

I'm running Win7 with the latest Sage7 beta and I also have an HDHR with both antennas active.
__________________

Win7 VM -4gb ram
Ubuntu 14.04 VM -4gb ram (attempting with OS v9)
3 extenders through the house
Plex integration
HDHR
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2010, 06:35 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,719
I have 4 DTV boxes with HD-PVRs. I use the serial control with a 4-port serial card in the server and Serial-USB adapters to the DTV boxes. I'm using XP with Sage 7 and it has been working well for since the HD-PVRs came out. I have never used the IR blaster that comes with the HD-PVR and haven't used any IR blasting since moving to DirecTV.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2010, 07:34 PM
monetteboy monetteboy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
I've got 5 HD-PVR's and 5 HR-23's working fine (finally after figuring out I had a bad PVR). I use the usb/serial control with a patterson cable on each one, no IR.

I am running Win 7 64-bit and the latest Sage 7 beta. Everything works great! If you have any specific questions I will help best I can.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2010, 09:39 PM
Olias's Avatar
Olias Olias is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 177
I've only got two H23's each with a HD-PVR, plus a PCI ATSC tuner and a HDHR.
I don't use IR either. One H23 is controlled by a Patterson cable, the other by a generic serial to USB cable. Both solutions work equally well.

The only annoying issue I've had is when an update was pushed to the H23's and channel changing stopped working. Had to perform a hard reset (pushing the red button) on each tuner to bring it back.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
directv, hdpvr, sage7, usb, win7


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage losing communication with HDPVRs srothwell Hardware Support 5 03-18-2010 09:59 AM
Directv multiple tuners Wakecrash SageTV EPG Service 1 02-22-2010 10:24 PM
Easiest method for controlling DirecTV STB's? uggie SageTV Linux 6 11-27-2008 11:02 PM
Multiple DirecTV boxes. KRKeegan Hardware Support 2 03-30-2005 06:42 PM
Multiple DirecTV support KJake SageTV Beta Test Software 1 04-13-2004 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.