SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2010, 07:27 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Comskip Playback for v7

I uploaded a direct (and incomplete) port of JREkiwi's Comskip Playback for the Default STV to the plugin repository. Hopefully this will keep everyone comskipping along until JREkiwi can do a proper V7 port.

Working Sections: changes to the OSD timeline, functionality during playback (autoskip, left/right to skip), and Comskip Options on the OSD and under Detailed Setup -> Customize.

Not Working: Anything else, ie the EPG and info view customizations were not relinked

Post any issues with the port or installation here

v6 thread for reference here

Installation Instructions:
from the Sage V7 main menu go to Setup -> SageTV Plugins -> All Available Plugins -> STVi -> Comskip Playback -> Install Client (or server) Plugin

Note: To get accurate skipping (mostly noticable when using the hd-pvr) make sure you set the following property to true (it is false by default) in sage.properties (ie server property)
Code:
videoframe/disable_timescaling_on_seek=true
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer

Last edited by razrsharpe; 05-22-2010 at 08:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:09 AM
jpaddock3000 jpaddock3000 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 341
Thanks, but I'm surprised that Sage didn't build this in to version 7. Are there actually people who don't use comskip?
__________________
Server - Windows Home Server: Sage 7.1.9 HVR-2250 and HD Homerun Dual Tuner, Intel Core2Duo 2.4GHz, RAM 4 GB, HD OS/Movies/Music/Pictures:500GB (SATAII) TV:1TB (SATAII),
Clients - 2 x HD-300, 3 x MediaMVP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:12 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
my guess is they can't/don't want to for contractual/business reasons... i.e. - they don't want to piss off the content providers
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:14 AM
jpaddock3000 jpaddock3000 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
my guess is they can't/don't want to for contractual/business reasons... i.e. - they don't want to piss off the content providers
Yeah, I guess that make sense.
__________________
Server - Windows Home Server: Sage 7.1.9 HVR-2250 and HD Homerun Dual Tuner, Intel Core2Duo 2.4GHz, RAM 4 GB, HD OS/Movies/Music/Pictures:500GB (SATAII) TV:1TB (SATAII),
Clients - 2 x HD-300, 3 x MediaMVP
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:31 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
And with how easy it is to install now, I don't really see much benefit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:35 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpaddock3000 View Post
Are there actually people who don't use comskip?
Yes, there are, but you probably won't find many of them reading this thread.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2010, 12:49 PM
rtrski rtrski is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 81
I don't, but that's only because I'm an eeeediot (Ren and Stimpy reference, natch!) who used up what little geek cred he had getting Jetty and the metadata plugins working. My first few tries with Comskip resulted in chopped recordings missing bits, and I quailed at the thought of the lost WAF.

That, and I did figure out how to set my FFWD button on my remotes to 150 seconds so it just took a click.

I would LIKE to use it though, so if it gets easier in v7, I'm a fan.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2010, 03:20 PM
aflat aflat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 302
Is there a reason the disable_timescaling_on_seek property isn't always true? Is it ok to set it to true even though I have multiple tuners, not all of them a hdpvr?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-20-2010, 03:40 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
If it's not set, then recordings often (usually?) won't quite fill the timeline. They'll end a little soon. Apparently Sage got enough support requests at some point that they added the scaling.

I've turned it on with no ill effects. It doesn't affect anything (AFAIK) but how the timeline playback fits the timeline.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2010, 04:17 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
Comskip stopped working for me, presumably with the last update.

Quote:
Fri 5/21 6:12:57.752 [MiniUIServerConnection@1ee970] ERROR Could not process STV Import properly: /opt/sagetv/server/STVs/SageTV7/Comskip_Playback.stvi cause: tv.sage.a: kind=0; java.io.FileNotFoundException: /opt/sagetv/server/STVs/SageTV7/Comskip_Playback.stvi (No such file or directory)
The file is not capitalized correctly.

Quote:
-rw-r--r-- 1 sagetv users 1150033 May 19 22:08 comskip_playback.stvi
B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:20 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
mmmmm.... i wonder why i didnt have a problem upgrading then??? perhaps its a windows / linux issue (ie windows doesn't care about capitalization and linux does)... let me whip up a new manifest to fix the capitalization in the zip file...
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:29 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
Windows won't care, Linux/Mac would.

Thanks!

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:36 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
v1.5.4.2 is now available in the plugin repository.

The only change is to fix the capitalization issue on the stvi file for linux/max compatibility(thanks bcjenkins )
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer

Last edited by razrsharpe; 05-21-2010 at 06:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:38 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
v1.5.4.2 is now available in the plugin repository.

The only change is to fix the capitalization issue on the stvi file(thanks bcjenkins )
No, thank you! It is working again.

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-21-2010, 11:56 AM
Naylia's Avatar
Naylia Naylia is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 754
Does it support .edl files?
__________________
You can find me at Missing Remote. Or playing FF XIV. For XLobby users: XLobby MC
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-21-2010, 12:06 PM
excalibur5 excalibur5 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 14
I have installed the ComSkip plugin, and seem to be having issues getting it to run.

All my recorded stuff is in D:\My Videos\

Will this limited version automatically detect the new files and run comskip on them?? Do I have to do it manually by selecting the recorded program and hitting the "run comskip" button?

Sorry, just uncertain how to use this area of the program.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-21-2010, 12:09 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
Does it support .edl files?
Yes.

Quote:
Will this limited version automatically detect the new files and run comskip on them??
No, you have to have something else managing the detecting and comskip running on new files. This plugin just uses the output of that process (usually an .edl file) to display where the commercials are in the timeline, and let you skip to the beginning / end of a commercial break.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-21-2010, 12:18 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
as bialio said this port only includes the reading of edl files and what to do with them (allowing the viewer to skip commercial breaks and displaying the commercial breaks as different color in the osd).... creating the edl files is up to the user to decide how he/she wants to do that. personally i recommend sjq or dirmon2.

EDIT: It might still be able to be used to create edl files (to be honest I'm not sure if that was still supported in the v6 version either) but i honestly have no idea.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-21-2010, 12:34 PM
excalibur5 excalibur5 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alaska
Posts: 14
That makes sense. I thought I was missing something.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-21-2010, 02:41 PM
skyeclad skyeclad is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NY DMA
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
as bialio said this port only includes the reading of edl files and what to do with them (allowing the viewer to skip commercial breaks and displaying the commercial breaks as different color in the osd).... creating the edl files is up to the user to decide how he/she wants to do that. personally i recommend sjq or dirmon2.

EDIT: It might still be able to be used to create edl files (to be honest I'm not sure if that was still supported in the v6 version either) but i honestly have no idea.
Is Dirmon2 less CPU intensive than CSM? I find that when CSM initializes a search it spikes CPU usage through it's Wrapper.exe service. This can sometimes cause stutters in video.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comskip playback STVI installed but no commerical skipping Ericft SageTV Customizations 3 03-14-2010 04:21 PM
ComSkip Playback STVi with Server -> Client thegodfaza SageTV Customizations 4 08-09-2009 07:55 AM
Comskip Playback and MiniGuide plugins not working well together? rsagetv99 SageTV Customizations 1 10-20-2008 11:55 PM
Playback stops after Comskip w Purevideo Skiier__Dude SageTV Customizations 2 11-26-2007 09:29 AM
Comskip Playback Plugin for EDL -- Problem davidk21770 SageTV Customizations 11 08-25-2006 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.