SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2011, 10:11 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
High end universal remotes

Do you have one? If so which is it and would you recommend it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2011, 04:30 AM
ehanekla ehanekla is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Niedersachsen, Germany
Posts: 91
Hi,
I like the logitech harmony remotes. The concept of "activities" makes using your media devices a real joy. The model you choose depends on the money you want to spend. I think all but the cheapest model support "activities".

Best regards,
Eyk
__________________

Clients: HD200, MediaMVP
Capture Cards: Technotrend Budget S-1500 (DVB-S)

STVi for XMLTV icons
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2011, 06:43 AM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Have you used the 1100?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2011, 06:55 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
I've have a 1000 (basically the same as the 1100) I've actually gone to the Harmony 900 with the latest physical layout. That actually works the best. The touchscreen is cool at first but everyone in the house likes the physical buttons better. The 900 has IR and RF control built in (which adds to the cost)which I set up for the living room. Works the best out of my 1000, 880, 700 and 520. I end up getting these as either refurbs or when they are on sale. The 700 is my new low end standard. The Harmony 300 does not support activities. I've also had some issues on the 1000 with the physical buttons sticking sometime. Very aggravating. I caught the 900 on sale for under $200 not too long ago. My 1000 refurb ran $125. The 700 was recently purchased refurbed for $64.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.

Last edited by gplasky; 06-09-2011 at 12:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2011, 07:09 AM
bits bits is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 398
I have been quite pleased with the Harmony 650 because I like the 'Activities' concept, programming is a snap because of the huge code base of audio/video equipment(which includes SageTV), the layout of the remote ect....

The 650 is limited to only (5) audio/video components but the most I have is (4). I have three of them and they were a snap to setup so that no matter where my wife is viewing all she has to do is pick up the remote and do exactly what she did at the last viewing area. I paid as little as $60 and as much as $70 for mine.
__________________
bits (Windows Media Center Convert)

PC: W7 32bit, Intel Q9550 2.83 Quad, 4GB DRAM
Cap Devices: Colosuss+UIRT+Cable STB; HDHR QAM+OTA, USB MediaSonic (6TB)
Network Players: HD200, (2) HD300s
Viewing: Samsung 55" 8000, Sony 50" and HP 37"
The more complicated it is the more likely it will break!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2011, 10:01 AM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
I have 3 Harmony 880's. I also love the Activity concept and the 880 has a particularly good button layout and shape that fits in my hand well. I want one more but unfortunately the 880 is discontinued.

S
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2011, 02:19 PM
Bagal Bagal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 183
I'm currently using a Harmony One and before that a 525, I'd quite happily recommend both of them, although I prefer the feel of the buttons on the One.
As for cost, I owned the 525 for a couple of years before I started to have some issues with it, when it came to replacing it, cost wasn't even a factor, I just knew I had to have another one...
__________________
Server: Win7 64bit; i5 2500; 32GB ram; Blackgold BGT3595; 18TB + 120GB SSD; Edgestore DAS401T; DVBLink; Oscam; Omnikey 3121
Lounge Client: HD300; Yamaha RX-V765 connected to 55" Furrion 1080p LCD; Logitech Harmony One remote
Kitchen: HD300 32" LCD, Bed 1: HD300 - 40" LCD, Bed 2: HD300 - 24" LCD, Bed 3: HD300 - 22" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2011, 04:08 PM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
I have 2x Harmony 510 and 2x 520 remotes. The are perfect. I think I bought all of them for $50 or less refurbished.

Before that I had 2x Harmony 688. They all worked great. (Still have them just retired in favor of the others)

I think it is more about the configuration software than anything. Combine them with a MCE IR receiver or USB-UIRT and LM Remote or Event ghost and you can control anything.
__________________

Retired SageTV in favor of Plex\Emby and YouTubeTV.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2011, 10:39 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Harmony One
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2011, 05:58 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Well I personally wouldn't call Harmony's "high end" I've always thought they felt cheap. URC is more high end (really high end is more like RTI). I'd highly recommend URC though, the remotes are very solid, far more solid than Harmony remotes, and IMO they're much easier to program. Though you do have to be able to plan out your own macros and variables.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:57 AM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 617
I'm with stanger on this one. I've been using my URC MX-700 for 10 years now. Built like a tank and just always works. And it just FEELS serious

While I like the concept of activities on the Harmony, they are very inflexible. Or at least, they were the last time I tried them. With the URC, I can build macros the way I want. So I end up with the same idea as activities, but exactly the way I want.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-13-2011, 07:04 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
I have the Harmony 1100 and my wife and I love it! I would highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a great all in one remote.

