SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

View Poll Results: Does your Dish Network service go out frequently in bad weather?
Yes 5 31.25%
No 11 68.75%
Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2010, 09:53 AM
APillowOfClouds APillowOfClouds is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 236
Dish Network performance in bad weather

Does your Dish Network service go out frequently in bad weather? I'm in the final stages of considering a switch to them from Cablevision and I have a lot of people warning me about Dish not working in bad weather.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2010, 10:05 AM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
I had DirecTV about 10 years ago and if there was ice on the dish or a hard rain the picture would break up. I adjusted the dish many times trying to improve the performance, but I was never able to get a good picture during bad weather.

My uncle currently has Dish Network and he told me last week that he loses picture during bad weather and that my cousin has the same problem with her DirecTV.

I've had people tell me (on the internet) they never lose signal in bad weather and that mine must not have been setup properly, but I've yet to meet anyone in the real world who says they don't have problems from time to time.

I live in the south east part of the US and have wondered if what part of the country you're located in makes a difference.

I didn't vote because my first hand experience is from awhile back and everything else I've heard is second hand.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2010, 10:40 AM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
When I had Dish (late 90's) it would only go out in the most severe storms. Those storms were the ones that had me going around and unplugging my electronics so the signal quality was moot anyway.

S
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2010, 10:46 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
I had dish for 4 years and never had issues unless there was ice on the dish.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2010, 10:52 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
I have DirecTV, but I doubt the technology is all that different, so the facts are probably quite similar. I would also be likely to say that I "never" lose the picture in bad weather, but what that really translates to (as a SageTV user) is that I very rarely lose the picture when a show is due to record. When it does, I just reschedule it. Now, if your area is prone to very heavy rain with thick cloud cover or serious snow storms which last for hours, a satellite provider may not be the best choice.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2010, 12:25 PM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
I have had DISH before and currently have DirecTV. Both will go out during a severe thunderstorm. Normal rain is just fine but anything that shows up red on the Doppler radar map will block the signal. Ice and Snow are rare here in North Carolina so not really sure about them.

My tuners are a HDHR with an antenna and two DirecTV H20 with HD-PVRs. It is really only a few times a year that I ever see the problem but I can force an OTA recording for most things if I think it may be a problem. Also:There is usually an online source if you actually miss part of a recording.

Also: Quality of the HD Cable choices and feeds I have seen in my area sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2010, 04:40 PM
RocKKer RocKKer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 196
I live in No CA USA and had to peak the aiming of my dish, previously I lost signal during some heavier weather after I peaked it I haven't lost signal in any weather (so far!). The multi-satellite dish requires an accurate aiming to get sufficient signal in heavy weather situations and the installers don't always take enough time to set them up accurately.

Several years ago I was losing signal only during and after a rain. The white plastic dome on the LNB had deteriorated to the point it let water into the LNB and messed with the signal. New LNB fixed the problem.
__________________
SageTV Server v9.2.2, Ubuntu Server 18.04.4 x64, Java 1.8.0_252, Xeon E5-2690, 32GB, 6X6TB WD Red - Software Raid 6, 2X HDHR3 (OTA), 3X HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-30-2010, 04:51 PM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
Satellite signals do not pass through water, only between the droplets. So the larger the dish the more rain fade resistant the reception becomes. Although in South Florida I will lose signal at times even with a 36" dish.

Do I need to connect Sage to a rain gauge next?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2010, 07:31 PM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
Severe thunderstorms only.
__________________
Were doomed. It will never work
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-30-2010, 08:05 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryt View Post
So the larger the dish the more rain fade resistant the reception becomes. Although in South Florida I will lose signal at times even with a 36" dish.
Ditto

I use 3 of these.
http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...u=615798309404

and

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...omponents&sku=

plus one of these

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...iswitches&sku=


Thats good enough for 4 tuners and I only lose 129w when it gets really bad out. I dunno that I have ever lost 110w or 119w.

Having 1 dish per orbital makes it MUCH easier to DIY peak/align them, also if an LNBF fails I can just swing one of the others over. I could support a max 12 tuners by adding more DP34 switches.

I ran 2 RG6QS from each LNBF to my network cabinet where I installed the DP34 on 1 from each leaving the other for future expansion.

In OK we have ice storms that can take out power for extended periods, Cox is good for about 6 hours before they fail. Dish is no problem running from my genset.

I'm enjoying it!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-30-2010, 10:42 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I've had Dish for a few years now, and have never had problems.. though, i live in southern california, so I have little rain, and a very high elevation on the dish. When I lived in Seattle, and had Voom, I needed a 36" dish to pick up the signal reliable in any sort of rain (keep in mind, Voom only had one satellite, and it was south of Florida... not an easy pick from the Pacific northwest...) Still, once I put up the big dish, it worked out great.

