SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 10-14-2010, 09:59 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Easiest way to control girder from in Sage would be to call the 'Event.exe' program in the girder folder. The command line is simple the event name you want triggered.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 10-15-2010, 05:13 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
Yup I did that for a long time with EventGhost. Works fine for a bunch of stuff.

However v7 doesn't have the dynamic customizable menus so not so easy anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 10-15-2010, 08:08 PM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinR View Post
However v7 doesn't have the dynamic customizable menus so not so easy anymore.
You forget, it's Plucky

I've been using Premise for ages, since Motorola decided to kill it and released it for free. Unfortunately, they didn't release the source. But it is very extensible. So it has served me well so far. It supports a ton of stuff and I hear it's fairly easy to write drivers for, but I don't code.

Still, I have a touchscreen mounted in the wall of my kitchen that comtrols lights, whole house music and can switch to Sage to watch Good Eats while I'm cooking.

Oh, and it's free
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 10-15-2010, 10:34 PM
Brent94Z Brent94Z is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 863
My original intentions were to use HAL2000. I have most everything I need for it but just need some time off work to be able to get it all up and running. There was a Sage plugin for this but it is no longer being developed AFAIK. I originally went with HAL2000 because I have an Ademco 128BP alarm system which will talk to HAL2000. Then I have a voice module for the alarm that I can call in and do stuff with the alarm, thermostat, etc. Also, all the sensors being used by the alarm system can be used for home automation stuff as well.

This guy has a pretty cool HAL2000 setup...

http://james.lipsit.com/home.htm

The above is pretty cool BUT, I really would like something that interfaces with Sage and since I'm no dev, I have to go with what is out there and so far, that makes HomeSeer more appealing to somebody like me at the moment.

I've got a lot of X10 modules in the house. The work OK but aren't reliable enough to be able to use for "security" purposes in my opinion. They aren't very expensive either so playing around with them won't cost you that much. Heck, all the lighting in my garage (80 4' fluorescent tubes!) is remote controlled using X10 modules. It was actually cheaper than wiring switches

But, check out HAL2000 too. They don't seem to update their software very often but it'll do some pretty neat stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 10-16-2010, 05:50 AM
Wirenut Wirenut is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 183
Yeah. I use Hal2000 also. The latest ver 4.0.65 works without failure for me, and on the same server as Sage 7.

There's a SageTV front end that a guy "Bohica" from this forum developed that worked fine up til the ver 7 upgrade. Actually I have been looking at working on porting it over to ver 7. Doesn't look all that bad, Dynamic menus would make it much easier though.

I've got nothing against the other Home Automation systems, it's just that after you get involved in the same software for five years or so, it's just a heck of a lot easier to stay the course. ...and if it aint broke....

The voice recognition stuff works very well for us too. Both via phones, in house, on the road, and open air mics in the house. It's nice to just tell the house, "Play Rolling Stones" and Mick and the boys fire right into song. Pretty amazing. ....and well... a bit of work to get right, kinda like Sage.

YMMV,

Wirenut
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 11-27-2010, 08:18 PM
shill shill is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 28
I'm a bit late to the party, but I've been using HomeSeer for almost 12 years now, I think. The amount of customization, types of devices and technologies you can combine and control, the ability to develop custom scripts and/or plugins, and a rich user community make it much more than the brief blurb it got at the beginning of the thread.

1. Apple ipad/iphone application to control it (want to mount a couple of ipads in the house for touchscreen control) - Check
2. Be able to control lighting,fans,A/c/heat, Alarm system, maybe some security cameras. - Check
3. Open API so I can integrate it into sagetv addin - Check (I've written 4 or 5 plug-ins myself)
4. Control via software that can be remoted into from another location. - Check (all web-based, several smartphone apps available, too)
5. Not to big on plugin in adapter type dongles wanting something more built in or integrated with switches and stuff. - Check
6. want 2 way communication that tells me if something is on or off regardless of where it was turned on/off from. - Check (I suggest Z-Wave as your best bet for a current, reliable 2-way protocol)


I control my alarm system, HVAC, lights, fans, and Christmas lights, track motion sensors, provide text-to-speech announcements of incoming calls (using Asterisk as my PBX), email, breaking news, and weather warnings, and more. And I'm only using a small percentage of the technology that it supports.

I'm not an employee or anything, but I'm definitely an advocate and HUGE fan and would encourage you to look at it more in-depth and/or let me know if you want to chat more about it.
__________________
Windows 8
SageTV 9.1.6.747
Intel Core i5 @ 3GHz, 8GB RAM
4x STP-HD200
1x Sony AndroidTV
HDHomeRun CONNECT: 2x OTA DTV Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12-07-2010, 02:00 PM
jhh jhh is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: BE
Posts: 196
Homeseer here too - if you try to buy the standard version it will offer a discount at checkout for the version that has iPad client included.

I built something to browse Sagetv recordings in their HSTOUCH and start them on xbmc. Nothing more than a listbox which shows detailed description on the current selection and a play icon.

