SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2019, 04:44 AM
fbures fbures is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 100
STV jumping off the TV to PC display

My setup:

NVIDIA 1050 Ti with HDMI output to DENON AVR and from there to TV. Other output is connected to a PC monitor for system administration. Basically a two monitors PC.

Now, since I replaced my dead ONKYO AVR with DENON, each time I turn the AVR off the STV jumps to my PC monitor. When I turn the AVR back on, I have to go to the PC and manually move the STV back to the TV screen.

Is there a way to force the STV to stay on TV screen as it used to work with my previous ONKYO AVR?

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2019, 06:56 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 341
I'm guessing your old AVR supported HDMI passthrough and your new one doesn't or is not configured. Check the AVR user manual and see if you can enable HDMI passthrough and set it to the PC HDMI input.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2019, 07:34 AM
fbures fbures is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
I'm guessing your old AVR supported HDMI passthrough and your new one doesn't or is not configured. Check the AVR user manual and see if you can enable HDMI passthrough and set it to the PC HDMI input.
My old AVR did not have any HDMI connections, so the switching was done directly on the TV. Hence, the TV was permanently connected to the STV PC.

I configured the HDMI passthrough as you suggested and as long as the AVR is on, the STV does not jump off to the PC monitor anymore when switching video sources. However, once the AVR is turned off for the night, the next day the STV will be back on the PC monitor.

Is it possible to somehow anchor an application to a particular monitor in Windows 10?

Thanks
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2019, 10:44 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbures View Post
Is it possible to somehow anchor an application to a particular monitor in Windows 10?
I'm not sure about Windows 10, but there was no way to do this in Windows 7 or XP. Your best bet may be to buy an HDMI splitter and place it between the PC and AVR for the sole purpose of keeping the HDMI signal active. The other option is disable pin 19 on your HDMI cable (google this as a common fix for your problem).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2019, 01:30 PM
fbures fbures is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 100
Iíve done some research and here are the results:

HDMI splitter had no effect whatsoever.

I found that when HDMI throughput is set, the STV would stay on TV even when the AVR is turned off.

What causes the problem is the startup sequence of the DENON AVR. No matter what the HDMI setting is or whether the TV is on or off, the STV would jump to the PC monitor every time during the DENON startup sequence. There must be something there that disrupts the HDMI connection between the PC and the TV.

It seems the problem is OT for the STV community.

I ordered an HDMI adapter that is supposed to disrupt the HDMI handshaking regarding the deviceís power status. Pin 19 blockage did not work for me - the HDMI connection went completely dead.

I will report my findings (if any) when I receive the adapter.

Thanks
Frank
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2019, 11:40 AM
fbures fbures is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 100
As I promised, the report:

I ordered the Monitor Detect Killer from
http://monitordetectkiller.com/

After installation, the problem disappeared and the STV stays on the TV after the power up/down cycle.

Highly recommended.

Frank
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV Jumping Without Me Doing It ? squeed SageTV Software 0 04-11-2009 04:35 PM
Alphabet Title Jumping Taddeusz SageMC Custom Interface 8 01-21-2009 09:43 PM
Jumping in 6.3.10 dooferlad SageTV Beta Test Software 6 03-09-2008 03:59 PM
DVD playback jumping around etk29321 SageTV Software 0 06-10-2005 07:28 AM
Sage 2.1 RC5: Picture jumping up and down pseudorandom SageTV Beta Test Software 1 10-22-2004 10:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.