SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2014, 11:56 AM
massmanjr massmanjr is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: texas
Posts: 16
TiVo Releases A $49.99 Over-The-Air DVR For Cord Cutters

http://techcrunch.com/2014/08/25/tivo-roamio-ota/

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2014, 12:38 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
+ $15 per month...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2014, 09:06 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
The price isn't too bad. Sure, it's $15/month, but Tablo is $5/month, and significantly more expensive up-front. So, over a 3 year period, the TiVo is certainly more expensive, but the difference is only about $100.

I probably find the Tablo more appealing, although I think I'd find many aspects of the interface rather clunky (particularly on Roku). A TiVo would probably be a much easier device for the masses to use.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2014, 04:26 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Any word on whether you would be able to have one of these and then proprietary "extenders" (whatever they'd call them) at other TVs, hooked into the one with the DVR storage? I'm guessing not. Though I see that it has the ability to stream to other devices (I am not versed on current Tivo hardware enough to know if that includes stuff like a Roku, or whether that just means tablets, phones, remote PCs, i.e., "placeshifting").
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2014, 06:11 PM
firenice firenice is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
Any word on whether you would be able to have one of these and then proprietary "extenders" (whatever they'd call them) at other TVs, hooked into the one with the DVR storage? I'm guessing not. Though I see that it has the ability to stream to other devices (I am not versed on current Tivo hardware enough to know if that includes stuff like a Roku, or whether that just means tablets, phones, remote PCs, i.e., "placeshifting").
pj

They have the Tivo mini, that could be considered an extender, but it also requires a monthly payment for use with a Tivo and it works just like an extender. The Romio pro model can stream to other devices, including the mini, and with a Tivo app either an iapp or an android app to tablets or phones but only the mini can stream to another TV. Not sure if roku is supported but there are quite a few things roku supports and more being added all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2014, 07:17 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
The price isn't too bad. Sure, it's $15/month, but Tablo is $5/month, and significantly more expensive up-front. So, over a 3 year period, the TiVo is certainly more expensive, but the difference is only about $100.

I probably find the Tablo more appealing, although I think I'd find many aspects of the interface rather clunky (particularly on Roku). A TiVo would probably be a much easier device for the masses to use.
Yup and to me the Tablo 4 Tuner model is a better deal but I hate local channel there never nothing good on in fact it not like 80s, 90s and early part of 2000s with good show now it just old boring carp rerun.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-28-2014, 10:09 AM
eric3a eric3a is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston by the Sea
Posts: 226
US$15 a month is way too expensive.

I'm getting fed up with this subscription business model for everything. It's a new age VCR. Why should I pay a monthly fee?!
Eric
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-28-2014, 10:41 AM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3a View Post
US$15 a month is way too expensive.

I'm getting fed up with this subscription business model for everything. It's a new age VCR. Why should I pay a monthly fee?!
Eric
Precisely the point made by the CNET reviewer at http://www.cnet.com/products/tivo-ro...tag=CAD1acfa04

The TIVO Roamio OTA ended up as the most expensive option when they did the planning over a three and four year timeframe.
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.1.10, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-28-2014, 12:56 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3a View Post
US$15 a month is way too expensive.

I'm getting fed up with this subscription business model for everything. It's a new age VCR. Why should I pay a monthly fee?!
Eric
I was starting to think I was the only one who thought that $15/month for this service was expensive...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-28-2014, 05:17 PM
firenice firenice is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 139
With Tivo you are basically paying for the epg. At least if you use one with a cable card. I agree though subscription business models will keep people away unless they are truly set on those features. Pay to play has it's ups and downs and is a sad way to go.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-28-2014, 08:16 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by firenice View Post
With Tivo you are basically paying for the epg. At least if you use one with a cable card. I agree though subscription business models will keep people away unless they are truly set on those features. Pay to play has it's ups and downs and is a sad way to go.
You're also paying for the box. They "sell" the boxes at a subsidized rate, and make it back (and much more) with the subscription fee.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-29-2014, 01:56 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
You're also paying for the box. They "sell" the boxes at a subsidized rate, and make it back (and much more) with the subscription fee.
Sounds like the Gillette razor model which is used all over the place now - like for cell phones.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD200 Replacement power cord/transformer? pjpjpjpj SageTV Media Extender 2 11-10-2013 10:55 AM
Anyone with kids cut the Cable/D* cord? IVB General Discussion 16 06-26-2011 09:14 PM
Tivo Desktop, .tivo files and Sage SzDoc SageTV Software 3 11-12-2009 02:24 AM
STV Releases mayhewda SageMC Custom Interface 1 10-15-2009 04:59 PM
New DVD Releases AWS SageTV Customizations 9 08-24-2006 12:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.