SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2009, 10:02 PM
mpb's Avatar
mpb mpb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SD
Posts: 13
HD200 - Should I Pull the Trigger (by Tomorrow)

I'm on the fence about getting an HD200 with the $20 off code. I am currently using 5 Hauppauge MVPs with no issues. I only have SD TVs and only record in SD. (and probably will for a while) I like the stand-alone mode option, but is it worth getting one if I only have SD? My only file formats are mpg, XviD avi, and VOB. (all play fine on MVP) Someone convince me that I should get one, other than it's $20 cheaper.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2009, 11:18 PM
Slipshod's Avatar
Slipshod Slipshod is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpb View Post
I'm on the fence about getting an HD200 with the $20 off code. I am currently using 5 Hauppauge MVPs with no issues. I only have SD TVs and only record in SD. (and probably will for a while) I like the stand-alone mode option, but is it worth getting one if I only have SD? My only file formats are mpg, XviD avi, and VOB. (all play fine on MVP) Someone convince me that I should get one, other than it's $20 cheaper.
I can't really think of a good reason unless you *really* want the standalone option. The UI response would be quicker, but is that really worth $180+tax/shipping?

Wait until you're gonna get an HDTV, and then consider it part of the cost of the TV.
__________________
SageTV V7 (WHS), Diamond UI
Server: WHS with Xeon X3350, 4GB ECC, ASUS P5BV-C/4L, recording into a 6.6TB Drive pool
Tuners: 4 (2x HDHR)
Clients: 2x HD300, 1x HD200 Extenders, 1x Placeshifter
2x Roku XD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2009, 04:55 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
It's very worth it. The picture quality, even in SD, is much better than the MediaMVP. And the interface is certainly snappier.
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2009, 08:23 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
I just purchased an HD200 to get the discount and am anxiously awaiting its arrival. I donít record HD yet but have nice Aquos display for my SD recordings. Up to this point I have been using MVP with few problems with SD. Youíre saying that the new HD200 will make my SD look even better? Thatís great.

BTW, you also mention that the UI will be snappier. I have been curious about that. I figured it did. At the same time, how fast is the HD200 compared to an actual client for UI, especially fast forwarding? Right now my MVP is slow; there is no smoothness in fast forwarding. The pulsing that I get is ok but each subsequent press completely turns the screen into a bunch of digitized blocks of no distinguishable value, then thereís a short delay and then the feed resumes, normally this is accompanied with the spinny wheelÖ Itís fairly choppy, teetering on annoying. On my client machine fast forwarding is ridiculously fast and smooth. I can fly through an entire 1 hour recording in seconds by fast forwarding. If I wanted to fast forward through a one hour recording on my MVP it would take probably 5 minutes of stuttering and grinding along. Iím hoping that the HD200 is fairly close to the client, but I guess Iíll take any improvement at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2009, 09:57 AM
Chriscic Chriscic is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 729
The HD200 is not smooth in FF/REW. It is very, very choppy. At least on my HD-PVR recorded files and various MPEG4 videos I have.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage is locking up! (pull me back from the brink) Bear SageTV Software 19 10-17-2004 09:32 AM
How to trigger special IR codes? Bruce L Hardware Support 0 09-21-2004 09:13 PM
2.14 release tomorrow? AJ Bertelson SageTV Beta Test Software 4 02-20-2004 04:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.