SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2010, 04:59 PM
kberg31974 kberg31974 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 34
Hauppauge HVR-2250 & HVR-950q

I've been running SageTV with a HVR-2250 to pick up QAM channels over Comcast for quite some time, recently added a HD-200 unit and the family loves it! Now I'm trying to have everything run through the Sage network so even our Comcast STB (SD version) is connected. As to not sacrifice my dual-tuner HD QAM, I'm trying to add a USB HVR-P50q into the mix connected to our STB using MultiDTVTuner to change channels via a serial connection. Whenever I try to add this to my SageTV setup, it hangs on the video preview (using either Tuner or Composite inputs) and/or the video preview is black. WinTV7 seems to work fine and MultiDTVTuner is communicating with the STB fine. I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. I'm a computer tech with my own business and I'm stumped. Anybody have any suggestions?
__________________
Kevin L Berg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:07 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Ignore the preview. Try checking out the resultant video from the program guide.

Secondly, the HVR950 is a really poor choice for SD capture as it doesn't have a hardware MPEG2 Encoder. You would be better off sacrificing one of the tuners from the HVR2250 and use the HVR950 for QAM tuning only.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:48 PM
kberg31974 kberg31974 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulbeers View Post
Ignore the preview. Try checking out the resultant video from the program guide.

Secondly, the HVR950 is a really poor choice for SD capture as it doesn't have a hardware MPEG2 Encoder. You would be better off sacrificing one of the tuners from the HVR2250 and use the HVR950 for QAM tuning only.
Unfortunately, my HVR-2250 has an internal splitter for the dual-tuner ability, so I'd give up dual QAM tuners for a one SD STB. I might just have to lower my WAF and buy a second internal tuner card. If I did that, I could make sure it came with an IR Blaster so I could use our HD STB instead.
__________________
Kevin L Berg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2010, 10:36 AM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
So are you using the coax out of yoru STB? Why wouldn't you use the Svideo or Composite? Those will give you 2x to 3x better image quality....
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2010, 08:50 PM
kberg31974 kberg31974 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 34
I've tried all of them on the 950q. On the 2250, can it record from both tuners and the S-Video at the same time?
__________________
Kevin L Berg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2010, 10:42 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
The 2250 can record 2 programs ag a time. That's it's only real limitation. Where those cme from, is felxible. You can record from two tuners, or two s-video ins, or one of each. Sage is smart in regards to this though, and will work with all four inputs set up. You could use two STB's to two S-Video inputs, and QAM to the two tuner inputs. As long as the channel maps are set up properly, and you set the merits correctly (QAM having higher merit than teh STB) it will prefer recording from the QAM tuners, unless the channel is unavailable there.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2010, 01:27 AM
MXMike MXMike is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by kberg31974 View Post
...Whenever I try to add this to my SageTV setup, it hangs on the video preview (using either Tuner or Composite inputs) and/or the video preview is black. WinTV7 seems to work fine and MultiDTVTuner is communicating with the STB fine. I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. I'm a computer tech with my own business and I'm stumped. Anybody have any suggestions?
I was having similar problems settingup my 950q tuner and fixed it by updating the drivers. With the original drivers (which I thought were the latest version but turned out were not), setup would wither hang or show a black video preview and fail the channel scan.

See my post here to see where I found the latest drivers:
http://forums.freytechnologies.com/f...ad.php?t=46938

Last edited by MXMike; 02-13-2010 at 01:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2010, 10:27 PM
kberg31974 kberg31974 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 34
Thanks everyone for the input! I've run across other posts online that seem to indicate that Windows 7 (at least on some machines) "breaks" the analog inputs on the 950q. That seems to be the case here, so I've decided (once I get a S-Video cable) to connect cable directly to my 950q and my 2250, plus connect my STB to the S-Video input on the 2250. That gives SageTV the choice of 3 QAM tuners or 2 QAM tuners and the STB. How do I tell Sage to give QAM priority on shows?
__________________
Kevin L Berg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2010, 10:37 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Search for 'Encoder_merit'.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVR-1600 & HVR-2250 - each missing diff channel TwistedMelon Hardware Support 1 02-11-2010 06:17 PM
WHS & Hauppauge HVR-2250 & PVR-350 davephan Hardware Support 4 08-04-2009 09:14 AM
How Is the Hauppauge HVR-2250? DFranch Hardware Support 4 07-13-2009 03:23 PM
SageTV and Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950Q / Model 1191 raven70 Hardware Support 1 03-31-2009 12:18 PM
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950Q hybrid video recorder Dukenightvision Hardware Support 6 02-27-2009 06:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.