SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2009, 12:49 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
Does anyone have Control4 home automation?

I am interested in trying to integrate my Sage system into my Control4 home automation system. Are there any other Sage users out there using Control4?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2009, 08:49 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,322
Not sure. Foncuer did work with a CQC user and created very robust SageTV integration with CQC. So it certainly can be done and much of the legwork may have already been done.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2009, 08:50 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
I think the difference is that CQC is much more "open" than Control4. But I think that there is still some stuff that I can do that would be interesting.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2012, 12:14 PM
jahouse jahouse is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I think the difference is that CQC is much more "open" than Control4. But I think that there is still some stuff that I can do that would be interesting.
Did you ever get any Control4 integration? I am very interested as I just purchased control4 and have been using sagetv for years.
__________________
Server: Intel Quad Core 2.8Ghz, 16GB RAM, GeForce 8400 GS, 2 HVR-1600, 2 HVR-2250, W7 Premium 64bit
Client1: Intel Quad Core 2.4 ghz, 6gb ram, W7 Premium 64bit
Client2: HD200, no longer being used
Client3: HD300, hdmi to 60" Plasma
Client4: HD300, hdmi to 60" Plasma
Client5: HD300, hdmi to 46" LCD
Placeshifter: Used on multiple laptops
Storage: UnRaid Server 14tb
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2012, 01:09 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
As you would have seen from the other thread my interest would have been in getting C4 functionality from within SageTV rather than being able to control SageTV using the C4 remote. But I never was successful at doing that, but I have less need for it now that Control4 has their software running on devices like iPads, etc so I think this is the way to go, at least for me.

I far prefer putting a SageTV extender and a Harmony remote at every TV in my house ratehr than a C4 controller which is what you need to do it the other way and I have at least 6 main TVs in my house so that would become expensive. I already have all of the Sage extenders plus backups so I am good for a few years.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2012, 04:21 PM
andypitt andypitt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
Hi,

I created a driver for the http web interface and also the tcp interface.
Both drivers allow for full transport control via any control4 input device and also selection of movies from touch screens, ipad, ipod, and remote.

tcp version is a little more complete and is the one I use at home as it also allows for direct channel selection. Needs to be tidied up a little when I get time but it is fully functional.

I have the http driver running on two Control4 installations controlling 8 extender in each house without issues.

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2012, 07:40 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by andypitt View Post
Hi,I created a driver for the http web interface and also the tcp interface.
Are you willing to share the driver? I am assuming that one needs a dealer to then install the driver (one of the things that I REALLY don't like about C4) unless one has the the full edition of Composer?

What Control 4 OS level are you running, 2.1 or so?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2012, 10:13 AM
jahouse jahouse is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by andypitt View Post
Hi,

I created a driver for the http web interface and also the tcp interface.
Both drivers allow for full transport control via any control4 input device and also selection of movies from touch screens, ipad, ipod, and remote.

tcp version is a little more complete and is the one I use at home as it also allows for direct channel selection. Needs to be tidied up a little when I get time but it is fully functional.

I have the http driver running on two Control4 installations controlling 8 extender in each house without issues.

Andy

That is great news! Would you be willing to share it with me? Or can we work something out?
__________________
Server: Intel Quad Core 2.8Ghz, 16GB RAM, GeForce 8400 GS, 2 HVR-1600, 2 HVR-2250, W7 Premium 64bit
Client1: Intel Quad Core 2.4 ghz, 6gb ram, W7 Premium 64bit
Client2: HD200, no longer being used
Client3: HD300, hdmi to 60" Plasma
Client4: HD300, hdmi to 60" Plasma
Client5: HD300, hdmi to 46" LCD
Placeshifter: Used on multiple laptops
Storage: UnRaid Server 14tb
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2012, 03:59 AM
andypitt andypitt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
I am a Control4 dealer based in the UK therefore I have no issue with the dealer install model as this is how I make a living, although I can see how frustrating not being able to add simple additions to your own system can be.

I can install this driver remotely if desired for a fixed fee or if you prefer your own dealer can install it once the driver is purchased.

