SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2011, 01:28 AM
SnakeJG SnakeJG is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
Thumbs up HVR-1800 gets much better ATSC reception

I just got my new HVR-1800 installed and I was amazed at the reception. I have used/tried the following: ATI USB HD 600, ATI HD 650, and an HD HomeRun (dual). They all got around 85%-92% reception when connected to the same setup (attic antenna, split 4 ways).

When I plugged in the HVR-1800, every channel on my line-up was pegged at 100%. I tried it with some channels I had disabled because they only got 68-80% with stuttering, and I was getting 83-86% with no stutter problems.

I hope this doesn't count as spam, but I found it on e-bay for really cheap ($28 shipped) and was worried it wouldn't work. Once I found out how well it worked, I thought other SageTV users might be interested. If you have a spare PCIe slot and want to record OTA HD and analog cable, I highly suggest it (I haven't tried QAM, so I can't speak to that)

http://cgi.ebay.com/Hauppauge-WinTV-...Q_trksidZp5197

Mods, sorry if this goes against the spam policy, feel free to delete this if it does, I won't try to re-post.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2011, 02:13 AM
trallyus trallyus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 392
By any chance was it foggy outside when you typed the above message as I know around here if we have fog, we get new channels from all over the place.

I love channel scanning during foggy nights or days to see how many extra channels I can pick up
Trallyus
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2011, 02:20 AM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Each manufacturer tends to compute signal strength its own way, like the bars on a phone, so its hard to compare them. But you also have chipsets that perform better in specific conditions.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2011, 02:34 AM
trallyus trallyus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 392
Yes I know Fonceur. It's foggy as I type this here and I just scanned the waves with my channel master dtv box and found 18 extra channels that I never get or know about on most days
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2011, 09:48 AM
SnakeJG SnakeJG is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 15
It was lightly raining, but that couldn't have made the difference, because I was comparing in real time with my HD HomeRun.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2011, 02:47 PM
farfromuman farfromuman is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 124
These are now $20 plus shipping, I got 2 to replace my AverTV Duet HD tuner which sometimes disappears (known problem with ATI Motherboards)

http://cgi.ebay.com/Hauppauge-WinTV-...-/190529872604
__________________
Server: Sage 9; 8TB, i5 4690k 16GB DDR3 2XHDHR3, Windows 10 PRO 64BIT

Client 1: HD300; Panasonic TC-P65S64;
Client 2: HD300; Samsung 46" LCD;
Client 3: HD300; 60" LCD;
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-26-2012, 10:22 AM
talonmike talonmike is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 103
Same experiment here. What a difference with the 1800. A lot better than 2250. I am selling all my 2250 to replace with 1800.

I have tried a lot of model, 1800 id by far the best. I cannot take 3.1 with any other tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-26-2012, 11:16 AM
SolidElectronix's Avatar
SolidElectronix SolidElectronix is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 8
Thanks for the info, these seem weirdly cheap on eBay. I'm going to try to pick up a couple of them to replace my old PVR-150s. Does anyone know what the difference is between these and the HVR-1850?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how does sagetv7 do tuning atsc channels with hauppauge 1800 & 1850? john139 SageTV Beta Test Software 7 12-23-2010 02:57 PM
OTA Reception Spectrum Hardware Support 7 09-21-2010 06:52 PM
ATI 600 USB = no reception at all mc510 Hardware Support 2 12-02-2009 05:45 PM
DVB-S Reception Bacon2002 SageTV Software 0 10-06-2008 10:00 AM
No reception from SageTV??? joe2rule SageTV Software 2 09-17-2003 01:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.