SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2013, 08:15 PM
CptKirk CptKirk is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Program Guide shows 'No Data'

Just came home tonight to see this. It was ok yesterday.

Comcast in Houston, TX.

Anyone else?

Anyway to resync this or tell it to pull data?
__________________
SageTV running on: Win7 SP1 64 Pro
SageTV 9.1.9.778 (32 bit)
Java 1.7.0_80 (32 bit)
OpenDCT 0.5.29 (Comcast Music channels set to FFmpeg)
Clients: HD300 (x2)
HDHR3-CC Prime 20190621 (Comcast CableCard) - 3 Tuners
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 1)
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 2)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2013, 08:35 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,060
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...704#post119704
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2013, 10:06 PM
CptKirk CptKirk is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Thanks, I thought there was a post for that...

So I started through the debugging steps from the posts by Opus4.

1. Did a forced EPG update and waited over 24 hours. Nothing, still 'No Data'.

2. Did this one:
Quote:
Close down SageTV and the service and open up your Sage.properties file. Try removing all the properties from the that file that have the string 'server_update_id' or 'expanded_until' in them. Now run SageTV again.
Nothing, still 'No Data'.

3. Checked the windows firewall, no changes there, all ports still correct. Nothing, still 'No Data'.

4. Did this one:
Quote:
If there is no firewall issue, check that a plugin has not modified the epg/epg_import_plugin property. If that property is not blank, then close SageTV, remove the line from Sage.properties, and restart SageTV.
Nothing, still 'No Data'.

5. Turned on debug logging and checked the sagetv_0.txt, sagetv_1.txt, sagetv_2.txt, sagetv_3.txt log files after 24 hours. No EPG errors listed anywhere. Nothing, still 'No Data'.

6.
Quote:
Your provider may have changed the name of the lineup recently
. I didn't think Comcast Houston would be changing their lineup names but I thought I should check this as well. When setting up a new one after entering the zip code I get the following error:
Quote:
There was an error connecting to the SageTV Server. Please be sure your Internet connection is established and that you have entered the correct Zip/Postal Code.
On that machine running SageTV I can browse websites with Internet Explorer. From withing SageTV Weather, Youtube, etc work ok.

Is this happening to anyone else?

Any ideas on what to try next?
__________________
SageTV running on: Win7 SP1 64 Pro
SageTV 9.1.9.778 (32 bit)
Java 1.7.0_80 (32 bit)
OpenDCT 0.5.29 (Comcast Music channels set to FFmpeg)
Clients: HD300 (x2)
HDHR3-CC Prime 20190621 (Comcast CableCard) - 3 Tuners
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 1)
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 2)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2013, 01:53 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,060
Remove the Video sources and re-add them.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2013, 06:51 PM
CptKirk CptKirk is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
How will that help if when I try to add them I get the error message I stated after entering the zip code

Quote:
There was an error connecting to the SageTV Server. Please be sure your Internet connection is established and that you have entered the correct Zip/Postal Code.
__________________
SageTV running on: Win7 SP1 64 Pro
SageTV 9.1.9.778 (32 bit)
Java 1.7.0_80 (32 bit)
OpenDCT 0.5.29 (Comcast Music channels set to FFmpeg)
Clients: HD300 (x2)
HDHR3-CC Prime 20190621 (Comcast CableCard) - 3 Tuners
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 1)
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 2)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2013, 08:13 PM
CptKirk CptKirk is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 134
Well, I started down this path from the FAQ

Quote:
If that doesn't work try removing all your sources and then create a new source, but choose a different provider. Let that update and now go back and remove that source and choose your original source.
Removed all 7 sources.
Added one new source back and instead of 77055 Comcast I did 77056 DirectTV.
Finished that and let the new source do its update.
Removed that new dummy source and added back 1 original source using the STB.
When it was done I used the Web Interface to force an EPG update.
When checked again I had guide data back again.
Slowly went through the process of added the other 6 original sources back (setting up channels, arph!).
Did another Web Interface to force an EPG update.
Guide data is slowly getting populated for all the 100's of channels now.

One note....

I am seeing the following error messages in the debug log file that was never showing up before:

Quote:
Wed 12/11 20:09:23.538 [EPG@713ba5] ERROR Updating EPG Source Comcast Digital - Houston
Wed 12/11 20:09:23.539 [EPG@713ba5] ErrorText:expand called on Comcast Digital - Houston at Wed 12/11 20:09:13.397 expandedUntil=Wed 12/11 20:08:40.491 scannedUntil=Sun 8/17 1:12:55.807
EPG Expanding Comcast Digital - Houston at Wed 12/11 20:09:13.397
Repeated errors in communicating with server :java.net.SocketTimeoutException: connect timed out
Do those happen to look familiar?
__________________
SageTV running on: Win7 SP1 64 Pro
SageTV 9.1.9.778 (32 bit)
Java 1.7.0_80 (32 bit)
OpenDCT 0.5.29 (Comcast Music channels set to FFmpeg)
Clients: HD300 (x2)
HDHR3-CC Prime 20190621 (Comcast CableCard) - 3 Tuners
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 1)
Hauppauge 1950 STB SD (USB-UIRT Zone 2)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2013, 04:57 AM
rochurch rochurch is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Exclamation No choice for providers setting up new source

I'm on day 2 of struggling with this. I added an antenna in my attic and turned on an HDHR that I had used for years before switching to a prime with cablecard. The cable signal is weak and Time Warner marks everything except networks as copy once, so I wanted a better signal for free on those channels.
When I add the services I can't get ANY choice of providers via zip code. I have to copy an existing lineup to have any chance. When I do and pick / remap my channels I get No Data in the guide.
I'l go back through the more detailed steps like checking the properties file, but is anyone else not getting any choices for providers when setting up a new source?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2013, 05:26 AM
rochurch rochurch is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
odd property

Here is a followup. I saw this strange thing show up in my sage properties file.

epg/epg_import_plugin=uk.co.mdjcox.epgplugin.EpgPlugin

I went and checked my plugins and I don't have any plugin that says anything about EPG.

I removed it (with sage service stopped) and that took care of my problem. Woo hoo!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-18-2013, 02:28 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by rochurch View Post
Here is a followup. I saw this strange thing show up in my sage properties file.

epg/epg_import_plugin=uk.co.mdjcox.epgplugin.EpgPlugin

I went and checked my plugins and I don't have any plugin that says anything about EPG.

I removed it (with sage service stopped) and that took care of my problem. Woo hoo!!!!
You had the WebFeed encoder plugin installed at one time - I believe but I could easily be wrong as well.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Program guide past EPG data Oddity SageTV Software 6 11-29-2010 12:03 PM
No Data in Program Guide zippyfeet SageTV EPG Service 3 04-03-2010 01:51 PM
Program Guide Data Issue Cleveland1 SageTV EPG Service 2 07-17-2008 10:53 AM
Program Guide Data jeidson SageTV Software 31 02-26-2006 11:33 AM
Access to program guide data GKenny SageTV Customizations 4 02-26-2005 04:22 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.