SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-13-2010, 05:17 PM
calypsocowboy calypsocowboy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
CQC, very powerful, more so than I know how to use.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-13-2010, 05:43 PM
wado1971's Avatar
wado1971 wado1971 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 345
CQC was almost open source a couple months ago - Looks like the owner is currently re-evaluating options. Anyone have an update? - that might make your choice easier.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:16 PM
SomeWhatLost's Avatar
SomeWhatLost SomeWhatLost is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 531
I also use CQC, pretty good sage tie in... and Iphone/pad and android I think too... and that cool vidabox remote:




CQC wont be going FOSS anytime soon... I think dean was just having a mid life crises thing going on...
and well that may suck for some, just think how bad it would suck for the other 'paid' HA apps if the Cadillac of HA went free open source?
who would pay for girder, Main Lobby, or Homeseer, etc when they could get CQC for free?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:51 PM
SomeWhatLost's Avatar
SomeWhatLost SomeWhatLost is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 531
ohh.... I just thought of something...

PLUCKYHD, I am sorry to inform you of this, but there are no good HA options... you will just have to sit at your computer writing plugins 24/7... no reason to be distracted by any silly HA thoughts...
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-13-2010, 07:13 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Yeah CQC is the winner here open api is the sealer, but I remember reading it was going open source as well guess directions have changed since then. Ps that remote is part of vidabox package and not really for sage but more their whole integration WMC deal.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-13-2010, 08:27 PM
batwater batwater is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 83
I'm running CQC, no longer going open source. Looking at going to a tiered pricing model but if you jump in now you get everything, no practical limits on clients or drivers. I came from another package, CQC had drivers (over 200) for everything but my alarm system, that came a bit later. SageTV control is what drew me to CQC.

Highly recommend! CQC offers a 30 day trial.

I have Android phone and ipod Touch clients running, using the same templates on both.

++1 on the SageTV interface to CQC!
__________________
SageTV 7- OTA only, PlayOn, 1x HD300, 2x HD200, MyMovies, taSageTV (Android phone remote for SageTV!)
CQC - w/integrated SageTV, taRIVA (Android phone client for CQC!)
Logitech Media Server - Multizone audio (6 zones)

Last edited by batwater; 10-13-2010 at 08:31 PM. Reason: added +
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-13-2010, 09:41 PM
SomeWhatLost's Avatar
SomeWhatLost SomeWhatLost is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Yeah CQC is the winner here open api is the sealer, but I remember reading it was going open source as well guess directions have changed since then.
yea.. no more OS... that pretty much isn't going to happen anytime soon...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Ps that remote is part of vidabox package and not really for sage but more their whole integration WMC deal.
yes and no...
its technically part of their vAutomation package and take a wild guess what the controlling software package is for vAutomation (at least v1, not sure about v2, the whole dean oss crises may have scared them away... although in the pictures it still looks like cqc... I just don't know... )
and CQC has a very nice sage driver... so that remote will control sage (and or extenders or sage on HTPC's connected to sage server) (and anything else that CQC has a driver for) quite nicely...
but none of this matters because none of this exists.... the only thing that exists are Sage plugins... how they going btw?

Last edited by SomeWhatLost; 10-13-2010 at 09:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-13-2010, 10:28 PM
Email68 Email68 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: N. Cal.
Posts: 109
Plucky

I have a pretty intense Homeseer system. I'm also using the Sage Plugin with some nice results.

The homeseer PC has a good number of plugins for purchase that will allow it to control devices from many different manufacturers. Most of my switches are UPB and are controlled via homeseer. I have motion detectors that turn the lights on when you enter my office or bedroom for example. It also works hand in hand with my Caddx alarm system via another plugin.

They have a hstouch system that lets you build your own screens for iphones, ipads and I think they are working on a android version. They also have windows ce and windows clients as well.

I'm several hundred miles from home right now, but I was able to check in on the house from my iPhone to see that someone was in the master bedroom with the light on at 90% and the master bedroom HD300 was turn on. The alarm was off, and the HVAC was not running. I have it turning off when the outside temps are down. It announces through the house speakers to open the windows. The system also emailed my my phone messages while I'm away.

Let me know if you have any questions about hs or automation. One thing for sure, like sagetv, home automation is an expensive hobby!

-Tim
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-14-2010, 12:26 PM
George M George M is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 115
Using CQC here.
It can do all you ask and more.
Also, I am able to control Sage through CQC, so you would have to code for that.

There is also an newer one called Elve.

