SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2016, 07:29 PM
chairmanmao's Avatar
chairmanmao chairmanmao is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 80
Linux or Windows?

I've been running v7 for years under Win7, and have been quite happy with it. Ever since I switched to accessing the server via HD200s and HD300s I've hardly had any crashes at all.

With Sage now being open sourced, I'm thinking of upgrading to v9. If I do that I'll either build a new Windows 10 system to host Sage, or switch to Linux.

Which is the better/preferred option? I'm using Sage to record off a US cable system (Comcast) via a pair of HDHomeRun Primes, via SageDCT.

I realize SageDCT is a Windows service, but does the Linux version of Sage v9 support the Prime? If not I guess I'll stick with Windows as the OS.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2016, 07:42 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by chairmanmao View Post
I've been running v7 for years under Win7, and have been quite happy with it. Ever since I switched to accessing the server via HD200s and HD300s I've hardly had any crashes at all.

With Sage now being open sourced, I'm thinking of upgrading to v9. If I do that I'll either build a new Windows 10 system to host Sage, or switch to Linux.

Which is the better/preferred option? I'm using Sage to record off a US cable system (Comcast) via a pair of HDHomeRun Primes, via SageDCT.

I realize SageDCT is a Windows service, but does the Linux version of Sage v9 support the Prime? If not I guess I'll stick with Windows as the OS.
I would say your best bet is to go with Linux. Most of the developers seem to use it and there are some scripts/detailed instructions for installation. You may use OpenDCT (Linux or Windows) for your Primes. I personally run Windows 10 on my server, but that's just my preference.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2016, 09:46 PM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 391
I have played with the linux version and runs very well. The biggest thing I think is to be sure your tuners will work. That said the reason I went back to windows is lack of ability to have the linux server sleep then wake up to record. i like to put my server to sleep since its off more than on. With linux thou you can have a much larger java heap than in windows so it depends on what is more important to you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2016, 07:21 AM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 451
But comskip is still just windows right?
__________________
(current) SageServer: SageTV Open Source V9 - Virtual Ubuntu on Win10 HyperV MSI 970A-G46, AMD FX-8370 , SD Prime via OpenDCT, Donater ComSkip
Clients: HD-200, Nexus Player w/ Android miniclient
Storage: "nas" 16 drive Win10 w/ DrivePool running Plex, Emby, & SD PVR
Retired - Hava, MediaMVP, HD-100, HD-PVR, HVR-2250, Ceton InfiniTV4, Original (white) HDHomeRun Died - HD-100, HD-300
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2016, 07:53 AM
brandypuff brandypuff is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin, MA
Posts: 339
I prefer Windows. Been testing the Open sourced v9 release for a few weeks and haven't had any issue. Of course, i have a whole tools, apps, scripts, utilities infrastructure built around windows so see no reason to change to a new platform when it's ben solid for 8 years.
__________________
- James M -
Server: Asus P5B Deluxe, 8GB, Core2 E6600 @2.4GHz, Windows 10 X64 Pro
Storage Internal: (1) 250GB, (2) 2TB, (1) 4TB
Storage External: Sans Digital 4-Bay eSATA Port Multiplier RAID Enclosure with (4) 4TB Drives
Capture Devices: HDHomerunXTEND, HDHomerunPrime
Clients: (1) STX-HD100 HD Media Extender, (3) HD200 HD Theatre, (1) HD300
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2016, 08:07 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePaladinTech View Post
But comskip is still just windows right?
The comskip plugin works on linux. I've been running it for years.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2016, 09:49 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I'd say the biggest reason to go to Linux is to run the server in 64-bit, so you have much more memory for it to work with. I'd say the best reason to go with Windows would be if you plan on using it for other windows based things, or if you are going to use it as a client also (which is leagues better on windows).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2016, 11:05 AM
chairmanmao's Avatar
chairmanmao chairmanmao is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 80
Thanx, everyone, for the info. Very helpful!

The only thing I run on this particular system is the server end of Sage (i.e., I never use the client interface on it). Moving to a platform with greater memory is a strong argument for linux.

But it sounds like I may run into some sleep/wake issues. I have a NAS4Free box, which is based on BSD, and getting it to sleep is a bit Rube Goldberg (there's a crond script which monitors ethernet packet counts, and does a shutdown when the number is below a certain threshold).

What experience/recommendations do linux users have on getting their Sage servers to sleep when not in use?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-09-2016, 08:18 PM
SageWizdom SageWizdom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: https://github.com/SageWizdom/SageConnect
Posts: 216
Since I haven't seen anyone ask this, how comfortable you are with Linux vs Windows. I'm hopeful that at some point SageTV can be appliance level (install and forget), but its definitely not right now. If you're not a huge Linux user you might get frustrated at some of the troubleshooting.

As noted above, I think there are definite benefits to the Linux build, but if it makes you crazy I think those benefits are quickly outweighed by the experience and comfort.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-10-2016, 05:21 PM
chairmanmao's Avatar
chairmanmao chairmanmao is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 80
I'm pretty comfortable with linux. I ran my own linux-based firewall/NAT/email server for years before routers got smart enough and cheap enough and fast enough for home use. I do a fair amount of work on several Raspberry Pis, too.

But maybe the best metric is that I'm always typing 'ls' in Windows command prompts when I mean 'dir'
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-10-2016, 10:11 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by chairmanmao View Post
I'm pretty comfortable with linux. I ran my own linux-based firewall/NAT/email server for years before routers got smart enough and cheap enough and fast enough for home use. I do a fair amount of work on several Raspberry Pis, too.

But maybe the best metric is that I'm always typing 'ls' in Windows command prompts when I mean 'dir'
Maybe the best metric is that you use the command prompt at all
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
linux, windows


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux, Windows 7 or WHS ? RonnieHafoss General Discussion 12 03-18-2011 08:51 AM
Windows or Linux for v7? surge SageTV Beta Test Software 8 12-12-2010 02:03 PM
V6.3.6 RC for Windows & Linux Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 1 01-04-2008 11:20 PM
Linux or Windows? Which to buy? Joe Bloggins SageTV Linux 7 11-16-2007 08:59 PM
Linux vs. Windows Anyone? RAlfieri SageTV Linux 1 05-15-2006 03:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.