PM me if interested

Andy

Driver has worked on all versions from 1.8 to 2.1

Last edited by andypitt; 12-01-2012 at 04:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2012, 09:01 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
I don't mind using a dealer for most things but I think it is silly that I have to call a dealer if I get a new DVD player and want to integrate it into my C4 system or if I want to add my christmas tree lights to an outlet switch.

My dealer is more of an old school electrician and he does a good job at the hardware side of things but his knowledge of computers and networking is not strong and I know far more than him about such things. I have no desire to physically install C4 dimmers, switches, etc myself. But I think that I should be able to install drivers and to add A/V components to my system as I desire. But I guess that I should have checked this out more before spending $10s of thousands on a C4 system.

Personally I think that C4 would be a much better product if they had an open API and allowed users to write plugins as is the case with SageTV.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-04-2012, 05:12 AM
andypitt andypitt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
I don't disagree with you at all!

Although not all people are like you and have no wish at all to add new devices etc to there systems themselves.

The ones that do are usually quite capable which is annoying for me as I really do not want to spend my time adding a DVD player or Christmas lights to an existing system, and would prefer to move onto the next big job.

I think as far as Warranty goes, where people want to add things themselves I would install a base system that was commissioned and support that code base only. Any movement from then on the client would be on there own. I would support but it would be chargeable.

I have a client at the moment that has issues with his satellite receiver turning off and he is blaming me as his satellite company has told him that my system is turning it off. Thing is I have not learned the power commands and assume the device is always on therefore Control4 does not know how to turn it off. Explain this to a rich client who just wants it fixed! This leaves me a one man band against a huge satellite provider. Imagine if this guy could add things to his system he would break it and expect me to fix it FOC.

The same guy swapped his TV out for a new one called me in to say his TV was no longer working. Expected me to reconnect everything create a driver for the TV etc for free as my system no longer worked. When I re-fitted the component video baluns were not compatible, I could not return audio in the same way to the 8 zone amp as well as other issues.

He then calls me saying he can't get 3D on his new TV via his satellite receiver. When I tell him that it would cost X amount to change the distribution system to HDMI over Cat5 he said my system was rubbish! This system was installed for the developer then sold to this guy with a component video distribution system as HDMI was too expensive at the time especially 3D

Control4 lock this down to get stable installations for the majority of customers. What I would like to see is a version of Composer for people like yourselves that would allow you to tinker

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-05-2012, 09:02 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,078
Andy - what do you feel about having an open API, they way that SageTV does. This would allow one to easily integrate C4 into all sorts of other applications, and/or to have different UIs for C4, just like there is Gemstone, Phoenix, etc for SageTV.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:59 AM
andypitt andypitt is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
People have integrated to Control4 via an independent android app using the list navigator proxy, so i suppose this is a half way house to what your looking for. I can't see Control4 ever opening up to anyone other than dealers. I think you could possibly integrate this way via SageTV but I don't know enough or anything at all about creating plugins for sage.

The entire C4 project is basically an XML file so if that could be parsed in some way you would have all available devices on your control4 system.

You can subscribe to become an app developer which costs around $500 per year. I did subscribe for a year originally as I was looking to integrate the EPG from sagetv on touch panels and also a custom interface with all sagetv functions although Google pulled the plug on that idea!

You can also create themes easily enough and make them available via the app store.

Creating additional proxies (interfaces) for Control4 would be a bonus, as I hate having unused buttons on the screen or having to select a DVD player/ipod to control something that is similar.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you want to use SageTV for Home Automation? heatvent SageTV Customizations 33 07-05-2010 01:37 AM
Home Automation jaminben SageTV United Kingdom 15 12-20-2009 03:54 PM
Home automation SageGk Hardware Support 6 09-17-2009 12:00 PM
Control/Automation Servers For The Home? PeteCress Hardware Support 29 07-08-2009 09:16 AM
Oy! Look at what Home Automation really costs... IVB The SageTV Community 6 05-01-2006 11:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.