SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

View Poll Results: What 32Bit version of windows you recommend for STV v7?
Windows XP Pro 4 26.67%
Windows 7 11 73.33%
Voters: 15. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2010, 09:08 AM
makko makko is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tipperary, Ireland
Posts: 65
New server: STV v7- Win XP vs Win 7 (32bit)

Hi There,

I've just complete the spec for my inital server builld.

I can't decide on what version of Windows to install. I'm inclined to go with Windows 7 but i've heard some horror stories.

Should I just play it safe and stick with XP Pro?

Also, I will be installing 2x2GB sticks of ram if that will make a difference. I plan on only using a 32Bit OS as 64Bit versions will be too troublesome.

What do you guys think?

Vote Now, or forever keep your silence

Thanks

Last edited by makko; 12-05-2010 at 09:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2010, 09:33 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
win7 - 64 bit. I don't know what you forsee as being troublesome. About the only thing you CAN'T do in 64-bit windows, when referring to a sagetv server, is use firewire channel changing of a STB (because noone has created 64-bit drivers for the stb connection). Everything else just works better. You'd also be wasting 1GB of that RAM going with a 32bit OS.

Also, I'm not sure what horror stories you are referring to, but at this point, win7 "just works".
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2010, 09:47 AM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,719
I just rebuilt my server yesterday with Win 7 64 bit and Fuzzy's right. It worked great other than my forgetting to set Directv channel changing to Fast.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2010, 10:37 AM
vhurst's Avatar
vhurst vhurst is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 108
I wanted to use WHS for my OS, but I run a domain controller at home, and WHS can't join a domain. The server I built from eBay bargains is a 32 bit dual xeon, so I went with Win7 Pro 32 bit, and 3Gb RAM. As a domain member, it's a breeze to define the computer's rights to the various media directories in my network. My PVR-500's work this way. I don't know that there's 64 bit drivers for them, but there is a problem with more than 3Gb of RAM.
__________________
Intel Skulltrail D5400XS, Dual Quad Core Xeon L5420, Windows Server 2012 R2 on 200Gb partition, 32Gb RAM, 8x WD 2Tb RE4 RAID6 on LSI 9690SA-8I (DVD/Blu-Ray), 2x 4Tb HDDs (TV), Colossus, 2x HD-PVR, HDHR3 Prime, DirectTV STB, USB-UIRT, Sage v2 v3 v4 v5 v6 v7.1.9, Java v1.6 build 45, 3 Placeshifter licenses, and 3 HD-300's.
Plugins: Phoenix API, PlayOn For SageTV, Comskip Playback, YouTube, Nielm's Sage Utiities
Software: PlayOn, ComSkip Monitor, ComSkip
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2010, 10:47 AM
makko makko is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tipperary, Ireland
Posts: 65
I've read that there are problems with most cards when the OS has 4GB's or more RAM.

So I'm guessing Win7 is stamping out XP here!?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2010, 11:20 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
No most cards... certain older hauppauge cards. If you are running the latest generation or so (HVR-2250 is probably the best all around capture card/tuner), there's no problem.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I upgrade my STV Serve from XP to Win 7? mistergq General Discussion 2 10-12-2010 12:19 PM
Questions about going from WHS to Win 7 for SageTV server crarbo1 SageTV Software 20 04-07-2010 05:15 PM
Sage server on Win 7 stevech SageTV Software 3 10-08-2009 11:19 PM
Win XP vs Vista vs Win 7-Mutiprocessor performance gplasky General Discussion 6 02-03-2009 01:16 AM
SW for dedicated Video Server; XP or Win Server 2003 Blacksheep General Discussion 10 11-30-2005 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.