SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2011, 08:42 PM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 740
Alternatives to Extenders

Since we are creating a thread for alternative software, I think we need to start discussing alternative extenders.

We have Western Digital Live Plus which includes Netflix.
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/homee.../mediaplayers/

There is also Hauppauge Media MVP-HD.
http://hauppauge.com/site/products/d...diamvp-hd.html

Ideally, I would like Guide, but that may be just too much to ask for.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 1x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Client: Windows 10 Pro

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 3, HD-200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2011, 09:51 PM
vividweb vividweb is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 399
You could use SJQ to reorganize the files and the use something like a boxee box (or any streamer). You just have to use the web interface to manage your recordings.
__________________

Sage Server: i5-2500K 8 GB DDR, 6000gb HDD, 4xHD-PVR < 4xBell 6141, Win7 x64
Client 1: HD-200, Panasonic 42PX75
Client 2: HD-300, Samsung LCD
Client 3: HD-300, Samsung PN50C550
Client 4: MS Surface Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2011, 03:22 AM
hoep hoep is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 197
there should be an option to make the sagetv properties files as an starting point for the xbmc/boxee filing convention with this script:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?t=87261&page=1

interesting to see that in this thread they mention a way to work with links to files, which would not break the sage library.
http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=27897

maybe a starting point to add different extenders (boxee box, apple tv 1) to your existing setup - which would be somehow crippled though as guide and maybe livetv (?) would not be available..

would be interesting to know, how others plan to maintain the awsome functionality of sage, when we need a "plan B".
__________________
Server: AMD Phenomen IIX4 965 Black Edition, 4 GB, 2x Hauppauge HVR-3000, 2x PCTV DiB BDA - native, Terratec S7, Cine S2 (Dual DVBS2), WinTV-Nova usb via DVBLogic, xmltv, 20TB disk arrays

Clients: 3 x MediaMVP, 2 x HD-300, 4 x SageTV Client

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2011, 05:59 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
We will just have to see what tomorrow brings. I will probably be good for awhile with my current setup.

I used XBMC on my old Xbox (Still have it) I still play with it today and XXBMC has a port to the $99 AppleTV2. If you can keep the core recording function of SageTV going I think the script to convert the TV library to a XBMC friendly format could work.

The only missing component is live TV. Back in the Xbox days I had a DVB tuner that would stream live TV to the Xbox. There was even a script to change the channel. With some dev work I think that would also be possible.

Still XBMC Netflix and Hulu options are clumsily and by the time it was all ported to the AppleTV2 something better might be out there. I just hope the new Google\SageTV partnership gives us something that works a lot like SageTV.
__________________

Retired SageTV in favor of Plex\Emby and YouTubeTV.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2011, 01:22 PM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 595
What about using a mini PC instead of an extender? Something like this:
http://www.amazon.com/Zotac-MAG-Inte.../dp/B0030UH2J4

Anyone have any experience with how these work with Sage client software?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2011, 01:51 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
FYI, I just pinged Moxi with some questions, got this response.

Quote:
The Moxi HD DVR plays back recorded digital cable programs. With PlayOn running on your PC, Moxi also allows you to stream from sites such as Netflix, Amazon VOD, Hulu, YouTube, Rhapsody, Flickr and others, as well as video, music and photos stored on your PC. Moxi will not play ripped DVDs or BluRays.
AKA, Moxi isn't a viable path for SageTV users.
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2011, 02:23 PM
OneOfMany OneOfMany is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Attorney View Post
What about using a mini PC instead of an extender? Something like this:
http://www.amazon.com/Zotac-MAG-Inte.../dp/B0030UH2J4

Anyone have any experience with how these work with Sage client software?
Have been running a custom-built ITX setup for over a year under Win7 Pro and works great. Just setup Client & P/S on an Acer Iconia tablet this AM for my daughter, and am sitting at work streaming TV over a wireless connection with P/S. Win7HP32 was installed OS.

Grant
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2011, 02:29 PM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 595
Thanks Grant. Good to know. Is your custom built system using the NVIDA ION chipset? If so, is it beefy enough for BluRay playback?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-21-2011, 02:53 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
I searched for 'NVIDIA ION Blu-Ray" and the first hit was a Toms Harware article that says it plays blu-rays fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2011, 03:00 PM
gtfreymann gtfreymann is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada EH
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Attorney View Post
What about using a mini PC instead of an extender? Something like this:
http://www.amazon.com/Zotac-MAG-Inte.../dp/B0030UH2J4

Anyone have any experience with how these work with Sage client software?
I have one attached to a 42" LCD TV and it works great. All the good video and sound output options you'd want. Will play HD video fine. Quiet too. I replaced a larger mid tower with that little guy.

Overall, it's not a "zippy" interface, but it is our main interface and it's not a problem, but can be slow from time to time.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-21-2011, 06:35 PM
karhill karhill is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: seattle
Posts: 20
Windows Media Center and Xboxes. I almost went this way, since I think the Media Center UI is easier to navigate than SageTV, and that's important for my house. But I wanted full PC-functionality at each TV, and Windows Media Center doesn't have a software extender...the only extender is the Xbox, and an Xbox is not a PC. If microsoft made a software extender for Windows Media Center (like the SageTV client), then I'd be all over it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-21-2011, 06:39 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Does anyone have experience with the Shuttle XS35GT (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...E16856101114)?