I'm not sure they make over sized elliptical dishes that are 'required' for current sat setups. You may have to go to 2 or 3 large round dishes to get all the birds you need if you want to replace the smallish elliptical.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-01-2010, 07:13 AM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
i live in southern california,
Ah explains so much
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-01-2010, 07:57 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Ah explains so much
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-01-2010, 08:34 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,372
I only loose signal during the most intense thunderstorms/rainstorms. So yes it does happen, but not very often.

The other thing that can cause a loss of signal is snow accumulating on the dish itself. But Dish no longer will mount directly to a house, so most installations will be on a pole located at ground level. This makes it easy to keep the snow off. If the dish was on the roof, it would probably be more of an issue.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-01-2010, 12:21 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fluffdaddy View Post
Severe thunderstorms only.
I see the same thing here. I am in eastern Iowa, so we do get severe thunderstorms. FWIW, I have more problems with the local Fox station that I do with the Dish receiver.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-01-2010, 12:50 PM
APillowOfClouds APillowOfClouds is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 236
Thanks for all the input. I think I'm going to give it a try and I'll be back here for advice on aiming/larger dish if I have issues.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-01-2010, 12:55 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Not sure how to answer the poll, it depends on what you consider "bad". I'd say like most here, "bad" weather isn't an issue (probably 5 years on Dish here), it's only "severe" weather that's an issue.

I always laugh a bit when I see one of cable's commercials talking about rain fade. Why? Well because while it's true there is rain fade with satellite, it's predicable (you know the bad weather is coming) and it's rarely more than a couple minutes. In contrast with cable, I've seen way more random flakyness.

Satellite, outside of severe weather is as near as makes no difference, perfect. I can't say the same thing for cable from my experience with my parents' service or that of my friends.

Oh, and if your area is like mine, satellite slaughters cable in terms of HD availability. I think there's only 2 channels I ever record anything on that aren't HD on Dish, it would probably be more like 50% if I had cable.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-01-2010, 01:56 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
I think this has been covered well enough, but what the heck I'll throw my experience in as well:

In severe weather I will lose signal. However, I capture my locals via ClearQAM and OTA so even when my dish loses signal, I still get all of the network shows and I still get the local weather to know whether to take cover! Further, cable channels generally play shows over and over again, so whenever the weather causes me to miss a show, I just tell Sage it was a wrong recording and it records it at a later date.....

Severe weather and college football coincide is the only time I miss cable and then I just make a drive to my favorite watering hole instead....
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-03-2010, 09:08 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
In my previous post I used the term bad weather and I've seen a lot of people using the term severe weather. To be more clear when I said bad weather that included very heavy rain with no lightening or high winds.

As for people with spotty cable service, I think that really depends on your provider and maybe more importantly your local office.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-04-2010, 09:10 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade View Post
In my previous post I used the term bad weather and I've seen a lot of people using the term severe weather. To be more clear when I said bad weather that included very heavy rain with no lightening or high winds.
It's pretty much got to be a thunderstorm in my experience. And beyond that it has to be largely south of you. Or to put it another way, basically what it takes to knock out the signal is a big, tall, high precipitation cell that lines up directly between you and the satellite. Basically means a rather strong thunderstorm that covers the area south of you.

The location is key, because IIRC I've been hit with a pretty strong thunderstorm in the past, but I was on the very south edge of it (not much of the storm south of me) and it didn't take out the signal.

Quote:
As for people with spotty cable service, I think that really depends on your provider and maybe more importantly your local office.
My point though is weather is really the only thing to worry about with satellite. Any other problems is going to affect all of their subscribers and as such is fixed very, very quickly. Where as with cable, if you're unlucky enough to get spotty service, there's much less incentive because you may be only one of millions of their customers with that issue. Cable can go out for hours or days if something goes wrong.

Satellite, worst case you're out for a few minutes while the storm passes.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Weather Network as a feed for Canadian Weather Fastrack SageTV Customizations 2 03-22-2009 09:47 PM
Wireless MVP performance on G network dinki SageTV Media Extender 5 08-21-2008 02:51 PM
Problems with Dish Network, USB-UIRT, Dish 311 receivers e4gulf Hardware Support 8 05-31-2006 09:53 AM
Bad performance on my laptop rajohnston SageTV Software 2 08-18-2004 02:01 AM
SageTV Client poor network performance Beelzebub SageTV Software 1 08-14-2004 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.