SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV United Kingdom

Notices

SageTV United Kingdom SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from the UK - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in the UK.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2014, 10:06 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Iplayer anyone?

I've written a sagetv plugin to hook iplayer into online videos.

I know the sage TV + UK audience must be about three of us by now.

I know theres a million ways to get iplayer but my family all like the one-stop-shop sageTV solution and I don't want to pay for any more hardware to get iplayer on the big screen - internet enabled TVs etc.

There probably are solutions around uPNP also but I found all that such a pain to use - a dodgy middleman.

It may well all go to pot if BBC encrypt.

And I don't really have the energy to provide the kind of support I offered for webfeedencoder but if theres any takers I'll post it up.

It does watch now and record (and place in TV recordings with decent meta-data).

I have plans to link to watched, and favorites and EPG i.e. so you can click on past EPG programmes and get them recorded. I would also like to add a STVi import at some point to replace the podcast based watch/record/stoprecord controls. And of course I would like to extend into 4Od, 5OnDemand, ITVPlayer etc

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer

Last edited by michaeldjcox; 10-03-2014 at 12:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2014, 12:46 AM
deanm deanm is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North East, UK
Posts: 293
I must be one of the 3 then.

Great work. I would be very intrested in helping in testing this.

Been hoping this would be implemented by someone.

Like you I just want everything in one place with one remote.

Dean
__________________
Darkside: DVB-C x4 DVB-T2 x2 HD-300 x4
Lightside: DVB-C x2 DVB-T2 x4 HD-300 x3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2014, 08:36 AM
PeterC PeterC is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 55
This sounds like it will be useful, will it work on an XP server ok?

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2014, 09:22 AM
pjwerdna pjwerdna is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: UK, Slough
Posts: 395
Smile

Iplayer integration would be great.

Ive been using get_iplayer to download things SageTV misses recording. That works but its a bit of a pain do to.

Also hope it works on XP, but if it doesnt I guess it would be the push I need to upgrade windows.
__________________
SageTV Server : Akasa Inifiiti Case, Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3 MB, 8600GT, Core2 Duo (E6850 3GHz), 4GB RAM, ~6TB Filestore , Nova-TD500, TBS 6280, SageTV 7.1.9
New Client 2 :MSI P67A-GD53, i5 2500K Quad core (3.3GHz), 12GB, Windows 10 Pro (and test SageTV 9 Install)
Sage Client 1 : HD300, Logitech Harmony One
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2014, 06:25 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,364
BBC iPlayer? That would be great! Could us foreigners hook in directly via Sage, or would we still need VPN connections?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-2014, 04:07 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,944
Sounds interesting to me, save me getting missed stuff on get_iplayer...
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.6.6, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-06-2014, 01:03 AM
pukka pukka is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leicestershire, UK
Posts: 83
can I be sage user number 4 please
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-06-2014, 03:41 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
No comment on the iplayer for outside the UK!

Not helping on that one - don't want the Beeb to go on a nailing it down crusade.

The plugin makes calls to get_iplayer which needs to be installed separately.

The plugins chief job is to collect meta-data, interface with get_iplayer, and present podcast XML to sagetv online services.

Its written in such that iplayer is one of a number of plugins that provide a metadata and play/stop interface which is presented in a common format to SageTV. The plugins are scripted in groovy to give a "softer" edge to the plugin so local mods can be made to get things working without need for release.

Its tested with Windows 7 and LinuxMint/Ubuntu linux.

It will probably work with XP - though I know from webfeedencoder development that windows can be a real pain when it comes to permissions and launching cmd shells. Should all be resolvable though.

I have a version running on windows 7 at home being rigorously QA'd by my 7 year old.

There is a bug I'm working to fix first so I estimate a few days before I try and release.