It's a neat little system that is around the size of an HD200 and has no fans (all passive cooled). It runs a Dual Core Atom with the latest generation ION GPU.

With how expensive HD300s are going for on fleebay you might as well build a full fledged computer/client that can do Netflix, Hulu, email, and surf the web.

I am trying to verify if the system passes digital (at least 5.1) audio via the HDMI cable. I have seen mixed info online so far...
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-21-2011, 06:46 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
The problem with looking for an extender alternative is you still need a Sage client license. If you are in the boat of either needing a client license OR an extender, you are basically SOL on your Sage setup.
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-21-2011, 06:56 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
The problem with looking for an extender alternative is you still need a Sage client license. If you are in the boat of either needing a client license OR an extender, you are basically SOL on your Sage setup.
I'm fortunate to have an extra Client License. However, maybe we will get lucky and Sage will release a generic unlimited Client key into the public (that is, if Google has no interest in continuing to sell Sage software). That way we can continue to build clients and not worry about the lack of extenders .
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-21-2011, 09:31 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
The Dune HD looks super interesting.

Some Dune player models (models Dune HD Ultra, Dune HD Mini, Dune BD Prime, Dune HD Center, Dune HD Base, Dune HD Base 2.0) have a support for browsing Internet web sites directly on the player-attached TV using the built-in web browser. The web browser is not part of the main user interface of the player; it is a dedicated application, that should be launched separately (besides, the installation on an extra software package may be needed before the web browser may be used).

...

The web browser is based on Mozilla/Gecko web browser engine and provides a similar level of compatibility with web sites. It is quite a general purpose web browser, allowing to browse general Internet web sites (including web sites using rather advanced HTML and JavaScript features), rather than just very simple web sites or web sites specially developed for the usage with the player.


+ this http://dune-hd.com/firmware/misc/dune_folder_howto.txt
and this http://dune-hd.com/firmware/
-> Seems like possibility to use as a extender with Sage Web UI or Plugins generating the server folders in some special format
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-21-2011, 10:45 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
Does anyone have experience with the Shuttle XS35GT (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...E16856101114)?

It's a neat little system that is around the size of an HD200 and has no fans (all passive cooled). It runs a Dual Core Atom with the latest generation ION GPU.

With how expensive HD300s are going for on fleebay you might as well build a full fledged computer/client that can do Netflix, Hulu, email, and surf the web.

I am trying to verify if the system passes digital (at least 5.1) audio via the HDMI cable. I have seen mixed info online so far...
If you get into that, let us know. I'm fortunate enough to have *three* spare SageTV client licenses, i used to have all HTPCs (in 2003, when I got into Sage), now I only have extenders. Here's hoping those license keys still work :-)
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-21-2011, 10:53 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoep View Post
there should be an option to make the sagetv properties files as an starting point for the xbmc/boxee filing convention with this script:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?t=87261&page=1

interesting to see that in this thread they mention a way to work with links to files, which would not break the sage library.
http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=27897

maybe a starting point to add different extenders (boxee box, apple tv 1) to your existing setup - which would be somehow crippled though as guide and maybe livetv (?) would not be available..

would be interesting to know, how others plan to maintain the awsome functionality of sage, when we need a "plan B".
Regarding the links, I did start a project a while ago to create friendly named links to my sagetv recordings (though this was for feeding them to Orb for streaming to my phones). Never finished it up/worked out all the bugs, but the concept works well, and should work to feed them to any network streamer. Of course, it'll only work for playback of recorded content, but it's a start. Discussed originally here.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room

Last edited by Fuzzy; 06-21-2011 at 10:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-22-2011, 12:27 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
My Sony Bravia with the Bravia 3 engine plays back all my Sage recordings via Windows Media Player on the Sage server. I can't schedule recordings, but as a dumb playback terminal, the Bravia does it without needing any external box. Internet hookup is either wired or wireless (with optional dongle), so it's pretty much plug and play.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-22-2011, 12:53 AM
wado1971's Avatar
wado1971 wado1971 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
I'm fortunate to have an extra Client License. However, maybe we will get lucky and Sage will release a generic unlimited Client key into the public (that is, if Google has no interest in continuing to sell Sage software). That way we can continue to build clients and not worry about the lack of extenders .
This is a good idea. By releasing an open client licence, google/sage would not be promoting or supporting new sagetv setups.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-22-2011, 03:37 AM
pieroxy pieroxy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by wado1971 View Post
This is a good idea. By releasing an open client licence, google/sage would not be promoting or supporting new sagetv setups.
Will never happen. What would they gain from this?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVDShrink Alternatives? wrems The SageTV Community 15 11-23-2010 01:07 PM
No more SelecTV - alternatives? klacker SageTV Australia/New Zealand 0 09-15-2010 05:51 AM
alternatives to USB-UIRT yet? pat_smith1969 Hardware Support 10 08-01-2010 03:55 PM
Alternatives to IR Blaster with HD-PVR? david zero Hardware Support 6 11-11-2009 09:20 PM
Alternatives to taskkill.exe? obrian93 SageTV Software 1 11-01-2007 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.