I would suggest you start to visit some of these sites.

http://www.charmedquark.com/vb_forum/index.php
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=162
http://www.cocoontech.com/forums/index.php?showforum=7

George M
__________________
Thanks
GM
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-14-2010, 12:29 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by George M View Post
More credit than that I have frequent avsforum
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 10-14-2010, 01:55 PM
seaverd seaverd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 137
PluckyHD,

Check out Elve it was formerly known as J9Automation Engine or J9AE. It looks like he is developing a rather open system that includes a device driver SDK for developing new/additional drivers. There is also a touch screen builder for developing screens. I haven't seen a lot of screen shots but from the forums people are developing ipad interfaces. They also have an app on the itunes store. Check out the user forums and at the top is a notice that indicates if you develop a driver and/or touch screen interface the developer will provide a free license of the software. I really think it is worth looking at. I am at the same stage as you and am not currently using this software...but it looks like it might be worth investigating. Click the link to the online manual as there is a lot of information about the device driver SDK

Dan

http://codecoretechnologies.com/cont...ookieSupport=1
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-14-2010, 03:29 PM
George M George M is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
More credit than that I have frequent avsforum
Sorry. Didn't intend to insult. Didn't know what your starting point was.

GM
__________________
Thanks
GM
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-14-2010, 03:38 PM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by George M View Post
Sorry. Didn't intend to insult. Didn't know what your starting point was.

GM
the links were helpful to me, so thanks! :-)
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-14-2010, 07:05 PM
spike5884's Avatar
spike5884 spike5884 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 118
I use HouseBot. Relatively cheap ($70). Controls lots of different things: x10, z-wave, Insteon, etc.
Software Remotes that you design run on most Windows platforms. You can even build a web interface if so inclined. A while back I had it controlling SageTv.
__________________
Thanks,
Scott
aka Spike5884
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-14-2010, 07:50 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
I would look at some hardware too, integrating directly to an HAI Omni or Elk M1 would provide a realtime ladder logic background and you by default could control all that it could. The systems are both UL listed residential fire controls so stability/reliability is going to be unmatched.


Me personally I use SageTV as my frontend so whatever I do placeshifter or client will be installed. I'm personally just not really a touchscreen kinda guy. I prefer more TVs and the 10' interface, placeshifter though is definately workable.

I use X10 and an Applied Digital Ocelot, up until v7 HAL. Now with v7 I'm strongly looking at Homeseer.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10-14-2010, 07:54 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinR View Post
I would look at some hardware too, integrating directly to an HAI Omni or Elk M1 would provide a realtime ladder logic background and you by default could control all that it could. The systems are both UL listed residential fire controls so stability/reliability is going to be unmatched.


Me personally I use SageTV as my frontend so whatever I do placeshifter or client will be installed. I'm personally just not really a touchscreen kinda guy. I prefer more TVs and the 10' interface, placeshifter though is definately workable.

I use X10 and an Applied Digital Ocelot, up until v7 HAL. Now with v7 I'm strongly looking at Homeseer.
Yeah I want control through sage but I don't want to have to turn sage on to contol other things
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10-14-2010, 08:05 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
Honestly, if you do it right...

You need to interface beyond development.

It's nice in thought anyway but a manual override is often required. Still I have several completely autonomous systems now, it's bliss!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 10-14-2010, 09:06 PM
crusing crusing is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 160
I use Z-Wave equipment from a few different manufacturers. I have been very happy with it. There are several different API's or development kits out there. Some are open and and some for $'s for the various master controllers. It also well supported by almost all of the home automation software. It has been completely bulletproof in my home. Never misses a command. I mostly control lighting and appliances but I have about 30 controlled devices and couldn't be happier.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-14-2010, 09:40 PM
Helheim Helheim is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
I use CQC as well.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-14-2010, 09:52 PM
bulaman's Avatar
bulaman bulaman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
I use insteon and girder\netremote. I use inforpop-up to display messages from sensors; front gate open, sprinklers activated, temperature etc.

I was hoping to take some time to learn the sage plugin system and make a menu that will send commands to girder to turn on lights, ceiling fan, etc. Girder has a built in web server to send commands to it, might be easier to view a webpage with sage.

I have controlled the lights with my iphone via girder...very cool. Just want to customize it to look the way I want it to.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
home automation


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone have Control4 home automation? wayner General Discussion 12 12-07-2012 04:59 AM
Do you want to use SageTV for Home Automation? heatvent SageTV Customizations 33 07-05-2010 01:37 AM
Home Automation jaminben SageTV United Kingdom 15 12-20-2009 03:54 PM
Home automation SageGk Hardware Support 6 09-17-2009 12:00 PM
Oy! Look at what Home Automation really costs... IVB The SageTV Community 6 05-01-2006 11:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.