SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2016, 10:56 PM
robind robind is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 60
Adding the (year) to show title, or NOT

I'm guessing that it is Phoenix or BMT that is adding the (year) to the show titles in my Sage setup, but I haven't found any options for controlling it. Is there a way to turn it off?

I wouldn't mind it if it were consistent, but there are times when some episodes of the same show will get the year added to the title some time after the recording is finished, and other episodes that don't get it. That results in them being separated in two groups in the recordings list, which drives me nuts. I had this issue with sage v7 and also now with v9.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2016, 06:24 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by robind View Post
I'm guessing that it is Phoenix or BMT that is adding the (year) to the show titles in my Sage setup, but I haven't found any options for controlling it. Is there a way to turn it off?

I wouldn't mind it if it were consistent, but there are times when some episodes of the same show will get the year added to the title some time after the recording is finished, and other episodes that don't get it. That results in them being separated in two groups in the recordings list, which drives me nuts. I had this issue with sage v7 and also now with v9.
It could be, BMT/Phoenix, if you are using Gemstone/Phoenix UI to view stuff... But that "title" is actually stored in a different field, called MediaTitle. If this is for TV... then it could be a couple things going on... Some shows will start having the Year in the title, as it comes from TVDB, and as such that is the title that Phoenix/Gemstone will show. If you get some shows with and without a year, it could be that those shows didn't pass the metadata lookup for whatever reason. You can use the Missing Metadata view to see which tv/movies are missing metadata.

But in short, if you are using phoenix/bmt then those titles are coming from the metadata servers, and we don't really control what they send.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2016, 10:42 AM
robind robind is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 60
Thanks, that makes a little more sense now. I think it probably is that some episodes are getting metadata and some are not. I'll dig a little deeper.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2016, 12:00 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 667
Could you use MediaTitles for this?
https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...d.php?p=593763
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2016, 12:59 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
No, MediaTitles doesn't seem to work for this situation (at least in my case). I have this regularly for numerous shows and it really is annoying.

What's truly baffling is that a manual lookup via BMT fixes them every time*. So, it can't find it by itself, but something in the manual lookup allows the shows to be identified correctly.

* This could be contingent on my multiple entries in MediaTitles for the problem shows. I don't know if the manual lookup would work if I didn't have those entries.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2016, 01:25 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
No, MediaTitles doesn't seem to work for this situation (at least in my case). I have this regularly for numerous shows and it really is annoying.

What's truly baffling is that a manual lookup via BMT fixes them every time*. So, it can't find it by itself, but something in the manual lookup allows the shows to be identified correctly.

* This could be contingent on my multiple entries in MediaTitles for the problem shows. I don't know if the manual lookup would work if I didn't have those entries.
When I see metadata failures, it's usually because the site has too many requests (or is experiencing some issues). While Phoenix will try a couple times... it doesn't try forever... When this happens to me I keep thinking that I need a process that will go through the "failed lookups", so a few hours later, and try to re-fetch... I just haven't gotten there, yet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2016, 01:29 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
FYI, I've been seeing this a bit lately. And not just with some episodes having the (2016) added. I also have (US) on at least one and a couple cases of capitalization "with/With" not putting them in the same folder (e.g. Late Night With ... and Dancing With ...).
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2016, 01:46 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
FYI, I've been seeing this a bit lately. And not just with some episodes having the (2016) added. I also have (US) on at least one and a couple cases of capitalization "with/With" not putting them in the same folder (e.g. Late Night With ... and Dancing With ...).
Likely all of this, is coming from "updates" to the data in TVDB... ie, if the title was "Dancing with the Stars" and then someone changed it to "Dancing With The Stars" older items will have the old title and newer items will get scraped and have the new title, so they might show up in 2 groups. That might be easy to solve with a case insenistive group by. But things like "The Office" and "The Office (US)" woud be much harder to reconcile.

I think the only way around this really would be to have a flag to tell phoenix to use the original EPG title instead of the TVDB title. (provided these are recordings and not imported tv files).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2016, 04:14 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I think the only way around this really would be to have a flag to tell phoenix to use the original EPG title instead of the TVDB title. (provided these are recordings and not imported tv files).
Before you go too far with that thought, the EPG can do just as many dumb things with the titles. Every so often something I've recorded for years will suddenly not a ":" in the title or 3 episodes in, they suddenly decide that "the" should now be "The". This of course is noticed when the favorite stops recording.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2016, 07:45 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Likely all of this, is coming from "updates" to the data in TVDB... ie, if the title was "Dancing with the Stars" and then someone changed it to "Dancing With The Stars" older items will have the old title and newer items will get scraped and have the new title, so they might show up in 2 groups. That might be easy to solve with a case insenistive group by. But things like "The Office" and "The Office (US)" woud be much harder to reconcile.

I think the only way around this really would be to have a flag to tell phoenix to use the original EPG title instead of the TVDB title. (provided these are recordings and not imported tv files).
The simple solution is just rescan those titles and they will all get the latest TVDB naming.

k
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage won't import TV shows with the year in the title? soulprops77 SageTV Software 2 11-30-2011 10:27 AM
SageTV Show Title Doesn't Match BMT Show/Fanart Title ptzink Batch Metadata Tools 8 03-16-2011 07:50 AM
Show name contains year iolaus Batch Metadata Tools 32 12-16-2010 09:37 AM
Keyword Favorite - Title/Year Combo rsagetv99 SageTV Software 2 09-08-2009 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.