That being said i have owned and used many Logitech remotes, and have loved every single one i have used.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-13-2011, 11:51 AM
spacecadet spacecadet is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lexington, MA
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Well I personally wouldn't call Harmony's "high end" I've always thought they felt cheap.
Agreed. Let me begin saying that I own Harmony remotes, use them every day and *LOVE* them. BUT, I agree they feel a bit on the cheap side (which is fine, because like most others in this thread I've only paid $40-60 each for them).

I had two Harmony 520s where buttons began failing after only one year. One was still in warranty and fortunately Logitech replaced it with almost no questions asked... the replacement also failed after one year.

I've replaced my broken 520s with Harmony 510s (which is basically the same remote) and luckily those buttons have all held up for the last 18+ months (knock on wood).

The Harmony One seems a little more solid, but I'm not interested in spending $100+ on a remote.

All-in-all I love the look and feel of the remote and they have great customer service. But I agree they seem cheaply made, so don't be surprised if/when yours fail.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-13-2011, 02:39 PM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 956
I have had Harmonys and will never buy one again. They are too cheaply made, imho.

Of course, that is because, in my house, the remote gets drop/bumped off the couch, onto the tile (about 3 feet) at least once a day.

For me, cheapest that does the job is best. The hard plastic on the harmonies just cracked to easily, i need the rubberized ones.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:26 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Sounds like u need this:

http://www.geekalerts.com/ultimate-mega-remote-control/

:-D
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-13-2011, 10:05 PM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 487
I have owned several URCs, including a 700 and an 850. Extremely well designed (except for the center button on the 700 which was fixed on the 850). They cater to custom installers and are stingy with their software updates, included IR codes. But the software they come with accepts so many different formats that it is still worth it in my book.

Wayne
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-13-2011, 10:10 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Harmony 880s, 890, 659.

An iPod Touch also works quite well as a remote using the mobile UI, or TiSageTV. As does an iPhone or iPad. And they use your wifi network so not LoS issues.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-14-2011, 05:46 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomaszoo View Post
I have owned several URCs, including a 700 and an 850. Extremely well designed (except for the center button on the 700 which was fixed on the 850). They cater to custom installers and are stingy with their software updates, included IR codes. But the software they come with accepts so many different formats that it is still worth it in my book.

Wayne
If you've got a good relationship with your dealer though, they'll probably just give you the software. My dealer did, and I can update it from the web with it's built in update tool quite easily.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-14-2011, 01:34 PM
thomaszoo thomaszoo is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
If you've got a good relationship with your dealer though, they'll probably just give you the software. My dealer did, and I can update it from the web with it's built in update tool quite easily.
I suppose that is part of the price I paid for getting them at a low price off the Internet from a dealer that isn't authorized (although I never actually checked back with the dealer to see if they had an update for me). But I am still very happy with the remotes themselves.

Wayne
__________________
i5-6400, MSI B150M Micro ATX MB, 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 - WD Green 2TB SATA Drives, Lite-On SATA 4X Blu-ray Reader, Corsair 400W 80+ Power Supply, Silverstone Sugo SG02-BF MicroATX Case, Windows 10 (64), HDHR Dual X2, Quatro and Prime, 5 x HD300 + 2 x HD100
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-16-2011, 09:47 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
URC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Universal Remotes MRF-350 and HD-300 Peter_h Hardware Support 1 09-16-2010 03:49 AM
Best universal remote? ericscottf Hardware Support 49 07-06-2010 09:46 AM
Universal remotes SageGk Hardware Support 53 04-13-2009 03:41 PM
HD 200 and universal remote swats SageTV Media Extender 3 03-07-2009 05:48 PM
Universal Remote with SR dkardatzke SageTV Recorder Software 1 03-21-2003 03:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.