But in the end it is just a toy - which came at the right time as SageTV just works...

Did eventghost first. Also I can't get Homeseer to run in service mode if it has to do IR signals but that is the only downside I have so far.

Jan

Last edited by jhh; 12-07-2010 at 02:09 PM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 12-07-2010, 10:07 PM
kcjack's Avatar
kcjack kcjack is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olathe Kansas, USA
Posts: 56
I just saw this thread and hope my comments are OK. I have never fully understood the name Home Automation. what does that consist of. I think it depends on who you talk to.

I use Logitech 890 remotes with Z-wave light switches and a z-wave receiver in my fireplace for my Home Theater Room. I also use my electric company to control my thermostat over the Web. No cost for thermostat. Now it can be controlled from any iphone, android or pc anywhere. Only thing I would like to add is motorized curtains for Home Theater. (Z-Wave). I think Z-wave is cheap and works, if that is what home automation is.

What is Home automation?
__________________
KCJACK
WHS 2011 SageTV Server
i3 8 gig ram 12TB running SageTV client software
2 HDHomeRun Dual tuners 2 2250 Hauppauge internal tuners1 500 gig operating drive backup 2 HD 300s
1 dual core mini W7 SageTV Client/WHS 2011 media Server i3 8 gig ram 20TB StableBit DrivePool
MyMovies, Serviio Addins. Compuer bkups for house
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 12-08-2010, 08:46 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcjack View Post
I just saw this thread and hope my comments are OK. I have never fully understood the name Home Automation. what does that consist of. I think it depends on who you talk to.

I use Logitech 890 remotes with Z-wave light switches and a z-wave receiver in my fireplace for my Home Theater Room. I also use my electric company to control my thermostat over the Web. No cost for thermostat. Now it can be controlled from any iphone, android or pc anywhere. Only thing I would like to add is motorized curtains for Home Theater. (Z-Wave). I think Z-wave is cheap and works, if that is what home automation is.

What is Home automation?
You are pretty much using HA on a small scale. Full HA like Homeseer is awesome (been looking at that myself) because you can do lots of awesome things. One example would be to install light sensors around your house so when the sun is on a particular side of the house the blinds close until the sun is not blaring through the windows, then as the sun fades to the other side of the house they will open up. The same will also prevent lights from being turned on in the house if there is enough natural light. Pretty cool when you think about it.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 12-09-2010, 09:00 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Full scale HA goes so far as having all of your lights, blinds, security and A/V controlled by the system. You can then set a "wake-up" scheme that gently starts ramping up the lights to wake you up, then opens your blinds and turns on your A/V to get your lazy butt out of bed.

My HA system is called Control4 and I use it to control lighting, HVAC, bedroom blinds and a gas fireplace. The system has a controller that is essentially a dumbed down PC running Linux. All devices attach to the control via a form of wireless mesh networking called Zigbee (or Zigbee Pro). In place of traditional light switches you place various 6 button switches around your house and you can map these switches to any device on the system - lights, fireplace, etc and they don't ahve to be in the same room. For example, you could have an "All Off" switch beside your bed that shuts off all lights in your house. The system can also be controlled by Control4's proprietary touch panels, via a remote control and via an iPhone/iPad.

Many people also use the system for A/V including whole home audio, but I think it makes more sense to use Sage extenders to do this and I have Harmony remotes on all of my TVs that can control multiple devices.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server

Last edited by wayner; 12-09-2010 at 09:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 04-17-2011, 02:40 PM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 82
Wayne, just curious to know if your Control4 system interfaces with Sage??
__________________
Computer Hardware: Intel Core 2 Duo @ 3Ghz, 4GB RAM, 2X 1 TB HDs, Hauppage HD PVR via USB, Intel G45/43 onboard graphics, Hauppauge 45 Button Remote

Cable Hardware: Motorola DCT6200 HD cable box controlled by Firewire for channel tuning

Software: SageTV 7.1.9 on Windows 7

2X HD300 Media Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 04-17-2011, 04:55 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xiphoid View Post
Wayne, just curious to know if your Control4 system interfaces with Sage??
No - the closest I came was connecting the video out from my C4 controller into a SageTV tuner. But that requires you to use the C4 remote and there is about a two second delay between each remote button push and seeing the reaction on the screen so it isn'treally usable.

I have java code that can turn on and off my lights,etc. So I would just need to integrate that with a UI that allows you to do this sor of stuff. But I don't have the time to do this and it might even break if I upgrade my C4 system to version 2, which I will have to do one of these days anyone.

