SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-12-2010, 12:44 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
I'm finishing up the review of the MediaMVP HD as I type this - so hopefully this coming week I'll have it on GeekTonic.

Regarding the questions about using it as a SageTV extender. I don't think the old MVP software will work on this thing. I do think someone knowledgeable about Linux and such might be able to make a firmware to do the job with this thing, but I'd much rather use a supported extender with SageTV personally.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-19-2010, 09:05 AM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I'm finishing up the review of the MediaMVP HD as I type this - so hopefully this coming week I'll have it on GeekTonic.

Regarding the questions about using it as a SageTV extender. I don't think the old MVP software will work on this thing. I do think someone knowledgeable about Linux and such might be able to make a firmware to do the job with this thing, but I'd much rather use a supported extender with SageTV personally.
Have you popped the case off an MVP-HD and an HD200? Are they the same hardware? Does "dmesg" in a linux shell in both the MVP-HD and the HD200 show the same h/w present? If yes, then for $119 at NewEgg and no HD200 stock, it might be worth trying to flash the HD200 f/w onto the MVP-HD. At worst you've got a $119 brick, at best an HD200.

Drew
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-19-2010, 09:32 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Not sure the Hauppauge guys that game me that MVP-HD would like me doing that. I will compare the two to see if similar but if my memory serves me well (I did pop off the MediaMVP-HD cover) I don't think so.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:34 PM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 910
would be real nice if these were supported. there are going for about ~$87 on amazon right now.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-26-2010, 01:44 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Yeah, but I am pretty sure they are nothing more than HD200's so the new HD300's are faster plus you would end up having to buy a license for $30 (like back when the original MediaMVP's were supported). Now you are already upto $117 for a device that is slower and less capable than what Sage is offering for $150. When the HD200 was $180 it made sense, now it really doesn't.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-28-2011, 12:22 PM
Tom Tom is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Question

Are there any news about SageTV and MediaMVP-HD?

I'm very interested to use this combination.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-09-2011, 01:07 AM
DrP DrP is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 26
for all non-us residents it really would be nice for having the possibility to buy hardware around the corner plus paying license fees to sage so in case of a hardware defect there would be that much expenses and efforts in sending hardware back to th US.

I own a hd200 and would like to have at least 2 more of them - i really would like to pay for licenses and using a MediMVP-HD ..

I already tried to find some more guys from germany for buying a couple of extenders in german forum - there just on ONE reply.

Germans seem to be very mistrustful and probably expect a 2-Year warranty even from a centralized order by somebody ...

Regards from Germany
-> hoping, Sage will supply Hauppauge MediaMVP-HD one time
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-28-2011, 05:33 AM
gdippel gdippel is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bayside, New York
Posts: 268
Hauppauge Media MVP HD "stopgap extender"?

Anyone have any experience with Hauppauge's Media MVP HD? Could it possibly be used as a makeshift extender for those unwilling to pay the exorbitant ebay prices caused by panic buying of HD300s? Possibly by using Sages's web server, could we achieve something approaching the extender experience?

I have no idea how this could be done, but throw this out as food for thought for our ingenious developer community.

* merged *
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-28-2011, 09:58 PM
Yalbik Yalbik is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdippel View Post
Anyone have any experience with Hauppauge's Media MVP HD? Could it possibly be used as a makeshift extender for those unwilling to pay the exorbitant ebay prices caused by panic buying of HD300s? Possibly by using Sages's web server, could we achieve something approaching the extender experience?

I have no idea how this could be done, but throw this out as food for thought for our ingenious developer community.
I can't really see the Hauppauge box being used...haven't seen any word of it being hacked or customized at all (very unlike the original MediaMVP).

I'm thinking a device with a built-in browser would be a better fit (e.g. the LG ST600 or the Viewsonic VMP75).
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-29-2011, 06:04 AM
gdippel gdippel is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bayside, New York
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yalbik View Post
I can't really see the Hauppauge box being used...haven't seen any word of it being hacked or customized at all (very unlike the original MediaMVP).
One of the reasons that I posted is that the the Hauppauge Web site indicates that it is customizable:

Quote:
Frequently asked questions about developing a custom application for MediaMVP-HD

MediaMVP-HD is Linux "box" where new applications can be added. Hauppauge has provided a variety of mechanisms by which the product can be extended by hobbyists and commercial parties looking to do customization.
Even a customized Media MVP HD with half the features of the HD 200 or 300 would be better than nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 06-29-2011, 08:06 AM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdippel View Post
One of the reasons that I posted is that the the Hauppauge Web site indicates that it is customizable
Exactly. I don't see why this should be more difficult than a PC-based Client install ...
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-30-2011, 01:02 PM
heatvent's Avatar
heatvent heatvent is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 258
Here is a link to the developer FAQ for the MVP HD...

http://hauppauge.lightpath.net/softw...erview-1.2.pdf

Based on this, I don't think you could get it to act as an extender without somehow hacking the firmware. You can load your own apps on the the MVP and have them control it via a CLI, but the components of the firmware appear to be proprietary. So if you installed SageTV client, I am not sure how it would access the video playback hardware, IR receiver, etc.

I am not a programmer so maybe I am totally wrong on this but that's what I took away from the FAQ.
__________________
SageTV 7.0.0.23, P5Q-EM Motherboard, 2.5Ghz Quad Core, Windows 7 x64, HVR-2250, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD, 2 HD-200 Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-03-2011, 10:45 PM
bellyman bellyman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 30
Anyone using an Hauppauge MediaMVP-HD unit?

Just happened to check out their site and noticed this has been added. I currently use the MediaMVP SD model (x4).

http://www.hauppauge.com/pics/mediamvphd_top.jpg

Link to product here.

Interested if anyone has it and if existing licenses/SageTV extender program works? My gut says NO since the Google take over.

Thanks

* merged *
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-04-2011, 12:18 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,953
This has been out for a while, and no, it doesn't work as a sagetv extender.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-15-2012, 09:25 AM
darinnelson8 darinnelson8 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Did you try?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bellyman View Post
Just happened to check out their site and noticed this has been added. I currently use the MediaMVP SD model (x4).

http://www.hauppauge.com/pics/mediamvphd_top.jpg

Link to product here.

Interested if anyone has it and if existing licenses/SageTV extender program works? My gut says NO since the Google take over.

Thanks

* merged *
Did you try the Hauppauge MediaMVP-HD as a replacement for your MVP SD models? I can't imagine paying the over $300 prices the SageTV HD 200 and HD 300 are going for on ebay. Just checking to see if you or ANYONE has tried using this recently.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
europe, extender, hauppauge mvp hd


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New sageTV extender or Hauppauge MediaMVP-HD Ericft General Discussion 1 11-22-2009 07:12 PM
45 button Hauppauge Remote work with MediaMVP? jessecoffey Hardware Support 2 10-24-2008 02:10 PM
Can't get SageTV to work with directly connected MediaMVP JParedis SageTV Media Extender 18 10-20-2006 03:37 PM
Hauppauge MediaMVP same as Sage Extender? Ryand833 SageTV Media Extender 4 10-20-2006 01:53 PM
Hauppauge MediaMVP Extender Freezing Problem 2FarGone SageTV Media Extender 21 12-29-2005 08:39 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.