SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2010, 02:00 PM
sagetv5150 sagetv5150 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 41
HD300 Deinterlacing issues with latest firmware

I'm wondering if anyone else has observed something I'm seeing with the latest upgrade to the HD300 beta firmware 201012009-0. My setup is SageTV server V7.0.23.246 with HD300 extender. I'm noticing that when watching interlaced TV captured by my Hauppage HVR-2250 card (either HD or non-HD channels), I now see frequent interlaced video when viewed on a progressive display like my 720p DLP. For example last night's NFL game broadcast on KNBCDT's Cox cable feed (1080i). The fast moving sports makes it more obvious. I never noticed this before the firmware upgrade. I see the same on many of the non-HD (and non-progressive) channels as well.

I started poking around the setup menu of the HD300 (when in standalone mode). I noticed a new menu option under 'Advanced Setup' --> Multimedia. At the very bottom of this menu beneath 'Force HDMI Display Mode' is a new option called 'Motion Adaptive Deinterlacing', with a default value of enabled. While this would seem like a good thing, I wondered if disabling it might help with the HD300's ability to properly deinterlace. After setting this to disabled and restarting in extender mode, I still see a bunch of interlacing. I then went back into this new menu, and noticed it still set to enabled (as though my setting of disabled didn't stick).

I rolled back to the previous firmware 20101007-0 where this menu option isn't even present. And the interlacing goes away. So what happened in the new firmware?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2010, 01:23 PM
notverysage notverysage is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 70
How can you tell what is interlaced and what is not?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2010, 01:34 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,029
oddly for me with the new beta, Survivor on CBS now has fewer interlacing issues. before it was very noticeable.
__________________
Server: AMD 9600 Phenom on XP, Gigabyte GA-MA78GPM, 2GB RAM, 320+250+500 GB SATA drives, HDHomeRun Prime, HD-PVR x.5.1, Paterson serial
Client/Encoder:AMD 3800+ X2, 512 MB RAM, ATI X1650 XT, nMediaPC case, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Cyberlink/ArcSoft decoders, USB-UIRT
Client/Encoder: AMD 3800+ X2, 512 MB RAM, 6150 graphics, nMediaPC case, ArcSoft decoders
Client: HD300, Asus Pundit P1-AH1, AMD 3800+ X2 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 6150 graphics, ArcSoft decoders
Backup: Synology
SageTV version: FINAL
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2011, 10:18 AM
sagetv5150 sagetv5150 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by notverysage View Post
How can you tell what is interlaced and what is not?
If you mean how can I tell the content was of an interlaced source vs progressive, I can view the mpg file in VLC and the like on the PC and tell. Or I can find out what the source was broadcast at. For example CBS and NBC's HD sources are at 1080i. ABC and Fox's HD is at 720p.

If you mean what am I seeing that tells me it was interlaced, it is the "combing" effect you see when one interlaced field follows another interlaced field 1/60 of a second apart on fast moving motion. Resulting in combing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2011, 10:24 AM
sagetv5150 sagetv5150 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
oddly for me with the new beta, Survivor on CBS now has fewer interlacing issues. before it was very noticeable.
hmm...strange. How about non-HD channels broadcast at 480i? Do they look ok? I have the non-HD cable package with Cox cable. So the only HD channles I get are the networks. The rest is SD. So ESPN in SD (presumably 480i) definitely was a channel with a lot of obvious poor deinterlacing by the HD300, given the nature of the fast moving content. Now that I've rolled back my HD300 firmware, the content is properly deinterlaced.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
deinterlacing, firmware, hd300, interlacing


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300 deinterlacing something fishy SageTV Media Extender 0 11-25-2010 09:05 PM
HD300 audio issue latest beta firmware gdippel SageTV Beta Test Software 4 11-25-2010 07:05 AM
No HD Sound in Latest Firmware benjamintm SageTV Beta Test Software 12 05-24-2008 01:35 PM
Latest firmware changes malbec SageTV Beta Test Software 1 05-08-2008 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.