It is probably easier to just buy an iDevice and the C4 license for that.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04-17-2011, 06:40 PM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 82
Any recommendations for a HA system providing whole home audio on top of Sage?
__________________
Computer Hardware: Intel Core 2 Duo @ 3Ghz, 4GB RAM, 2X 1 TB HDs, Hauppage HD PVR via USB, Intel G45/43 onboard graphics, Hauppauge 45 Button Remote

Cable Hardware: Motorola DCT6200 HD cable box controlled by Firewire for channel tuning

Software: SageTV 7.1.9 on Windows 7

2X HD300 Media Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04-17-2011, 07:21 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
It is not exactly what you are looking for but everyone that has a Sonos raves about it.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 04-17-2011, 08:30 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
I think the Homeseer plugin might be the only one with bidirectional control... CQC and MainLobby have drivers to control SageTV, but it doesn't work the other way around.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 04-17-2011, 09:04 PM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
It is not exactly what you are looking for but everyone that has a Sonos raves about it.
Yes, I've seen those reviews too. It does look like a good product, but it's not going to be an all in one system.
__________________
Computer Hardware: Intel Core 2 Duo @ 3Ghz, 4GB RAM, 2X 1 TB HDs, Hauppage HD PVR via USB, Intel G45/43 onboard graphics, Hauppauge 45 Button Remote

Cable Hardware: Motorola DCT6200 HD cable box controlled by Firewire for channel tuning

Software: SageTV 7.1.9 on Windows 7

2X HD300 Media Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 04-17-2011, 09:31 PM
heatvent's Avatar
heatvent heatvent is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 258
HomeSeer user as well. They have a control app for ipad (and a designer that you can basically create anything you want). The InControl plugn is solid although if you are using an iPad, you really just need to control Sage. Going the other way becomes a bit irrelevant since you will likely control HA from the iPad vs the TV.

HAL2000 is a nice package but doesn't have 1/100th the flexibility of HS IMO. I started with HAL and moved on to HS which is very developer friendly and therefore has tons of plugins. This is way better than waiting for the HAL guys to get around to programming something into HAL.

Re: integration. Look at Insteon or Zwave, they both have in the wall outlets and switches if you don't like the look of the modules. They also have keypads, door locks, remotes, touchscreens, etc. that integrate as well.
__________________
SageTV 7.0.0.23, P5Q-EM Motherboard, 2.5Ghz Quad Core, Windows 7 x64, HVR-2250, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD, 2 HD-200 Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 04-18-2011, 08:33 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xiphoid View Post
Yes, I've seen those reviews too. It does look like a good product, but it's not going to be an all in one system.
What all are you wanting to control?
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:51 PM
Whitey's Avatar
Whitey Whitey is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Notts, England
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
It is probably easier to just buy an iDevice and the C4 license for that.
Or get the myhome app for pc

Whitey
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 04-18-2011, 07:58 PM
Xiphoid Xiphoid is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
What all are you wanting to control?
Well, lots of things. Here's a bunch of things I want to be able to do:

1) On my deck (which is well away from any convenient living area), I want to be able to control music with some type of remote system. (I will need to figure out the speaker arrangement on the deck, as there are none right now...)

2) On the same deck, I'd like to be able to get a feed of who's at the front door and let them in by remotely unlocking the door.

3) I'd like to be able to control my HVAC system from any TV in the house, or from remote control pads. I have a duel-fuel forced air system that is both a heat pump and also natural gas. Right now it switches over to gas when it gets too cold out, I'd like to be able to control the temperature that it switches over at if possible. At a minimum, I'd like to be able to just modify the temperature.

4) I'd like to be able to access from any TV or a remote control pad the 4 CCTVs around my house.

5) I'd like to be able to control my sprinkler system through the system (although I think I'll need to replace my current sprinkler controller if I do this).

6) I'd like to control and integrate one-touch lighting systems to pre-set lighting levels.

7) Eventually, I'd like to be able to control blinds (although I'll need to install motorized blinds for this).

8) I want to install speakers in my kitchen and a few other rooms that would also integrate in the whole-home audio system described in #1 above. Having the same music and/or different music streams would be a big benefit.

9) Be able to log in remotely and control the house from any web device.

10) Be able to control any of it with my iPad.

11) Integrate with my SageTV system if possible...I don't want to throw away the set-up I have and love. Just want to add to it.


Any suggestions? I've thought about Sonos, but that only gives me audio. Control4, but not sure how much it'll cost. I'm willing to do it DIY (within reason), Control4 seems like it's dealer only. Homeseer seems too complicated for my simple DIY brain. There may be other options...so I'm open to suggestions.
__________________
Computer Hardware: Intel Core 2 Duo @ 3Ghz, 4GB RAM, 2X 1 TB HDs, Hauppage HD PVR via USB, Intel G45/43 onboard graphics, Hauppauge 45 Button Remote

Cable Hardware: Motorola DCT6200 HD cable box controlled by Firewire for channel tuning

Software: SageTV 7.1.9 on Windows 7

2X HD300 Media Extenders
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
home automation


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone have Control4 home automation? wayner General Discussion 12 12-07-2012 04:59 AM
Do you want to use SageTV for Home Automation? heatvent SageTV Customizations 33 07-05-2010 01:37 AM
Home Automation jaminben SageTV United Kingdom 15 12-20-2009 03:54 PM
Home automation SageGk Hardware Support 6 09-17-2009 12:00 PM
Oy! Look at what Home Automation really costs... IVB The SageTV Community 6 05-01-2006 11:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.