SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2010, 12:47 PM
jgs14 jgs14 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Question HD200 won't play Video_TS folders?

Hello,

I am having difficulty because my HD200 won't play DVDs ripped to Video_TS folders. They show up in the Media Center video list, but when you select 'play' I get a black screen for just a second, then it returns to the SageTV menu.

Some technical information:

1. SageTV 6.6.2 on Windows XP, HD200 with latest firmware, connected via wired ethernet
2. SageTV internal video and audio decoder selected (does this make a difference on an extender??)
3. Rips made with DVD Decrypter, with 'files' setting. All play fine with Mplayer locally

My questions:

- I know playing DVD folders is supported locally, but does it also work on an HD200? (this used to work on my old Haupage MediaMVP extender...)
- Is there a better way I should be ripping? DVD Decrypter is old as the hills, but I have been using it for like ~4 years without problem...

Its hard to know if this is a problem with my SageTV setup, the extender, or the rip itself...

Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2010, 12:55 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
I have no problems playing ripped dvd's on my HD200's. I use DVDFab to rip them to movie only (although menus or anything else are not an issue per reports of other users, I just want to save the space). Do they show up as DVD's if you select the "DVD" list in the media center?
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2010, 02:28 PM
Grant.Edwards Grant.Edwards is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgs14 View Post
I am having difficulty because my HD200 won't play DVDs ripped to
Video_TS folders. They show up in the Media Center video list, but
when you select 'play' I get a black screen for just a second, then it
returns to the SageTV menu.
[...]

- I know playing DVD folders is supported locally, but does it also
work on an HD200? (this used to work on my old Haupage MediaMVP
extender...)
It works fine for me. I do it all the time.
Quote:
- Is there a better way I should be ripping? DVD Decrypter is old as
the hills, but I have been using it for like ~4 years without
problem...
I use k9copy, but that's on a Linux server....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2010, 09:53 AM
jgs14 jgs14 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Thumbs up SOLVED: Why I couldn't play VIDEO_TS

Thanks to all those who replied that this was working. I ripped a bunch of different DVDs and finally figured out what the problem was. Commercial DVDs played just fine, however non-commercial (e.g., without copy protection) DVDs somehow got 'screwed up' when ripped with DVD Decrypter. While they wouldn't play in SageTV, I could play them in mplayer however.

The solution was just to 'drag and drop' the contents of these non-commercial DVDs in windows explorer to the appropriate drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dvd, extender, hd200, video_ts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folders lost by HD200 (10/16 beta) mike_ac SageTV Beta Test Software 0 10-23-2009 07:25 AM
Playback Video_TS folders on PC Kypp SageTV Software 9 02-08-2009 06:23 AM
Video files in the same folders as VIDEO_TS not visible bastafidli SageTV Software 5 12-15-2007 02:14 AM
Imported Videos - Suddenly Shows Folder + VIDEO_TS & VIDEO_TS~1 antplugger SageTV Software 2 09-18-2006 03:32 PM
Can you get RealPlayer play Video_TS off hard drive? shhas General Discussion 0 07-13-2004 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.