SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations > Phoenix

Notices

Phoenix This forum is for discussing the user-created Phoenix custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2011, 02:07 PM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
Fresh Phoenix Install

So Iíve been doing some housecleaning on my server today. I have been trying to get things better organized and so forth. During my plight I decided it might be best if I nuked the whole works and start over with a fresh slate. Fresh SageTV install and fresh wiz.bin/properties the whole works.

Once I got Sage back and running the stock STV and all my import paths and such back online I thought I would go ahead and install Phoenix first. No other plugins installed up to this point. I found out that the Phoenix install doesnít install BMT and without BMT the Phoenix install/UI looks wild. Itís a complete mess. The good news is that once BMT is installed everything goes back to the way it should.

Long story short, if not already thought about make sure that the install installs BMT simultaneously with Phoenix when you get to the release stage I would bet some users wonít have installed BMT first.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2011, 02:58 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
So Iíve been doing some housecleaning on my server today. I have been trying to get things better organized and so forth. During my plight I decided it might be best if I nuked the whole works and start over with a fresh slate. Fresh SageTV install and fresh wiz.bin/properties the whole works.

Once I got Sage back and running the stock STV and all my import paths and such back online I thought I would go ahead and install Phoenix first. No other plugins installed up to this point. I found out that the Phoenix install doesnít install BMT and without BMT the Phoenix install/UI looks wild. Itís a complete mess. The good news is that once BMT is installed everything goes back to the way it should.

Long story short, if not already thought about make sure that the install installs BMT simultaneously with Phoenix when you get to the release stage I would bet some users wonít have installed BMT first.
There's nothing in bmt that phoenix requires... bmt is really just a web ui for phoenix. It may be that without bmt you have no fanart?? so everything looked wild... i'll have to give it try and see what happens
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2011, 08:14 PM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
I think I found another issue when installing Phoenix and then BMT on a fresh install of Sage v7. In BMT I configured my central fanart directory to be outside the default location. BMT accepts it and is using it to store fanart. However, Phoenix is still pointed at the default location.

How/where do I make this change within Phoenix to point at my new location? I can see the field but itís not updatable yet. I figure that if I had installed BMT before Phoenix and configured the central fanart all would have been good...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2011, 09:19 PM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
This only seems to be affecting the server itself. Not my extender. The extender is showing the updated central fanart location.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2011, 05:28 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
I think I found another issue when installing Phoenix and then BMT on a fresh install of Sage v7. In BMT I configured my central fanart directory to be outside the default location. BMT accepts it and is using it to store fanart. However, Phoenix is still pointed at the default location.

How/where do I make this change within Phoenix to point at my new location? I can see the field but itís not updatable yet. I figure that if I had installed BMT before Phoenix and configured the central fanart all would have been good...
Just to re-iterate... bmt is simply a front end to phoenix. It has no code of it's own... the code that it executes is exactly the same as the code the stv executes. I point this out only because there isn't a separate set of configuration files for bmt vs phoenix... there is just phoenix

That being said, when you setting the central fanart folder from the web ui, it's done as the server scope. This means the value should end up in the server's Sage.properites. If you set the value from a client (ie, extender, or pc client), then the value will go into the client propertes for that client. A given client can have a different location for the fanart folder than the server. The default location on a fresh install is userdata/Phoenix/Fanart.

I always recommend setting the folder from the web ui first, so that it gets written to the Sage.properties, and then clients will use that value, unless they override and set their own.

Something you try, if some of your clients/servers are seeing the wrong values... is to search for phoenix/fanart/fanartCentralFolder in your Sage.propertes, SageClient.properties and your clients/*.properties and see if they have the correct values. By default, if it's set in the Sage.properties, that that's the value all clients will see unless they define their own value. (be sure to shut down sage and all client before checking the properties, or making changes)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh install sleonard Sage My Movies 0 03-15-2011 01:38 PM
Fresh install or install over existing setup? xj-boonie SageTV Beta Test Software 2 10-15-2010 11:01 PM
Need help with fresh HD-PVR and Win 7 install... t4uecker Hardware Support 5 01-27-2010 09:09 AM
Fresh install help jrillaffj SageTV Customizations 1 09-01-2009 07:49 PM
fresh install but old key mscdex SageTV Software 4 10-08-2008 11:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.