SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2019, 06:23 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
Problems with DVD menu SageTVx64 for Windows

I recently tried to watch a ripped DVD(TS folder) and was unable to navigate past the DVD Menu. I believe this is the first time I tried to watch a DVD like this since moving to the 64 bit version of SageTV for Windows (Server and Client).

This is happening on the 64 bit version of the Client. I am using LAV filters. The OS is Windows 7 x64.
I did attempt to change all decoder setting to the Microsoft Decoder, but it didn't make a difference. And just to be clear, I made the decoder change under both the DVD and the Multimedia sections of the settings.

I wanted to try the x86 client (same machine as x64 client) but it will no longer connect to x64 server. I was able to connect the x86 client to the x64 Server in the past but the current x64 server may be slightly new version than what I was using at that time.

Whenever I have run into this issue in the past, it was typically due to the decoder I was using. I am fairly sure I have used the LAV filters and been able to navigate DVD menus under the x86 client. I know for sure I have used the Microsoft decoders and been able to navigate DVD menus.

Besides the switch to Sage x64 for Windows, the only other change I can think of is I have also disabled the default Sage splitter so I can watch MKV's.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2019, 02:23 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,582
No body is ripped DVD that way any more, Just rip the main movie as video file in MP4 with out all that navigate junk.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2019, 03:08 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
No body is ripped DVD that way any more, Just rip the main movie as video file in MP4 with out all that navigate junk.
All of our DVD's are ripped that way and we like checking out the extras sometimes.

I'll give DVD menus a try this evening.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2019, 04:28 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
All of our DVD's are ripped that way and we like checking out the extras sometimes.

I'll give DVD menus a try this evening.
We got rid them a long time nobody in our house even bother with the extra stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-2019, 06:02 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,963
I am using the beta Sage 9.2.0.441 (32-bit) on Windows 10 pro (64-bit). Using the LAV filters that Sage installed. Using EVR renderer. AMD integrated graphics on Ryzen CPU.

I tested several DVD rips that I had and menus worked fine in all of them.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-05-2019, 10:30 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,406
I confirmed that menus don't work for me either. I traced the problem to a 32-64 bit data type issue in the DVD processing code. I patched a DLL and it's working for me now. I'll post the patched DLL to the 64-bit installer news thread since most watch that one. I'll work on getting the code to the beta building and submitting a pull request next once it's tested.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2019, 06:33 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
After replacing the file on the client machine, DVD Menus are working again.

Thank You.


P.S. Feel free to move this thread to the x64 area, if it seems a better fit.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2019, 09:40 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by UgaData View Post
After replacing the file on the client machine, DVD Menus are working again.

Thank You.


P.S. Feel free to move this thread to the x64 area, if it seems a better fit.
Good to hear. I’ll submit the changes. This thread is fine here as there are already a few different intertwined issues in the installer news thread. I just wanted to post the patch there since many more are watching that thread.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2020, 03:16 AM
Jaroch76 Jaroch76 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
An Improvement, but not Perfect

I don't watch DVDs that often anymore, so it took me awhile to come across this thread. I've applied the fixed DLL, and things are better, but not much. I'll use The Incredibles 2 on DVD as an example.

Before, when I went into the chapter-selection menu, there was no indicator as to which chapter was highlighted. Now, there is, in the form of a red box surrounding the desired chapter. However, that box doesn't move when I press a button on the remote. Sometimes, “kicking” the screen by opening the SageTV menu for a second will refresh the DVD menu as well, and I'll see that the red box has moved to the newly desired chapter. And sometimes not.

I'm running SageTV x64 v9.2.2, LAV Filters v0.74.1, Windows 10 build 20H2.

I've tried the latest version of SageTV both with and without the patched DLL.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2020, 12:06 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,406
The broken DVD menu was only on 64-bit version 9.2.0 and the symptoms were that the menu selections never moved anywhere. The patch DLL I posted back in 3/19 would be included in 9.2.1 and 9.2.2 already.

