SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2011, 05:19 PM
Dingdul Dingdul is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 66
Synology NAS with Sage 7 & HD300s

Does anyone have practical experience of running DS411, DS411j or DS411+ NAS units with their Sage setup? My interest is playback of movies etc on multiple extenders - live tv and recordings are a secondary bonus if performance is feasible. Certainly the 411+ offers impressive read/write speeds although financially I'd prefer one of the other two options. Cheers Jonathan
__________________
Server: Intel Core Duo E8600 / 4gb RAM / Win7 Home Premium
Tuners: 2 x HDHR for OTA
Clients: 3 HD200 extenders
Network: GB Ethernet / DLink DNS-323
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2011, 01:13 PM
cobrew cobrew is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 70806
Posts: 21
I have a ds211j. This is where my imported folders are located. I have had no problems in the 9 months that I've been using this setup. Synology is a great product.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2011, 02:45 PM
kwallin kwallin is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 57
Thumbs up

I am using a DS410 for recordings and music, movies are located on the win server. HD300 is the client and everything works flawlessly. Gigabit network.

/Kenneth
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2011, 04:44 PM
PosterBoy PosterBoy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
I have a DS207+ and it has no problem storing movies, pictures and music on mine. It doesn't even blink with several of my 5 extenders all watching different movies at the same time. I have been using this arrangement for years and it is great

Last edited by PosterBoy; 09-27-2011 at 04:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2011, 11:41 AM
jnmfox jnmfox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 106
Are you able to record directly to the Synology NAS? If so can you watch a show while recording another show? Live TV?

TiA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2011, 08:52 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
check out ratings, tests, performance results on Synology, QNAP and other lesser ones, in the NAS forum section of
http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/index.php

Your first order constraint might be your LAN and switches, esp. if they're not gigabit.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2011, 10:05 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnmfox View Post
Are you able to record directly to the Synology NAS? If so can you watch a show while recording another show? Live TV?

TiA!
I would like someone's first-hand account of this setup as well.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2011, 05:23 PM
Dingdul Dingdul is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 66
OK - next steps

Thanks for the responses.

Does anyone have one of these units working under stress; simultaneous playback and recording of multiple HD streams?

Given I already use HDHR for my tuners (x4) I'm keen to explore use of a laptop as my Sage server doubling as client for a new TV (my preference of course would have been a new HD300!).

The laptop has gbit LAN and a SSD for fast bootup and local fanart...

Cheers
__________________
Server: Intel Core Duo E8600 / 4gb RAM / Win7 Home Premium
Tuners: 2 x HDHR for OTA
Clients: 3 HD200 extenders
Network: GB Ethernet / DLink DNS-323
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-22-2011, 11:04 AM
jm7775 jm7775 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 3
I have a DS411+ with four WD30EZRS green drives, I have had no problems using an iscsi LUN as my recording folder for the last six months or so. The most stress I've put on it is four HD recordings with comskip and one playback simultaneously, but I'm sure it could handle more easily.

I am set up on a dedicated gigabit segment with jumbo frames enabled (not recommended if there's other traffic on the segment). YMMV, especially with multiple clients and CIFS in the mix.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2011, 03:36 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
What configuration do you have the drives?

And how would you rate the overall sound vs. a PC storage server?
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-23-2011, 06:05 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
Put the file server in the garage?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-24-2011, 10:17 AM
jm7775 jm7775 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by korben_dallas View Post
What configuration do you have the drives?

I have all 4 disks set up in a single volume using SHR (Synology's proprietary RAID version), then I created my LUNs within that and connected to them with iscsi. I've only allocated about a third of the total space to LUNs so that I can add more or expand them if necessary.



Quote:
Originally Posted by korben_dallas View Post
And how would you rate the overall sound vs. a PC storage server?

With the 3TB WD Green drives the 411+ is very quiet, I don't notice it or find it at all distracting, and that's with running the fans in "cool" mode instead of "quiet" mode. You can always put it in a closet or something as well, you just need to get network and power to it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using HD200 with a Synology DS409 NAS HeadHodge Hardware Support 2 08-24-2009 12:38 PM
Optimal Architecture - How To use Sage.Server, Sage.Client and Sage.Recorder together edbmdave SageTV Software 4 08-24-2004 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.