SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2009, 09:59 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
FanArt Folder Location For Series.

Hi,

I've looked and looked, but can't find a definitive answer to this.

I have a load of TV series converted to Xvid/mkv and stored on my NAS. This obviously puts them under Videos/Movies as far as SageTV is concerned (i.e. they are no longer under Recorded TV).

The fan art was working fine until I upgraded to the new version of SageMC today. I've sorted all the standard movies and recorded TV by added the relevant folders, but I just can't get series to work!

FanArt Store Structure:

//server/Movies/24/Backgrounds/24.jpg

Data Store Structure:

//server/TV/24/S07/24 S07 E01.mkv

No fan art is displayed. Please, please let me know what I need to do to get this working!

TIA,

Nick.

Last edited by Nick_W; 03-30-2009 at 10:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:25 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
I second this. How do we do fan art for TV series that don't have EPG data and are stored in the media library?
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:57 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Your missing another folder level.

\\Server\Fanart\Movies\24\Backgrounds\24.jpg

You can then have multiple backgrounds under the \backgrounds folder and SageMC will cycle between them all, which is a cool feature.

The same goes for banners (except they don't cycle):

\\Server\Fanart\Movies\24\Banners\24.jpg

And posters soon as well (currently not implemented in SageMC):

\\Server\Fanart\Movies\24\Posters\24.jpg

Both my imports fully support posters and backgrounds stored in this manner.

And ultimately you will also hopefully get:

\\Server\Fanart\TV\24\Season 4\Posters\24.jpg
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders

Last edited by jaminben; 03-30-2009 at 11:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:00 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
Your missing another folder level.

\\Server\Fanart\24\Backgrounds\24.jpg

You can then have multiple backgrounds under the \backgrounds and SageMC will cycle between them all.
Typo, sorry, I've corrected it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:01 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
Your missing another folder level.

\\Server\Fanart\24\Backgrounds\24.jpg

You can then have multiple backgrounds under the \backgrounds and SageMC will cycle between them all.

The same goes for banners (except they don't cycle):

\\Server\Fanart\24\Banners\24.jpg

And poster soon as well (currently not implemented in SageMC):

\\Server\Fanart\24\Posters\24.jpg

Both my imports fully support posters and backgrounds stored in this manner.
Well, it doesn't work
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:07 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick_W View Post
Well, it doesn't work
Sorry, I mis-typed it as well

\\Server\Fanart\Movies\24\Backgrounds\24.jpg
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:09 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
Sorry, I mis-typed it as well

\\Server\Fanart\Movies\24\Backgrounds\24.jpg
That's what I have in the first post?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:10 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
And you've specified the correct file path within SageMC options? And also enabled fanart options?
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:11 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
And you've specified the correct file path within SageMC options?
Yes, it works fine for movies and recorded tv, it's just series (which are technically movies in this instance).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:14 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick_W View Post
Data Store Structure:

//server/TV/24/S07/24 S07 E01.mkv
I think this maybe your issue, have you tried changing one show to just 24.mkv. As a test.
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:14 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick_W View Post
Yes, it works fine for movies and recorded tv, it's just series.
Just to clarify. Say I have the following:

Dead Like Me-S01E01-Pilot.mkv
Dead Like Me-S01E02-Dead Girl Walking.mkv

Under the current system, AFAIK, I need different fanart for each episode stored in my media library. This is ludicrous and a waste of space.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:16 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
That worked for just that one file!

//server/TV/24/S07/24.mkv

Last edited by Nick_W; 03-30-2009 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:20 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
I need different fanart for each episode stored in my media library. This is ludicrous and a waste of space.
I hope you are wrong. If you are correct then that is ridiculous!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:21 AM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Actually, under the current system (as of the release last night) you would use the following folder structure:

Code:
[CentralFanartFolder]\TV\[SeriesTitle]\Backgrounds
[CentralFanartFolder]\TV\[SeriesTitle]\Banners
[CentralFanartFolder]\TV\[SeriesTitle]\Posters
Aloha,
Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:22 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInMaui View Post
Actually, under the current system (as of the release last night) you would use the following folder structure:

Code:
[CentralFanartFolder]\TV\[SeriesTitle]\Backgrounds
[CentralFanartFolder]\TV\[SeriesTitle]\Banners
[CentralFanartFolder]\TV\[SeriesTitle]\Posters
Aloha,
Mike
Yes, I read that in the release notes, but that doesn't work for series that are not recorded tv, i.e. converted to mkv and under movies.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:24 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
But without EPG data how is SageMC supposed to be able to connect an imported episode from DVD to a TV series?
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:25 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick_W View Post
I hope you are wrong. If you are correct then that is ridiculous!
At least it worked

What you need to do is use one of the scrapers to re-import your show into TV recordings. I prefer EP's scraper only because I've not spent much time with Stuckless's. However doing this will proberly cause the poster (coverart) not to work so you maybe better off using Stuckless's BMT which will place poster in the new fanart folder as well as the old way of doing posters.
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders

Last edited by jaminben; 03-30-2009 at 11:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:26 AM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInMaui View Post
Actually, under the current system (as of the release last night) you would use the following folder structure:

Code:
[CentralFanartFolder]\TV\[SeriesTitle]\Backgrounds
[CentralFanartFolder]\TV\[SeriesTitle]\Banners
[CentralFanartFolder]\TV\[SeriesTitle]\Posters
Aloha,
Mike
Not for imported media which hasn't been scraped and added back into the DB. It would appear to Sage as an imported movie.
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:29 AM
Nick_W Nick_W is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaminben View Post
At least it worked

What you need to do is use one of the scrapers to re-import your show into TV recordings. I prefer EP's scraper only because I've not spent much time with Stuckless's.
I don't want to do that. So are you saying I have to have a jpg with the same file name as EVERYONE of my shows? If that is the case then I'll just stop using fanart for imported series.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-30-2009, 11:29 AM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick_W View Post
Yes, I read that in the release notes, but that doesn't work for series that are not recorded tv, i.e. converted to mkv and under movies.
Generate a log file and post it here. That should help us see what is going on.

Aloha,
Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Central FanArt Folder Improvments evilpenguin SageMC Custom Interface 135 07-03-2009 04:37 AM
SageMC not seeing FanArt theiceman1973 SageMC Custom Interface 4 03-19-2009 04:06 PM
How To: Main Menu FanArt...for now. Mtlca401 SageMC Custom Interface 11 01-13-2009 09:55 PM
HD200 FanArt vexhold SageMC Custom Interface 6 12-22-2008 09:45 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.