What you’re experiencing sounds more like something with the graphics rendering not refreshing properly and seems to be unrelated to this bug.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-01-2021, 05:23 AM
Jaroch76 Jaroch76 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
The broken DVD menu was only on 64-bit version 9.2.0 and the symptoms were that the menu selections never moved anywhere. The patch DLL I posted back in 3/19 would be included in 9.2.1 and 9.2.2 already.

What you’re experiencing sounds more like something with the graphics rendering not refreshing properly and seems to be unrelated to this bug.
wnjj: Thank you for the quick response. I do appreciate it.

I have to admit that, with what I've seen, the glitches that I've seen do fit into the broken-DVD-menu category more than a graphics-rendering-issue category. And it's weird that replacing the original DLL in v9.2.2. with a copy downloaded from the forum made things somewhat better.

Still, I've seen plenty of weird things, and I foresee a lot of trial-and-error ahead of me as I narrow down exactly what is causing the problem. If I ever find a solution, I'll post it here.

Thank you again, and I wish you a Happy New Year.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-01-2021, 07:16 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
What are your DVD settings under Setup>Detailed Setup>DVD?

Besides the DVD Drive question (mine is set to NO, since I don't have a drive on my client). Try setting all to default (works for me but your setup is different and may need tweaking)

The codec/filter used under the DVD setup can make or break how well the DVD menus work or don't work. If you were on Windows 7 I would suggest using the Microsoft supply DVD codec.

I don't have Incredibles 2 as a DVD so I can't verify the LAV filters work in the chapters. If I can find a DVD with chapters, I will report back if they seem to work or not.

Don't really use DVDs much any more. I have been ripping everything to MKV without menus, both DVDs and BluRays.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-01-2021, 08:17 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
Ok, so the problem with using Default as the setting, it can be difficult to know what you're really using.

I thought the "Microsoft-DTV-DVD-Video Decoder" wasn't available in Windows 10. It still shows up as an option for Video and Audio decoder. The Microsoft option doesn't work for me under Windows 10.

I have the following:

"DVD Video Renderer" set to Default.
"DVD Video Decoder Filter" set to LAV Video Decoder
"DVD Audio Renderer" - this will be specfic to your setup-
"DVD Audio Decoder Filter" set to LAV Audio Decoder

I have made the presumption that when you indicate "chapters" it is similar to the "Scene Selection" option in some DVD menus.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-02-2021, 05:13 PM
Jaroch76 Jaroch76 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 14
Thank you, UgaData, for your help. You beat me to punch when it came to sitting down SageTV, a few DVDs, and some trial-and-error.

I had been using the EVR renderer with LAV Video Decoder. The EVR renderer, combined with the Microsoft-DTV-DVD-Video Decoder worked very well with Windows 7, and so I stuck with it when I switched to Windows 10 and LAV. It never occurred to me that EVR and LAV might not play together too well, at least with DVDs.

I've just switched to the VMR9 renderer with LAV Video Decoder. That works perfectly for DVDs, and I can see the selection indicator move about now in the DVD menus, including the scene-selection window.

Plain old Video Overlay Renderer doesn't work with LAV at all, at least not for me, giving me a black screen. And the Default Video Renderer works just as well as the VMR9, but since I don't know what it's actually using, I've opted to stick with VMR9 for now.

Like you, I'm surprised that the Microsoft-DTV-DVD-Video Decoder is still an option. I'm even more surprised that it does play the DVD, but the menu rendering is completely broken.

As for my DVD collection, I don't delve into it too much, anymore. I've got them all ripped to a giant hard drive, but in many cases I bought the DVD more for the special features, and so I've opted to keep them as a near-perfect duplicate of the original, menus and all.

Thank you both again for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dvd menus


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ripped DVD menu's not working on windows 7 AJ Bertelson SageTV Software 9 08-24-2010 04:26 PM
MyMovies Menu problems SWKerr Sage My Movies 3 08-24-2010 03:57 PM
Menu button starts Windows 7 Media Center SDeGonge Hardware Support 6 03-18-2010 05:35 PM
Menu Problems BigGator SageTV Beta Test Software 6 09-18-2005 07:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.