Regards,

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-06-2014, 08:52 AM
Bagal Bagal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 182
I'd be interested in trying this out as well!
__________________
Server: Win7 64bit; i5 2500; 32GB ram; Blackgold BGT3595; 18TB + 120GB SSD; Edgestore DAS401T; DVBLink; Oscam; Omnikey 3121
Lounge Client: HD300; Yamaha RX-V765 connected to 55" Furrion 1080p LCD; Logitech Harmony One remote
Kitchen: HD300 32" LCD, Bed 1: HD300 - 40" LCD, Bed 2: HD300 - 24" LCD, Bed 3: HD300 - 22" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-06-2014, 02:40 PM
mevans mevans is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London
Posts: 85
I'd like to give it a go too - although i'm currently transfering STV from a WHS(v1) system to Win8.1, so I'll let that settle down before i go trying your iPlayer plugin.

You see - there are more than three of us left!

Keep up the good work!

mevans
__________________
Server: ASUS P7P55D, Core i5 750 2.66GHz, 4GB RAM, Antec Three Hundred, 1x TBS 6284 PCI-E DVB-T2 Quad (OTA HD 'Freeview'), 2x HD Homerun dual tuners (OTA SD 'Freeview'), WHS OS installed on Seagate 250GB SATAII, Recording to 9TB Storage Pool (64k clusters)
SageTV version: 7.1.9
HDHomerun's plugged into mobo NIC via giga switch
2nd NIC to home network
Program Guide: DigiGuide Birtles Grabber XMLTV Importer for SageTV
Clients: Two HD200, One HD300, Client on PC, Placeshifter on PC
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-07-2014, 01:25 AM
rickgillyon's Avatar
rickgillyon rickgillyon is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Whitley Bay, England
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by mevans View Post
You see - there are more than three of us left!
Which probably shows you the dearth of alternatives out there...
__________________
unRAID Server: Intel Core i5 7600K, 16GB DDR4, 2x512GB PCIe M.2 Cache Pool, 2x4TB SATA3 Parity Drive, 2x3TB + 1x4TB SATA Array, 1x TBS 6284 PCIe DVB-T2 Quad, 2x TBS 6205 PCIe DVB-T Quad, Cable TV from TBS2603 sat/IP, IPTV via Telly & node-ffmpeg-mpegts-proxy, unRAID 6.6.6, TVheadend for recording back end, OpenDCT, SDEPG, SageTV 9
Clients: 3 Nvidia Shields, 2 Android Miniclients (Amlogic S905X), 3 Win10 Pro PC Clients
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-07-2014, 10:20 AM
doc doc is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Leicester, England
Posts: 915
I'm still here too......

I'd definitely be interested. Have a roku and a youview box but spend most of my time in the back bedroom/hobby room and the TV only has 1 HDMI which just happens to have the HD300 plugged into it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-07-2014, 02:10 PM
taylormadearmy taylormadearmy is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 197
yes please
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-09-2014, 02:18 AM
jamesdisco's Avatar
jamesdisco jamesdisco is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: N Yorks, UK
Posts: 234
This sounds great i'll help you test.
__________________
Server: Win 10 64bit Core i3 8GB 20TB, TBS6985, TBS6984, Sage 9.
Clients: 5 x HD300, 2 x HD200, Placeshifter.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-09-2014, 02:57 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Plan to release a version Friday/Saturday - just doing a little bit of "productisation" before I let it out the door
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-15-2014, 12:01 PM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Submitted the plugin today.

Will get around to some announcements notes tomorrow.
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-17-2015, 11:45 AM
SidKnee SidKnee is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: East Midlands, UK
Posts: 94
Sounds like UK use of SageTV isn't quite as dead as I thought I'll definitely give this a go!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BBC Iplayer goes open source Oddity SageTV United Kingdom 0 03-30-2013 02:30 AM
Developer Challenge: BBC iplayer integration jamesdisco SageTV Customizations 18 12-15-2010 06:01 PM
IPLAYER willplaice SageTV United Kingdom 1 04-15-2010 10:28 AM
BBC iPlayer taylormadearmy SageTV United Kingdom 8 07-27-2009 01:43 AM
BBC iPlayer Plugin? moamoa SageTV Customizations 3 11-04-2008 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.